List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

Knightmare has us taking medium forward "Ben Sokol" with our first pick.
Surely not, given that we just picked up Butler, and have Kent, Mayo, Lonie, Long, and Parker. I know we shouldn't draft for needs, but this deep in the draft it seems crazy to get someone else we have a plethora of.

Interestingly he has Byrnes still available , who i wouldn't mind giving a try.

No contest 😎

sSiAlsK.jpg

Would be happy if selections like Aussie Rules Draft Central has in their Phantom Draft goes.
At our pick the likes of different BF followers favourites are still there, Partington, Chirgwin, Byrne & Perez didn’t even get a mention. Oh & they have us taking Cooper Sharman.

Would be happy if selections like Aussie Rules Draft Central has in their Phantom Draft goes.
At our pick the likes of different BF followers favourites are still there, Partington, Chirgwin, Byrne & Perez didn’t even get a mention. Oh & they have us taking Cooper Sharman.

I don't know anything about Sharman but at a glance he seems similar to Mayo. Not sure why we'd pick yet another tall forward.

I hope we get a mid...a good skilled mid. I don't really care if they're mature age state leaguer types. I don't care if they're 27. At pick 51, 76, and 81...I don't want a sulking child that is able to run far but can't kick, handball, or find the ball. I want someone thankful for the opportunity and will bust a nut to try and make it work.

I’m a big fan of Darcy Cassar, hope he makes it to our pick.
Around our range, the mids I’d like are: (in no particular order)
Darcy Chirgwin
Darcy Cassar
Ryan Byrnes
Jack Mahoney

I hope we get a mid...a good skilled mid. I don't really care if they're mature age state leaguer types. I don't care if they're 27. At pick 51, 76, and 81...I don't want a sulking child that is able to run far but can't kick, handball, or find the ball. I want someone thankful for the opportunity and will bust a nut to try and make it work.

Partington would be good. Could be our next Clint Jones and still only 22.

Forget Chirgwin. He was just on 3SENAW FM announcing he was pulling out of the Draft and retiring from footy due to terminal shin splints :cry:
Chirgwin has pulled out of the draft

Ryan Byrnes a bloody good footballer a sandy boy and captain of a great side. Right under our noses I would be suprised if he’s there and we don’t select him. Prefer him over chirgwin something doesn’t seem right with his hands and disposal by hand or foot. Byrnes the more natural footballer for me.

I believe he is actually quitting football due to shinsplints but my info is only from reading BigFooty
DRAFT HOPEFUL CHIRGWIN SHOWS HIS RESILIENCE
IF resilience is an attribute AFL recruiters are looking for in a prospective draftee, there is a fair chance Darcy Chirgwin’s name will be mentioned regularly in the coming days.

From the Geelong Advertiser 2 days ago - so possibly not pulled out at all

and

AFL DREAM ALMOST A REALITY FOR DARCY

1 day ago

I believe he is actually quitting football due to shinsplints but my info is only from reading BigFooty
Rumour has it that jockey Blake Shinn is suffering similar problems.

Apparently Shinn has now applied a splint to his shin and the hope is that Shinn’s shin splints will respond well to Shinn’s shin splint.

One that hasn't been mentioned in here but would be a handy pick up at 51 is Daniel Mott. Mott is a balanced midfielder with good kicking skills that can perform well on the inside and outside. He is a Dan Hannebery type player that was highly rated coming into this year but had a slow start to the year and thus his draft range has slid. He averaged 26 disposals in the NAB league and 18 disposals in the championships. His strengths according to draft central is his kicking, footy iq, midfield balance, consistency and clean hands. His weaknesses are his lack of speed and endurance

Daniel mott from Calder I also suspect we will look at a good midfield accumulater with clean disposal and a nose for goal has had some big games for Calder this year

One that hasn't been mentioned in here but would be a handy pick up at 51 is Daniel Mott. Mott is a balanced midfielder with good kicking skills that can perform well on the inside and outside. He is a Dan Hannebery type player that was highly rated coming into this year but had a slow start to the year and thus his draft range has slid. He averaged 26 disposals in the NAB league and 18 disposals in the championships. His strengths according to draft central is his kicking, footy iq, midfield balance, consistency and clean hands. His weaknesses are his lack of speed and endurance
Haha just saw this

Just slightly over the top mate , you think only two of them are any good do you

Just don't think this year's draft pool is anything special - there is always one or two that come out the pack but in all I reckon this pool will mostly be a bust compared to some other recent years

Our recruiting team may have thought the same given or manic trading in players and trading out picks

Of course we won't know for a few seasons

Chirgwin has pulled out of the draft

If true hopefully it’s Satans doing .... “your overcoming an injury son, come down to the Saints gym & not only will we get you right, but we’ll take you in next seasons mid season rookie draft.” 😈

Can't say I've been less enthused about draft day for some time.

Hopefully gags pulls a rabbit out of his hat somehow to make things interesting either tonight or tomorrow

Still, I am very happy with our trade period so a big thumbs up overall.

3SENAW FM are very reliable with their info. Yet to mak a mistake.

Looks like Chirgwin can be scratched off the list
nearly lost a mouthful of coffee with that post :D