List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

We land Tommy no doubt. So effectively it’s Newes for Tommy.

Not so sure why you are so confident in that. He's not exactly a huge need and plenty of rumours around that the Dogs are very keen on him and have plenty of cap space.

Say what?

Surely a massive upgrade on Newnes if it goes down that way...

In: Tommi
Out: Newnes

Every day and twice on Sundays.

Anyone still want to argue that Acres, Sincs, Ross and a few others shouldn't be on the table?
But you’d get nothing for them. Ross would but you’d wait 5 years to develop one. Seeing as every player we have traded out has netted a worse player, we would probably be bottom 4 for the next 10 years.

Say what?

Surely a massive upgrade on Newnes if it goes down that way...

In: Tommi
Out: Newnes

Every day and twice on Sundays.
I didn't say he wasn't any good, I was asking why he was so confident we'd get the bloke when there i nothing suggesting he's coming.

I'd hardly say a massive upgrade on Newnes. He's a role player at the Giants, no superstar. Not sure we need another back flanker or third tall forward that much and if we are recruiting him to play on the wing i dont think he's even an upgrade on Newnes. Only thing that would make us entertain it is he's a FA I reckon.

I didn't say he wasn't any good, I was asking why he was so confident we'd get the bloke when there i nothing suggesting he's coming.

I'd hardly say a massive upgrade on Newnes. He's a role player at the Giants, no superstar. Not sure we need another back flanker or third tall forward that much and if we are recruiting him to play on the wing i dont think he's even an upgrade on Newnes. Only thing that would make us entertain it is he's a FA I reckon.
Club has been openly chasing him.

Other clubs chasing him as well so he can't be that bad.

Club has been openly chasing him.

Other clubs chasing him as well so he can't be that bad.
Never said he was bad mate, you are putting words in my mouth now. I think hes a dwcejt player that can play a role, no superstar though. I did say we don't have a huge need for him and that there is another cashed up club keen on him who would have more of a need.

As for actively chasing him, I think our needs have changed a bit since then so I'm not sure we'd be chasing him as hard as we were in 2017. I think the plan then would have been to play him back but since then we've added Marsh and thrown Battle back which has worked really well.

Never said he was bad mate, you are putting words in my mouth now. I think hes a dwcejt player that can play a role, no superstar though. I did say we don't have a huge need for him and that there is another cashed up club keen on him who would have more of a need.

As for actively chasing him, I think our needs have changed a bit since then so I'm not sure we'd be chasing him as hard as we were in 2017. I think the plan then would have been to play him back but since then we've added Marsh and thrown Battle back which has worked really well.

Sorry dude, didn't it mean it like that.

Fair points.

Sorry dude, didn't it mean it like that.

Fair points.
All I'm saying is that it's far from a sure thing he's coming to the Saints, which was the first post I replied too.

Maybe we still do have interest in him, but that's very different to him coming. I'm sure there are plenty of clubs interested.

I hope we do get a FA, even if they aren't a perfect fit. We need every bit of improvement we can get.

In any trade that has an actual likelihood of happening, how does trading Ross improve us as a side? It doesn't.

With all the uncertainty about Steven's future, we can't afford to trade our other proven, quality midfielder for a speculative draft pick that will take years develop and might never become as good at Ross. Trading Ross sets us back 5 years, which is something the club cant afford from an off field financial point and from a player retention point.

How do you think Billings, Steele, Gresham, Battle Membrey etc. would feel if we traded away the guy the players and club looks as at our next captain for an known quantity? Thats not going to encourage them that we are a club serious about playing finals and being successful.

In the mythical scenario where GWS comes to us and offers us Whitfield in a straight swap for Seb, of course we make that deal. But that's never going to happen.

Yeah it's mind boggling that people think losing the few good mids will make us better anytime soon. Unless we are going full rebuild under a new coach that is.

Ross would probably get a first round pick but then the wait and the way we draft we'd probably get another HBF and hope. Acres maybe a second round pick but his value is lower than when he was playing well. Sincs would maybe be a delisted free agent pick up at best.

We should pay up and get a proven recruiter if we are going to get clever again and start tying to fast track by going backwards.

that's not untrue, but if a bloke at 18 already has very good kicking skills, they don't disappear, great decision-making doest get un-coached. its damn hard to make an average kick at 18. an elite kick at 21, decision making even harder.

the simple fact is we haven't drafted the class we should have, Rising stars nominations and the lack of them from this group is pretty dismal. not too many of our draftees have come in and had an instant impact.

We thought we were going to get midfield guns with FA but it didn't work. Drafted a spine that failed as well. Brisbane traded for Neale and Cameron so shit clubs can do it but we seem to shoot ourselves in the foot when ever good players are available by playing shit footy.

What part of not trading him for a pick did you miss?

Who is going to give up a gun player for Ross? It doesn't even pass the most basic logic. We think he's shit so give us your gun mid for him?We need star players, offering Coniglio huge money is a better option.

I'd say he a GOP like Newnes, no massive upgrade at all. The only thing he does is offer the hope that he will be better out of GWS stratosphere of stars.

We've got so much dead wood to cut.

While no doubt supporters and probably Gubby and Lethers want to "take action" and be "bold" on the trading front, we are just strategically in a really poor bargaining position to do so.

The only players that might have suitors because they have some potential will be available for not much and will be a bigger loss to us as we need everyone we can get at the moment. Sure, Ross disappoints a lot of us but, after being a slow burner he is at least producing ok numbers now and we're not in a position to lose ANYONE who is performing even to an ok level.

Same as Acres or Newnes.

We just need to suck it up, cut the (plentiful) dead wood from our list (I mean players who we KNOW won't make it to even a C+ level) and go back to the draft, prioritising mids. We also need to keep trying to land a "big fish" mid as well but this is proving almost impossible for us unfortunately.

There is no other way. Because of where we are at with our performance and list over a number of years, we simply can't get too clever now or we'll just dig ourselves into a bigger hole.

Newnes would be worth more to the Dogs than he is to the Saints, no doubt about that. We need decent ball users playing through our midfield. Having him opposite Hunter on the wing would basically have them covering each other's deficiencies. Would rather the Dogs went straight for Tomlinson, but if that didn't pan out, Newnes is a very good backup for us (plus he's even less required for you guys if Tomlinson went to the Saints)

The way Ross and Newnes are performing their currency will almost be at Mav Weller level by the end of the season!
But they are clearly the two i would be looking at shipping out provided we get decent compensation for them!
Coniglio and Whitfield are the 2 obv standouts for us to chase but i doubt we have enough currency or appeal for that matter to entice them!

Who is going to give up a gun player for Ross? It doesn't even pass the most basic logic. We think he's **** so give us your gun mid for him?We need star players, offering Coniglio huge money is a better option.
It's hard to keep up on here sometimes, but some of us (like me) were talking about whether to trade Ross + our first round pick (likely top 8) + ? for one of those guys. It would probably depend on them nominating us to make it happen.
From our point of view we'd be giving up a mid and a chance to get another mid for one mid (when we need more mids), so that may hurt us a bit. But you have to have class to get class in. Maybe in future others would like the idea of playing alongside Whitfield/Cogs + Billings more so than playing alongside Ross.

We've got so much dead wood to cut.

While no doubt supporters and probably Gubby and Lethers want to "take action" and be "bold" on the trading front, we are just strategically in a really poor bargaining position to do so.

The only players that might have suitors because they have some potential will be available for not much and will be a bigger loss to us as we need everyone we can get at the moment. Sure, Ross disappoints a lot of us but, after being a slow burner he is at least producing ok numbers now and we're not in a position to lose ANYONE who is performing even to an ok level.

Same as Acres or Newnes.

We just need to suck it up, cut the (plentiful) dead wood from our list (I mean players who we KNOW won't make it to even a C+ level) and go back to the draft, prioritising mids. We also need to keep trying to land a "big fish" mid as well but this is proving almost impossible for us unfortunately.

There is no other way. Because of where we are at with our performance and list over a number of years, we simply can't get too clever now or we'll just dig ourselves into a bigger hole.
Here what your saying man and agree we can't afford to get too cute!
But irrespective of the numbers that guys like Ross and Newnes produce the bigger question should be as to what quality do they produce?
If they still have decent value by years end and that's a big if, they should be traded, as in my view as far as i can see, they offer us very little!
Preferrably for other players that are an upgrade, not draft picks!

Here what your saying man and agree we can't afford to get too cute!
But irrespective of the numbers that guys like Ross and Newnes produce the bigger question should be as to what quality do they produce?
If they still have decent value by years end and that's a big if, they should be traded, as in my view as far as i can see, they offer us very little!
Preferrably for other players that are an upgrade, not draft picks!
For sure, agree with you if we can get anything decent for them.

But the chances of getting anyone or anything decent for the players put up are slim and none in my opinion. At best we would break even.

Unfortunately, it's just where we are at being a poor club that has under-performed for a long time.

The way out of this mess is better drafting, better coaching to develop what we have and what we draft in, an FA when we can land them, and time. I think we have the drafting sorted now, the coaching has come along this off-season and with Gubby and co working behind the scenes, I am confident we are on the way to landing FAs so it's not all doom and gloom at all.

I’m just going to mention Will Brodie again. Averaging 32 touches in the NEAFL, big bodied natural midfielder, really want.
Yeah wouldn't mind him on the cheap, which he probably would be as he can't get a look in at the Suns. Was really highly rated in the draft and is a seriously good extractor, knock on him is that he's slow though, so not sure if we'd be able to play him, Steele and Dunstan at the same time.

It's hard to keep up on here sometimes, but some of us (like me) were talking about whether to trade Ross + our first round pick (likely top 8) + ? for one of those guys. It would probably depend on them nominating us to make it happen.
From our point of view we'd be giving up a mid and a chance to get another mid for one mid (when we need more mids), so that may hurt us a bit. But you have to have class to get class in. Maybe in future others would like the idea of playing alongside Whitfield/Cogs + Billings more so than playing alongside Ross.

.....We don’t have to trade for Coniglio if we put enough zeros on the contract.
Or Tomlinson.
So let’s trade for Whitfield for whatever it takes.
And then we say thanks for your service Jack. You can finish your career at Geelong. We need your $800k free’d up.

Midfield: Coniglio Steele Hannebery Gresham Clark Bytel Whitfield. Yum

Fwds: King Membrey Bruce Billings Parker Lonie

2021 premiers

Who is going to give up a gun player for Ross? It doesn't even pass the most basic logic. We think he's **** so give us your gun mid for him?We need star players, offering Coniglio huge money is a better option.

Exactly.
Why would anyone want to trade a good midfielder for a good midfielder.

Now if a team had too many small forwards, or defenders, etc, maybe a win win trade could happen.
Otherwise its draft picks for a ready made player.

.....We don’t have to trade for Coniglio if we put enough zeros on the contract.
Or Tomlinson.
So let’s trade for Whitfield for whatever it takes.
And then we say thanks for your service Jack. You can finish your career at Geelong. We need your $800k free’d up.

Midfield: Coniglio Steele Hannebery Gresham Clark Bytel Whitfield. Yum

Fwds: King Membrey Bruce Billings Parker Lonie

2021 premiers
Hope stuv not thinking the same way as you. Gresham not there yet. Steele ok. Billings- spare me please. Is Clarke on our list still. Hannabery just started vfl. When we were winning steven, Lonnie geary all in. Not sure your thoughts are yum