List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

I have not see a better prospect at our club since Riewoldt.

Have seen him live 3 times and TV once.

I reckon he would have taken Werribee apart if not injured, have never seen a forward make contested marks look so easy.

I like to think I am not one to overhype so take it FWIW.
JB,
Not overstating it but that first quarter by Sandringham was football that I’ve not seen them play for some years.
It was aggressive, quick and purposeful.
Werribee kicks the first two then we kick the next five.
I reckon it had a lot to do with confidence in taking the ball inside 50 and having talented options.
The clean Rowe tap to Hannebery, Hannebery lace out to King was sublime.
I said as much in a text to a mate last night.
It. Was. Perfect.
But at the same time, Mayo (whose nickname is strangely “Mayo”) was both mobile and dangerous, giving two dangerous options.
One was counterpoint to the other.

As I also said in that text to my mate:

In that goal of King’s, Hannebery showed what he can do for us.
But King showed how he can change us.

We all intuitively understand what King offers us, half of B/F apparently was there to watch him!

JB,
Not overstating it but that first quarter by Sandringham was football that I’ve not seen them play for some years.
I reckon it had a lot to do with confidence in taking the ball inside 50 and having talented options.
It. Was. Perfect.
But at the same time, Mayo (whose nickname is strangely “Mayo”) was both mobile and dangerous, giving two dangerous options.

We all intuitively understand what King offers us, half of B/F apparently was there to watch him!
People will soon realize we have the number one draft pick from 2018 , they have been raving about the Kings for the last 2 years and we scored one - no big deal if we don't see him again this year but next year he will only be stronger and better.
Having Hannebery , Coniglio , Billings , Gresham and Steven feeding him and crumbing off him is going to be beautiful to watch.
and of course Marshall killing it

Tom Morris thinks GWS will offer Coniglio the captaincy if he stays with them.

Not sure that compensates him for an additional $500k a year (or thereabouts). Money talks, and presumably he would become a leader at the Saints.

Our offer hasn’t been made yet (according to Morris). But it’s coming. And it is lucrative.

We must be a chance.
Interesting they are including the Captaincy in their offer, especially when they already have one of the best captain in the league.

We should all be barracking hard for them to win the premiership this season.

re-write history? it was well known at the time. hence why he needed freo to give him such a large amount of money upfront.

nothing stopped ross from being more transparent in his movements. rather than letting st kilda believe they had him secured and even booked the press conference for it.

That wasn’t directed at you

2cczk9.jpg

If there is a trade off , bugger the future for sure.

In hind-site i still think the failure was in stupid drafting. Not just Lyon.
Lyon inherited a list of elderly citizens , with only 7 players from the last 6 drafts who would go on to help with the finals campaign.
That 7 had the odd gem, but it was also Raph, McQualter, Gwilt.

Then we started trading. The first one was a ripper. Like a gambler it must have seemed easy. Schnieder and Dempster a bargain compared to a draft pick , even if we'd got Levi Greenwood, he'd have been not much help for our finals years.

But...redrafting Brad Howard...how did that help our finals. There were ready made guys in that draft. One of them has a premiership medal.
Did the hardline strategy with Luke Ball help our finals chances?
Drafting Lovett? Hell he wanted to draft Cousins as well.
I can't help but be cynical that Winmar was a "feelgood" pick aimed at the supporters.
Ray....OK but we delisted Attard and Birss, while keeping Howard and getting Colm Begley. We delisted and redrafted Maguire, who went on to play another 71 games at Brisbane. HTF did that help our finals chances.
Newsflash...Birss was better than Eddy, certainly better than Begley. Jesus Fiora was probably better than Eddy. Couldn't run and spread i guess. Like Barlow.

He couldn't see past his run and spread, to the extent that he drafted people like Begley.

With the exception of Lovett none of those players you mentioned cost a pick inside the top 30. Lovett was worth the shot, he was exactly what we were missing on field.

Off field he couldn’t have been any worse.

I’m not getting into another argument re Luke Judas Ball.

Billings is still not convinced.. apparently only a 2yr deal..

Takes him up to free agency. Would be mad to take more than two right now.

Yeah understood - I just hopes his body holds up? A kid at that height and that lacking in leg strength is another knee reco x ? waiting to happen! They are not much chop if they cant stay fit?

Lacking in leg strength????
b2d70c20d95208b029a39efc4f765d8b.jpg

You are so wrong that it's funny. Don't play gears when bakes is broken ! Wow. Both Armitage and steven would eat eddy any day of the weak especially when he fractured his arm. You can't be serious

Jog on insider

This is totally different this is the guy they have been after , the reason why we got Gubby at the club , any smart manager will take the deal we are offering , the kid knows he needs to secure his future and what better place than St Kilda.
I'd give him Ross Smiths number

the biggest signing since we got Plugger

We had so many disappointments in past, now I don't believe anything until papers are signed.

Yeah, even in breaking the story they repeated he’s staying a dozen or so times.

I don’t think it’s happening.....
Its not over the line yet , but GWS would be sweating because he is a free agent and half the season is gone and he still hasn't signed and knowing we will smash any contract they put in front of him.

We could throw captaincy into the convo provided he spends a year in the leadership group first, I wouldn't even be upset making him skipper straight up but I think that would ruffle a few feathers among the players and supporters.

JB,
It. Was. Perfect.

I look forward to Richo having Winx streaming off the half back flank and bombing it long and high inside 50.

With the money differential I suppose it’s about the best chip GWS has left to play.

I think if the difference between the two offers is not as much as expected then it might have an influence, otherwise it will come down to other priorities.