List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

This is where Gubby proves his worth. If Coniglio doesn't come, we should target Hopper or Tarantino, even though they will cost players and/or picks. Depending on who you listen to, Tomlinson is a strong chance to be with us for 2020, through FA. Go Gubby!

Cogs is the ultimate, free agent, only costa dollars which is something we have an abundance of. Need to push finals to be a chance but let me dream!

Now to go all in and ask for Taranto and a NEAFL first rounder like Boner for our first and Ross.

Booking a flight to Melbourne a month before the finals next year to eat Hotdogs drink VB and watch the mighty Saints play - top 4 finals at Marvel you little ripper

Off to a big A-League or AFL game, or a major Melbourne event? Melbourne Now writer and footy tragic Dylan Stewart has spent some time drinking and dining his way around Marvel Stadium, and shares his top five restaurants and bars nearby.

1. Woolshed Pub

Walking Distance to Etihad Stadium: About 70 metres

When I first moved to the city, this shed was home to many infamous college parties. Recently it’s transformed into a more refined gastropub, and when you combine its waterfront location with its proximity to Etihad Stadium, it’s hard to beat for a drink and a reasonably-priced meal before the first bounce.

Harbour Esplanade, Docklands
woolshedpub.com

2. Platform 28

Walking Distance to Etihad Stadium: 150 metres

A favourite if I’m meeting friends before a Friday night game, Platform 28 is also perfectly positioned for a spot of lunch before a Saturday afternoon match at Etihad. With two outdoor terraces that are protected from the elements, you can stay warm before heading up a flight of stairs to the big game.

82 Village Street, Docklands
platform28.com.au

3. Purple Peanuts Japanese Cafe

Walking Distance to Etihad Stadium: 600 metres

When you’re gearing up for an afternoon or evening match or event at Etihad, a fulfilling Japanese meal at Purple Peanuts is hard to beat. The sushi is top-notch and generous meals like the tsuke don (marinated salmon sashimi served with vinegared rice salad) start at around $10, although my personal favourite is the kakuni don (braised pork belly). It can get busy with a work lunch crowd during the week, but it’s a hidden gem right near Southern Cross Station. Closed Sundays, but open until 8:30pm so it’s also perfect for a post-match feed before you jump on a V/Line train or coach home.

20/620 Collins Street
facebook.com/purplepeanuts

4. Henry & The Fox

Walking Distance to Etihad Stadium: 900 metres

The first time I came here for lunch, my friend entered a competition and won a snowboard. Luckily for him, he’s a Melbourne supporter so he doesn’t mind if he’s up at the snow during the footy season. If you’re in town for a match, or are just looking for a tasty meal during your time in Melbourne, Henry & The Fox do a great weekend brunch menu (‘til 3pm), and they’re open until 10pm on Friday and Saturday nights too. It’s a good location; in the heart of the city and an easy walk to Etihad.

525 Little Collins Street
henryandthefox.com.au

5. Munich Brauhaus

Walking Distance to Etihad Stadium: 1.2 kilometres

Who said you can’t watch a game of footy and not enjoy some riverside hospitality at the same time? Nobody, that’s who. Fill up on bratwurst, a stein of amber nectar and some live German music before working some of it off as you cross the Yarra River. This stroll usually takes you through Docklands Park, but this footy season I’m looking forward to taking a detour over the Seafarers Bridge, one of the newest bridges to link the north and south banks of the Yarra.

45 South Wharf Promenade, South Wharf
munichbr
Mate, if we make prelims, beers and dinner are on me before the game/s. If we win the flag beers are on me for a week. No need to eat.

This is where Gubby proves his worth. If Coniglio doesn't come, we should target Hopper or Tarantino, even though they will cost players and/or picks. Depending on who you listen to, Tomlinson is a strong chance to be with us for 2020, through FA. Go Gubby!
If Cogs signs with GWS, we will be in Whitfield’s ear about coming home a year early. Haven’t heard anything, but there’s a good reason Gubby is here.

He will be ours
Your going to blow a valve the way your going Premo , I hope your right but personally i see us as a million to one of him coming to us atm , yes its a lot of money supposedly being offered but why would he want to leave a team thats going to be in the finals for the next god knows how many years and come to a team that may not even make finals in the next two years let alone contend for a flag . I just cant see it happening

No chance

Billings is still not convinced.. apparently only a 2yr deal..
Goes both ways. Im not Convinced he can do what he did on the weekend consistently. Also against quality opposition. Hes done it a handful of times in his career if that. So lets not overpaying another player whos done nothing to deserve it.

Ok

How much is a first round draft pick worth?

I'd say if you were to put a figure on it it would have to be worth close to a million if not more, we don't need to give up one for Cogs let alone two. This, and the fact that we have had too much money spare in the cap for probably five plus years means we need to pay up to move forward.

So as obscene as $1.4pa seems, in reality it won't even be noticed.

There is the argument that our current players won't be happy earning nearly a million less a year than Cogs, it's a genuine concern but at this point I don't know anyone who should be questioning such a deal.

As I said previously, Cogs saying yes, if he does, will create a flow on effect with a couple of other young guns happy to double their salary over their career.

What happened to him on the weekend will occur every week in the AFL with bigger and faster bodies crashing into him. It wasnt a melt down just a risk assessment. With the McCartin recruiting disaster, I question the club taking such a huge risk again?

Wow you somehow related it to the Paddy debacle.
Did you SEE the photo's of his ankle injury occurring?
Do you think there is something inherent that such an action should cause a strain...in anyone?

How much is a first round draft pick worth?

I'd say if you were to put a figure on it it would have to be worth close to a million if not more, we don't need to give up one for Cogs let alone two. This, and the fact that we have had too much money spare in the cap for probably five plus years means we need to pay up to move forward.

So as obscene as $1.4pa seems, in reality it won't even be noticed.

There is the argument that our current players won't be happy earning nearly a million less a year than Cogs, it's a genuine concern but at this point I don't know anyone who should be questioning such a deal.

As I said previously, Cogs saying yes, if he does, will create a flow on effect with a couple of other young guns happy to double their salary over their career.

Front loading will mean it won't create big issues going into the future, when King and Bytel demand massive coin for winning us a premiership.

Out of Whitfield, Taranto, Kelly and Coniglio, Cogs would be my last pick, but I'm still happy to throw 1.4mil at him.
It’s funny as I think he could potentially make the most impact for us

mate its literally public knowledge. its been covered to death from books to docos and various news paper articles.

you seriously must have checked out from the fall out of that incident.
nah its a slight exageration from the story from a very very credible source ...
RL was poised to sign the deal with us and we were in the process of setting up the press release and conferance for this but some days before that the then CEO and RL had a fairly heated exchange in a closed office that was pretty clearly heard from lots of people in the area at the time ... the exchange ended with RL storming out of the office saying he was done and Netters yelling "you dont walk out on me" or words to that effect ... it was felt that the dust would settle and they would make peace and the contract would be signed as planned but in that time Ross had an offer on his kitchen table from Freo and flights booked for him to come to Perth the fact that Freo in a 48hr period got what he wanted to him when the Saints took 2 months and still hadnt delivered what he was promised was the nail in the coffin

It’s funny as I think he could potentially make the most impact for us
Kelly most impact hands down, no question

He might be a little more influential than Whitfield in our team as we don't really have the extractor to get it to Whitfield. I'd have Coniglio on par with Taranto in our team but TT having far more of a ceiling.

I reckon comparing the ability of both players it’s a similar offer. And it’s only really 150k extra anyway. Obviously that’s huge for most but it’s not 300 k. I don’t anyone got near us for Shiel and again rumours had us last out of 4. It’s great we are trying but like I said I’d rate us a 5% chance. Heard a fair while ago he is staying at gws

That was before he had an offer slapped in his face.

Flag 2020

Marshall becoming the ruck we have been dreaming about
Billings starring
Greshams x -factor
A fit Hannerbery , Carlisle , Steven
King with another preseason
Natural improvement in Wilkie , Battle
and with Coniglio killing it

Leathlean you ripper

Looks like Richo will win us our 2nd flag

Have you seen the rumours of Bevo coming over for next year, if got Stuart Dew we’d have a premiership.