List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Hopefully jack stays but we’ll see what he’s worth if and when he requests a trade.

I know this much I have zero interest in helping Geelong and Fremantle get a deal done unless we get a big win out of it. I also have very little interest in hill let alone clogging up our list with his brother, in fact i hope the reports of our interest are rubbish. Surely an outside uncontested wingman isn’t high on our list of needs.

Are you serious? Brad Hill would be an outstanding get. Best wingman in the game!

Nah the poster once called me the most condescending poster on the forum, which I found quite offensive.

I prefer to think of myself as the most condescending person on the southern hemisphere if not the world.

So it's great to watch him continually put other posters down for having an opinion.

Try as he might, he isn't close to my levels..

You're just bombastic,;)
That's the nicest compliment anyone has ever paid me.❤

It won't be an easy trade because Jack is on on huge money, seriously huge money. How do Geelong fit him into their cap? Maybe someone like a Fogarty coming back our way.
They may go for the quick fix over long term development given their window is wide open.

I reckon a lot will depend on winning this year or not.

Once again we are not rating our squad , when our squad is as good as any running around
M.King - unproven but elite junior who looks capable of for-filling his potential.
Hunter Clark - showed last Sunday he is tracking in the right direction
Wilkie - Looks like he has played 100 games , just a smart footballer
Steven - just class
Hannebery - if he gets on the park will be a ripper , like he showed when he picked up 22 touches in a half in his first game.
Carlisle - elite intercept marker - would be one of the best CHB running around
Battle - at 20yr of age will be anything
Billings - becoming the star we wanted
Marshall - a freak
Membery - just a good player
Steele - does the job week in week out / keep Bont quiet last week.
Gresham is becoming our little master
Bruce - much maligned but any one who ● Ranked 2nd in Total Contested Marks in the AFL is far better than what you think.
Webster - this guy is a very good defender , has everyone forgotten how good he is.
Ross - another guy that doesn't get much love - but I'd rather him getting 30 touches than the other side.
Lonie - was written off last year and now look.
Acres - we know he is better than he has showed us this year
Geary - just a fearless captain
Hind - Parker - Long - Kent - Langlands - Young - / take your pick one of them can fill the forward pocket
Paton - developing well
Coffield - finding his feet , I predict he will become a very good player
McKenzie - another guy who gets shafted on here - has a run of bad form and they want to hang and 1/4 him - better than what people say he is on here.
Joyce - Austin - Marsh - Clavarino , all have improvement in them.
Savage - Newnes , useful at times
White - has the skill
Brown - currently the best fullback we have - still does the job.
Dunstan - does his job
Add on Sinclair , Phillips , Bytel , Mayo , Rice they can all play

Thats 41 players that you can not write off

then you have
Armitage
Longer
Pierce
Rowe
McCartin
that you can right off

Then we bring in Coniglio - Tomlinson - Brad Hill - Jack Martin we play finals and could easily win a flag with just 4 inclusions into our best 22

Webster - TOMLINSON - Geary
Wilkie - Carlisle - Hunter Clark
Billings - CONIGLIO - HILL
Membery - Battle - MARTIN
Gresham - Bruce - Lonie

Marshall - Steele - Steven

Hannebery - Ross - Acres - Parker - M.King
The problem is there is a difference between 'can't right off' and realised perceived potential....I'm sure we've all had guys in the past that we were sure were going to be great and came to nothing - how many of those are in your 41 is the question none of us can answer.

Nah the poster once called me the most condescending poster on the forum, which I found quite offensive.

I prefer to think of myself as the most condescending person on the southern hemisphere if not the world.

So it's great to watch him continually put other posters down for having an opinion.

You're just bombastic,;)
I slipped out if character for a moment. I should have thanked you for your tribute, accolade, commendation, bouquet, pat on the back, encomium, praise, acclaim, acclamation, plaudits, admiration, approbation, homage, eulogy, flattery, blandishments, blarney, honeyed words.

Aah, that's better!!

You're just bombastic,;)
I like to be patronising to you, but you are waaaaaay too smart for that [emoji6]

Well - it depends if you're a negative person or not.

Perhaps in return we get the two midfield guns we need and end up winning a couple of premierships in a row.

Repeat after me - no player is untradeable - for the right deal.

PS - You forgot to mention that the two players we got for McEvoy got 45 possessions between them on Sunday and have just clocked up 200 games for the Saints AND Rowan Marshall would theoretically be still running around at North Ballarat.

I suspect we are alone in this view that anyone is tradeable for the right deal in pursuit of a premiership.

I think shaking the sacred cows attitute is particularly tough for us saints fans because we've become dependent on (by necessity to keep our own sanity)... consoling ourselves with cheering on champions in lieu of team success.

A mid first seems about right for Hill, except we don't have one. Martin's value has definitely dripped this year.

Would you give up pick 6 for Hill and Martin?
I’d happily offer up pick 6, I’d also be happy with hill and Langdon for pick 6.

I think a mid to late first was the range for hill, personally I rate him as a late first early second but being contracted that’s not happening.

It won't be an easy trade because Jack is on on huge money, seriously huge money. How do Geelong fit him into their cap? Maybe someone like a Fogarty coming back our way.

You come across as someone with a bit of inside running, so hopefully you are correct on this one? Fogarty would be a good trade and the Saints might then be motivated to pay some of Stuv's salary or Stuv may have to take a pay cut to get his wish.

I haven't seen much (any?) of langdon.. is he the one roo tricked for the fifty a few years back? Who does he play like? Will he be best 22?

Nah, that was Logue.

Langdon has insane closing speed (Tippa probably the only player with better chase down tackling), questionable disposal, will 100% be best 22 for you guys (and the majority of clubs)

I suspect we are alone in this view that anyone is tradeable for the right deal in pursuit of a premiership.

I think shaking the sacred cows attitute is particularly tough for us saints fans because we've become dependent on (by necessity to keep our own sanity)... consoling ourselves with cheering on champions in lieu of team success.
Yeah, I don't understand where the vitriol comes from on your general point.

If we had an alternative topline ruck would we swap him for Cogs - yes

Is it realistic and should we push for it and risk him getting disaffected - no

Do we need to bash the poster of a hypothetical - no

Nah, that was Logue.

Langdon has insane closing speed (Tippa probably the only player with better chase down tackling), questionable disposal, will 100% be best 22 for you guys (and the majority of clubs)
ahh that's right.. I feel like all your players look the same, ed langdon, griffin logue, connor blakely, bradley hill, etc

Yeah, I don't understand where the vitriol comes from on your general point.

If we had an alternative topline ruck would we swap him for Cogs - yes

Is it realistic and should we push for it and risk him getting disaffected - no

Do we need to bash the poster of a hypothetical - no
the real question is, is it too early to offer up the young riewoldts for trade... with catherine's pedigree and nick's footballing DNA we could package them up now for the entire gold coast list.

Just a thought don't @ me ffs

This is interesting here from Damien Barrett regarding Jack Steven to Geelong

"TEN months after almost luring Jack Steven away from St Kilda, Geelong is preparing another bid for the four-time Saints best-and-fairest winner."

This implies Geelong are actively pursuing him because they want him rather than Stuv asking to return back to Geelong back of mental health reasons. In this case and Jack decided he wants to take up there offer, we need to demand overs.

As much as I love Jack, especially when he was our one good player for a few years there, if he wants to go I think we should move him on. He’s creeping up to 30 and the poor blokes played one finals game, he’ll have a good crack at it in Geelong

the real question is, is it too early to offer up the young riewoldts for trade... with catherine's pedigree and nick's footballing DNA we could package them up now for the entire gold coast list.

Just a thought don't @ me ffs

A valid proposition.

I think it would be a good move before he has a chance to move the family to texas while his boys forget about AFL and instead become supremely athletically gifted NFL superstars!

I’d happily offer up pick 6, I’d also be happy with hill and Langdon for pick 6.

I think a mid to late first was the range for hill, personally I rate him as a late first early second but being contracted that’s not happening.
That's fair enough, we all rate players differently.

I think even if he was out of contract, an early second for a guy that is probably the second best wingman behind Lachie Whitfield would be an absolute steal.

I think he was traded for pick 23 to Freo, but back then he was a flaky half forward flanker that didn't find a lot of the footy. Since then he's come one leaps and bounds, won a best and fairest and has managed up his stats by an extra 50%.

I agree I'd happily trade pick 6 for Hill and Martin.

Interesting piece on the AFL site assessing players value for those potentially on the move.

The price on both Hill, Martin and Jones is a lot closer to what I’d expect to pay if I was interested, of course in the end their all worth what a team is prepared to pay.
Their value of Draper seems out of step with all the other players listed - shouldn't be second in my view given who they're saying is also valued at that level or lower.