List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Can't expect too much for Steven unfortunately.

That's really gonna hurt when you factor in the likely early retirements for Robbo and Paddy and we've already lost Koby.

Can't see how we get a first round pick, but maybe we can try and get a promising kid that is looking for more opportunities?

He’s turning 30 and is a free agent next season plus has taken leave 3 times already this year.

If the tables were reversed we’d want to give up an Ameet Special at worst.

Obviously we can try for higher etc... but pick 25-30 is as good as we should expect.

I understand he’s a club champion etc but he’s not worth a lot

I guess it all hinges on whether his mental health issues are a result of (or exasabated by):
A. His life generally or
B. Specifically playing football for stkilda

If it's B- i can see it being similar to stringer at the dogs- we will take whatever we get for him just to make the move happen. (Ala an ameet special)

If it's A though- i can see us holding him to his contract unless we get a beames back to pies level deal.

I guess it all hinges on whether his mental health issues are a result of (or exasabated by):
A. His life generally or
B. Specifically playing football for stkilda

If it's B- i can see it being similar to stringer at the dogs- we will take whatever we get for him just to make the move happen. (Ala an ameet special)

If it's A though- i can see us holding him to his contract unless we get a beames back to pies level deal.

Not sure that it can be related to a specific club, i'd hate to think the club where he's spent his entire career is a significantly worse environment for him than others. It could be related to how he's the main man in the midfield, feeling like the weight of the team's performance is on his shoulders, especially since the decline of Armitage.
However the last few games, it hasn't really been like that so its hard to say. Might be the lifestyle as much as anything else.

Hopper just signed a contract a few weeks back.

Whitfield and Taranto are signed on for next year but I suppose we could throw the kitchen sink at either and hope they look to break their contract. Unlikely though you'd think.

I think Whitfield becomes a FA next year.
I'd try Cogs and Taranto this season

The thing with Jack is - he's just as likely to retire than to play with Geelong. It's not just about getting closer to his family, its about his health and well-being. That might mean stepping away from the game is the best thing for him.

No idea about Stuv’s situation, but if the rumour I heard last night has any truth to it: I’d expect that the club would play absolute hard ball should he seek to leave.
Their 1st or Kelly pick whichever higher and our 3rd for their 2nd.

Cats have been into his ear for years.
Should be a law against rayeping bottom teams of gun players.

It happens all the time in sports industries. But if the rumors are true then we have to play hard and go for their first pick.

If Steven leaves then i reckon we have him covered now. We got few youngsters building up nicely.

Yeah nah.

A situation where we have jack steven AND a few youngsters building up nicely....
is always going to be better than a situation where we have just a few youngsters building up nicely.

Losing jack may not be catastrophic (as we've shown we can play well without him this year)....
but it's unquestionably still a backwards step without getting an A grader in as compensation.

I don't see any like for like players at Geelong.
They are short on inside grunt...hence getting Tim Kelly.
Parfitt and Constable too young for them to give up for Steven.

Would need to be 1st round pick or get out.
Steak knife would be good.
Rhys Stanley.

We can then play 2 rucks.

Goodbye Billy :cool:

Okay, they can chuck in their first as well ;)

Steven for parfitt straight swap or equivalent, or else jack stays contracted and sits out of footy for a year cam McCarthy style.

If that kind of approach is taken by the club- nothing will be 'falling in geelongs lap'

menegola.

You may be right in saying that Stuv may have played his last game in the RWB, but if the pressures of AFL football are in anyway associated with his condition, moving from a small fish Melbourne club like St Kilda to a one team town like Geelong would be last thing he needs.

contracts often have number of games played tied into them to hit the trigger clause for the following year. given 2020 is his final year of his contract, i hope we dont get bitten by that and then he walks under FA.

All about his health of course but if he is mentally fit enough to play football and wants to leave, well Geelong can be fair or he can sit out of football for a year.

Sounds hardball but maybe the year off might be beneficial.

All about his health of course but if he is mentally fit enough to play football and wants to leave, well Geelong can be fair or he can sit out of football for a year.

Sounds hardball but maybe the year off might be beneficial.

i agree

we all care about his mental health, that's absolutely a given, but that doesn't give him nor geelong free reign in their ability to do what ever they like. the club has to be fairly compensated for losing their best midfielder.

now if the angle at play here is to reduce the number of games played to avoid the trigger clause for next year, thereby ensuring the movement is for free, then the club should be absolutely filthy. that would go down as one of the lowest moves i've seen from any club RE: player movement. not even freo and mccarthy pulled that shit.

if he leaves the club is at least owed a fair trade.

Yeah nah.

A situation where we have jack steven AND a few youngsters building up nicely....
is always going to be better than a situation where we have just a few youngsters building up nicely.

Losing jack may not be catastrophic (as we've shown we can play well without him this year)....
but it's unquestionably still a backwards step without getting an A grader in as compensation.

Yeah, I think we have very few mids building up underneath him. I think he will leave a huge hole. Without doubt the worst midfield in the league if he goes and possibly one of the weakest in AFL history. Ross who people think is average, Billings outside on a wing, Gresham who hasn't yet made the same impact as a mid as he did up forward, Sinclair- a very low output mid, Newnes a wing/utility, Clark- building junior mid, Bytel an unknown quantity. Oh and forgot Dunny, possibly not on an AFL list after 2019.

i agree

we all care about his mental health, that's absolutely a given, but that doesn't give him nor geelong free reign in their ability to do what ever they like. the club has to be fairly compensated for losing their best midfielder.

now if the angle at play here is to reduce the number of games played to avoid the trigger clause for next year, thereby ensuring the movement is for free, then the club should be absolutely filthy. that would go down as one of the lowest moves i've seen from any club RE: player movement. not even freo and mccarthy pulled that ****.

if he leaves the club is at least owed a fair trade.
Hopefully you are only assuming a trigger clause. If that shit was pulled, the booing Ablett copped would be nothing to what he would cop for shitting on a club that has given him so much for 10 years.

Very much he would do that though

Yeah, I think we have very few mids building up underneath him. I think he will leave a huge hole. Without doubt the worst midfield in the league if he goes and possibly one of the weakest in AFL history. Ross who people think is average, Billings outside on a wing, Gresham who hasn't yet made the same impact as a mid as he did up forward, Sinclair- a very low output mid, Newnes a wing/utility, Clark- building junior mid, Bytel an unknown quantity. Oh and forgot Dunny, possibly not on an AFL list after 2019.

yeap, our midfield is pretty damn ordinary, no genuine star with Stuv and without Gresh really coming on quick in there. it battles well above its weight and is effective because of how well it competes and works around the ground.

There can be absolutely no discussion on accepting unders for Jack Steven.

His mental health should be his and the clubs highest priority and if he chooses to retire then I’m sure everybody will accept his choice. If he chooses to play on and requests a trade to Geelong as a contracted star of the St Kilda football club the administration has a duty to seek fair and reasonable compensation.

The cats will have their own first rounder along with the possibility of more early draft picks should they choose to trade Tim Kelly. Reasonable compensation is clearly a deal involving their earliest draft pick, if that isn’t on the table then neither is Jack Steven.

I’m reasonably confident that should this scenario occur a fair deal will be struck between the clubs.

No idea about Stuv’s situation, but if the rumour I heard last night has any truth to it: I’d expect that the club would play absolute hard ball should he seek to leave.
Tease Sunny :p

Nice trade scenario :cool:

As much as it sucks for supporters, Jacks health should be the number 1 priority. If (and its still a big if) he wants to go to Geelong, and there are reasonable circumstances for this (I don't know specifics other than what I was told before Rd 1), then as a supporter I want our club to do the right thing a facilitate and trade. As much as it hurts, he has given us 10+ years service and won 4 B+Fs in some very tough years. Yes he signed a contract, but some things are bigger than football.

Equally, I would hope that Geelong would enter into good faith negotiations and we don't see anything like the McCarthy situation, or the crap teams like WCE or Essendon pull. We should aim to be better than that, and hopefully the Cats are too. Looking back at the last 10 years or so Geelong appear pretty fair in their trade dealings. So I hold out some hope that we can expect some fairly reasonable conversations (particularly given they are firmly in their window).

Working through the hypothetical, I think asking for what they get for Kelly would be a very reasonable place to start the conversation. Whether we get it or not is another thing, but that would be my opening. Both moving on compassionate grounds from clubs that don't want to give them up. Stuv older but more runs on the board. Could be the difference maker for them in September (or at the very least a more than adequate Kelly replacement). As much as I don't want to lose Stuv, I think we could mount a strong case for that level of compo.

They probably counter with their lower first round pick, and at the end of the day we should probably be prepared to settle for that lower first rounder (16-18).

If either team would rather discuss players then picks (which I actually really really think we should), I had a look through their list to see what might appeal. Would discuss any deal that included any of:
Koladjashnij
Henry
Stewart
Constable or
Parfitt

Outside of that there is not much at all that interests me. Cockatoo is a massive no for me. Might as well have kept Freeman if we wanted to go that path.

Of course there is a lot of water to go under the bridge, and the right (or wrong) set of circumstances could see things change dramatically. I just wanted to go through the exercise to see what (with my supporter hat on) we might expect to receive as compensation.

So best case is either what they get for Kelly, or a late first and one of Stewart, Henry or J.Kolo
With my realist hat on, I can live with just the late first (considering they will likely have 3 or 4 first rounders across the next two years, and they are in the premiership window, I believe that to be realistic. Hell we gave that for Lovett without blinking). Would ask for the earlier but settle for the later
Anything less than a very late first round pick is probably really testing us (and has moved beyond good faith negotiations). No supporter will be happy with a second (especially given it will basically be an early third in a not so crash hot looking draft). But as much as it sucks I personally still want us to prioritise Stuvs wellbeing over a long messy trade process. We aren't Essendon, and maybe this is just one of those things in life we (as supporters) have to suck up. Some things are bigger than football.

Just my 2 cents