Keg on legs
So, we all want Cunnington, right?
Beast
Beast

LIVE: Geelong v Gold Coast - Rd 14 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Cats at 78% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 14 Games
Use a protractor, duhHow do you measure iq brains exactly again? They're funny little things aren't they.
Not difficult to spot.How do you measure iq brains exactly again? They're funny little things aren't they.
Can we nickname him Tongue?So, we all want Cunnington, right?
Beast
Forget it; he doesn't like the look of our list.So, we all want Cunnington, right?
I don't have an issue with the trade, but it was actually Savage and one pick.
The second pick was a 5 pick upgrade, which did get us Acres, whilst the Hawks took Hartung.
So basically we got 3 best 22 players while the Hawks got a premiership ruckman and a player not on an afl list.
I think it's been a good trade for both clubs.
The only reason the ‘Acres’ portion of the trade went through later was that Hawthorn were waiting on the Buddy compo pick to come through.
They were the same deal, just completed separately if that makes sense.
My issue was that when we can't seem to draft, we went and got draft picks for guy the club was telling us was our next captain. He was a very good mark and sat in the hole in defence, his tap work was average for sure but was building. Him and Stanley are both considered top 5 rucks in the competition, we traded both and now have realised the high price we paid for both Hickey and Longer was a waste of picks. I have no issue with being bold and trading out players but by god you want to get them right if you do. It's like mortgaging the house to go to the casino. Dal Santo, Goddard, Mc Evoy and Stanley for zero players that are anywhere near as good as the players we lost should be seen as gross incompetence.
If we trade out Marshall now for some draft picks would you be happy? I must be the only person on here with high standards. Most seem happy with trades that have ended up making us less competitive. How we persisted with Trout for so long when his track record must have been below the law of averages for finding elite talent makes me wonder about the people in charge.
It's the opinion of footy experts on the radio. I'm not sure any of us watch enough Geelong games to give a 100% informed opinion. Marshall is the best we've had for years but he has to be measured against the competition. He was rated by some on the station recently as having come form nowhere and as tracking to be excellent.
So, we all want Cunnington, right?
Beast
Yeah I get thatThe only reason the ‘Acres’ portion of the trade went through later was that Hawthorn were waiting on the Buddy compo pick to come through.
They were the same deal, just completed separately if that makes sense.
Can we nickname him Tongue?
Trading Marshall now can’t be compared to where we were in 2013.
We had little decent young talent & needed picks in to get the rebuild started.
I don’t think our drafting has been as horrendous as you continually post it has been. It’s been solid without pulling a much needed elite rabbit or two from the hat.
Stanley? C’mon mate, he’s an ordinary footballer in a very good team. Once again, the deal we got was a good one bit sadly Hugh had 3 terrible injuries that cooled him.
Goddard & Dal were ordinary in hindsight but you wouldn’t be saying that if we knew Grundy was a chance to slip to us. The blokes picked around our original picks were all spuds.
maaaateI'm pleased for you that you consider them all good moves. It probably keeps you from being frustrated by it. Our drafting has been poor because nearly 10 years in we don't have anyone elite or A grade. You can excuse one or two bad years when you are challenging but to have gone as long as we did with Trout was insanity. We have a handful of players who were at the club 5 years ago. So even the club acknowledges that it hasn't been great.
Libba has found Wilkie and Parker who slot easily into our best 10 players in the off season and we haven't even seen what his two highest picks can do yet. That's like 8 years work for Trout.
We have plenty of okay talent and are capable of working really hard to compete with most sides but anyone really good has to have a bad day to lose to us. Hopefully Libba is the new Scott Clayton though and we start to find some guns.
Some of Marshall's strengths is winning his own clearances and his tackling work, making him like an extra midfielder at stoppages.
We lose that if he stick him in the forward line, where he was never that good anyway.
twallace was saying on sem we should trade for a more traditional ruck, play marshall forward and use him as a relief ruck...
twallace is an idiot and a dinosaur. Marshall is the modern ruck, embrace it twallace!
Parker top 10?
Fmd
Steele and Savage would like a word.I reckon he does. Who would you have currently playing that's better? I have our best as Stuv, Gresh, Billings, Ross, Carlisle, Webster/ Members, Geary, Newnes maybe. It's pretty hard to make a case for any to be above others after around 7. Parker is looking very good to me and our most dangerous player in the forward half now.
FMD, it’s not Wallace you’re referring to as an expert are you? GRINGO
Steele and Savage would like a word.