- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Ormond AFC
The difference lynch said it on radio for all to hear. Or do you think someone had a gun to his back.Just like Tiananmen Square facts. Makes sense

LIVE: Hawthorn v Adelaide - Rd 11 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 66% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 11 Games
Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
The difference lynch said it on radio for all to hear. Or do you think someone had a gun to his back.Just like Tiananmen Square facts. Makes sense
Stewie Dew is his role model...Yep, i heard he was an addonis on can hill
Lyon hated Lynch. Even wrote an abusive note to John Peake for drafting him. I saw that note. If you weren't in Ross's harem you simply didn't get a go.
Didn't Eddie play the 2010 GF and get delisted thereafter?In 2010
McQualter played 25 games.
Brett Peake played 23
Geary Played 19
Baker played 15
Eddy played 10
Armitage 9
RaphClarke played 8
Steven played 8.
Nick Heyne played 3
Miles played 2.
In 2011
Armitage 22.
Steven played 21.
Peake played 19.
Raph Clark played 17
Dean Polo played 15
Baker played 10.
Geary 8
Lynch/SIppos/Mcqualter 5
Cripps 4
Smith 3
Ledger 2
Winmar 2
Will Johnson 1
Archer 1
In 2012 ( Watters )
Armitage 21
Steven 21
Geary 20
Saad 16
Milera 15
Cripps 12
Siposs 11
Wilkes 10
Newnes 7
Polo 6
Dunell 5
Ledger 4
Raph Cloake 3
Seb Ross 1
Peake 1
Lyon had clearly moved Armitage and Steven into the midfield by 2011.
What was kind of strange was selecting Eddy so much in 2010 , then not playing him at all in 2011.
Yeh Steven so sore with op could only manage 9 games in three yrs!! Perfect opportunity for Lyin to develop great young talent in awesome side but oh no let's play Eddie etc. the coach would not play the kids and certainly didn't develop them but you keep your opinion. Boring
Maybe Wayne Olsen is Rob Eddy.I’ll personally never hold a grudge against Ross for putting all his chips in for a flag. If that meant that a 2nd year player didn’t get a look in then so be it.
Apparently you think it was more important for Ross to worry about developing talent for 2015+ than trying to win in 09/10.
Eddy played in 2010 because he was;
A) fit.
B) played a role that was needed as a defensive forward.
Stuv wasn’t fit. Neither was Armo. End of story.
Whist drooling over Andrejs Everitt.
Peake wasn't a good talent scout, but neither was Lyon.
In fact it turns out that Lynch was one of the few decent picks taken first round that year.
12 : Lewis Johnston
13: Tom Lynch
14: Ayce Cordy
15: Mitch Brown
16: Ryan Shoenmakers
17: Sam Blease
18: Luke Shuey
In hindsite , David Zaharakis or Dayne beams might have been good.
What changes will we see to make us flying in 2 years
I wanted us to win flag big time- that's why I don'tlike Lyin cause he cost us with his arrogant selections.I’ll personally never hold a grudge against Ross for putting all his chips in for a flag. If that meant that a 2nd year player didn’t get a look in then so be it.
Apparently you think it was more important for Ross to worry about developing talent for 2015+ than trying to win in 09/10.
A) fit.
The difference lynch said it on radio for all to hear. Or do you think someone had a gun to his back.
Pretty big difference even surely you see. One was talking about himself so no need to lie. The other talking about his coach. Come on gringo you are smarter than that.I remember when Jack Steven said that Watters was a "legend" as well. You said they all say ******** in interviews to sound positive. Why is Lynch being honest and Stuv obfuscating?
I’ll personally never hold a grudge against Ross for putting all his chips in for a flag. If that meant that a 2nd year player didn’t get a look in then so be it.
A) fit.
I wanted us to win flag big time- that's why I don'tlike Lyin cause he cost us with his arrogant selections.
This is not just about Steven
Eddy played replay final with an arm fracture!!! Super fit
Baker played with foot fracture!! Super fit
Gears played 19 games that yr. not fit
Armo played 9 games - not fit
Steven played 8 games not fit
Don't let facts get in the way of your defence for Lyin. End of story
Pretty big difference even surely you see. One was talking about himself so no need to lie. The other talking about his coach. Come on gringo you are smarter than that.
Just out of interest why was the game plan harder to achieve in finals. We won nearly all of them in 09 and 10. Even Geelong was close both games. We actually got well beaten by the pies in home and away and drew the gf. Lyon was told to do what he could to win a flag and bugger the future. For a side that’s won one flag in 140 years even in hindsight I’m all for that.I'm in the middle with Lyon, I reckon GT and Butterss get a lot of **** but they were our best admin as far as putting together a proper long term competitive side. They couldn't have done more to leave the on field set up for success. Lyon came in and taught hardness and a bit of a hard defensive edge. History shows he was a whisker from being a legend of the club. History also shows his game plan was harder to achieve in finals. He also burnt the last of the fuel gunning for a premiership and left a burnt out shell behind him for more money.
I was around for 97 where we finally got good and by a couple of years later we were **** again. What they did was create a reign of quality that lasted the best part of a decade. Pretty tough to drop GT on the back of prelim footy and his game style was probably more likely to either blow sides away or go down in flames, but it might have been different with him at the helm.
I'm always doing faux humble, I reckon it's the Aussie way to say how **** you are while not really believing it.
Just out of interest why was the game plan harder to achieve in finals. We won nearly all of them in 09 and 10. Even Geelong was close both games. We actually got well beaten by the pies in home and away and drew the gf. Lyon was told to do what he could to win a flag and bugger the future. For a side that’s won one flag in 140 years even in hindsight I’m all for that.
No worries. Maybe the proof is his record then if you don’t believe the actual person saying it. 5 games in his last year at saints. 6 in his first at Adelaide. Suggests player faults.
I think the intensity in finals goes both ways and you don't set the tempo like you do in home and away games. Sydney are the other ultra defensive side who protect humble leads and I would think they have suffered from it too. It's still effective, just not as effective. Freewheeling sides are open to exposure too but if you can pile on goals the psychological edge you get can win you the game.
That's fine, we went hard and didn't win though and are still paying for it nearly 10 years later. To the winners go the spoils as they say.
In 2010
McQualter played 25 games.
Brett Peake played 23
Geary Played 19
Baker played 15
Eddy played 10
Armitage 9
RaphClarke played 8
Steven played 8.
Nick Heyne played 3
Miles played 2.
In 2011
Armitage 22.
Steven played 21.
Peake played 19.
Raph Clark played 17
Dean Polo played 15
Baker played 10.
Geary 8
Lynch/SIppos/Mcqualter 5
Cripps 4
Smith 3
Ledger 2
Winmar 2
Will Johnson 1
Archer 1
In 2012 ( Watters )
Armitage 21
Steven 21
Geary 20
Saad 16
Milera 15
Cripps 12
Siposs 11
Wilkes 10
Newnes 7
Polo 6
Dunell 5
Ledger 4
Raph Cloake 3
Seb Ross 1
Peake 1
Lyon had clearly moved Armitage and Steven into the midfield by 2011.
What was kind of strange was selecting Eddy so much in 2010 , then not playing him at all in 2011.
Or injury or not having a spot open or an old player holding up a spot or they wanted him to prove himself playing their game plan at SANFL level etc.
What is the right side
A true story about what
Plugger made his point. I made mine. Maybe he has underestimated my knowledge of said two players and coach
I wanted us to win flag big time- that's why I don'tlike Lyin cause he cost us with his arrogant selections.
This is not just about Steven
Eddy played replay final with an arm fracture!!! Super fit
Baker played with foot fracture!! Super fit
Gears played 19 games that yr. not fit
Armo played 9 games - not fit
Steven played 8 games not fit
Don't let facts get in the way of your defence for Lyin. End of story