List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

I think he suffers when we have no good mids around him. He's mostly outside and with out Steven to take the heat off him he has to be more accountable and gets ridden harder.
I don't think he is coasting I just think he is the one to have suffered from Armo hitting his shelf life and Stuv being out among other things.

He sort of went under the radar a bit and I think as a result of a great season or two other teams have put more work into him.

His kicking this year has been deplorable to say the least, was always best playing as an inside feeder but he had to adapt his game. Unfortunately for him, his outside game suffers due to his kicking skills.

Yeah I get all that and agree, especially for stoppages, but in general play his attack on the footy is chalk and cheese from then.

He looked like gears busting in at pass to win the footy a couple of time. He just doesn’t seem as desperate now.

I wonder who leaked our Coniglio offer to the media? I doubt it came from the club but if it did, what do we have to benefit from it - strategically?
Coniglio is the obvious target from GWS being one of the best midfielders in the competition as a free agent. Surely history tells us with these offers we are better off not making it known to the media and stipulating that with their agents etc?
I’d say it’s either the media having a guess or Cogs manager. They are the only ones who stand to gain from making it public IMO.

I hate the leaks in AFL land. I'm sure there's spotters fee's involved.
For me the most disgusting one was the "StKilda Schoolgirl "

At the time: Schoolgirl tells principle she is pregnant to an AFL player. ( lie ). Principle calls police.
Some mercenary prick at either the School or the Police. Decided to blab it to the media.

Now , it was Duthy and she revelled in the attention. But if it had been a real kid , out of her depth in that situation, what are potential ramifications of shoving her into the limelight ? My money would be on the cops leaking it. Mainly because they were more likely to know who to go to.

I’d say no1 leaked it. My guess is it played out like this:
I’m a dickhead journo who needs some click bait to keep myself relevant. Steve Coniglio tops the free agent list. Coniglio can football. St Kilda has cash. Lots of cash. They need midfielders. They offered Shiel heaps. Coniglio is better than Shiel. My sources tell me that 1+1=2. Boom st Kilda set to offer Coniglio godfather offer.

Or they just read my big footy post about 2 months ago about how we should offer him $1.5m+

Savage has been excellent this year and has finally found his niche, we'd be crazy to delist him.

Never suggested de-listing him. But he might have currency based on him being excellent.
Otherwise what do we do with the others. They aren't going to sit happily and play VFL.

Ross ran around lazily last weekend and picked up 10 clearances. ( ball was just lying on the ground waiting to be picked up,).
If he'd put some effort in, he might have got 7 more so the saints matched the GC, the lazy so and so.

Acres 5
Dunstan 4
Marshall 4.

It doesnt matter where that came from a number of individuals f.....d up and the media love that **** ala the current Security Guards sensationalism. But what does that have to do with us currently trying to attract quality players?

Was just a general comment on how ingrained AFL leaks seem to be.
Leaking to the media is a form of corruption.

Tomlinson doesn't cut it I'm afraid. Very good midfielders or tread water. Thats the equation.
I'm a bit like yourself on Tomlinson, t94. We've got similar types and he isn't as desperatly needed as a class mid or two. Still, he'd probably improve the list somewhat. Give us Tarantino, Coniglio or Hopper.

I’d say it’s either the media having a guess or Cogs manager. They are the only ones who stand to gain from making it public IMO.

Possibly but who would have the most to gain by releasing it? For me its GWS, they wont want to lose him and by releasing the amount it puts pressure on him internally and externally to resign with them and get it out of the media. He is a WA boy so leaving Sydney to move to Melbourne will hold no great appeal, in fact most of GWS boys absolutely love Sydney. Im sure now our offer is publicised plenty of clubs will come up with under the table offers similiar to Essendon last year.

Thats why I think the offer being released so early, works against us contrary to a lot of excitement around.

Possibly but who would have the most to gain by releasing it? For me its GWS, they wont want to lose him and by releasing the amount it puts pressure on him internally and externally to resign with them and get it out of the media. He is a WA boy so leaving Sydney to move to Melbourne will hold no great appeal, in fact most of GWS boys absolutely love Sydney. Im sure now our offer is publicised plenty of clubs will come up with under the table offers similiar to Essendon last year.

Thats why I think the offer being released so early, works against us contrary to a lot of excitement around.

It puts it into his head that he's worth 1.4M, so he says sure i'll sign, because i like you guys special rate, only 1.3M.
Not sure if GWS would want that.

So what would he cost? He's a match winner who goes missing at times and then comes out and plays out of his skin others. He might be a star but there is still the possibility that he's more Acres than elite. I kind of like him but there is a need for mids that overrides getting him.

Picks between 6 and 10 have got some of the best players in the AFL.
I think you’ve just described the small forward position so no shame in that for him.

Agree though it’s not the priority

So what would he cost? He's a match winner who goes missing at times and then comes out and plays out of his skin others. He might be a star but there is still the possibility that he's more Acres than elite. I kind of like him but there is a need for mids that overrides getting him.

Picks between 6 and 10 have got some of the best players in the AFL.
I wouldn't be giving up 6-10 in any deal for him, but I think he'd cost more than a future second.

If we are talking straight puck swap, Sydney would probably ask for a late first I think.

And Jack Lonie is an inconsistent 22 year old, with low quality forward line entries.
Lonie has become quite consistent over the last 12 months I reckon. Papley's best is definitely better. He's tracking towards a 40 goal season.

Whether we have a huge need for him or not might he questionable, but he's a better footballer than Lonie.

Lonie has become quite consistent over the last 12 months I reckon. Papley's best is definitely better. He's tracking towards a 40 goal season.

Whether we have a huge need for him or not might he questionable, but he's a better footballer than Lonie.
He's better, but Lonie is good enough is my view

I wouldn't be giving up 6-10 in any deal for him, but I think he'd cost more than a future second.

If we are talking straight puck swap, Sydney would probably ask for a late first I think.
Steven = Papley & Parfit?

With all of Savage, Paton, Webster, McKenzie, Wilkie, White, and Marsh.
We either need to transition one or some into the midfield or we need to look at trading at least one.

Do we think any of them are midfield material? Webster? Paton?
Would Savage be worth anything in trade? McKenzie?

We simply can't lock them all away for ever and play only 3 or 4 of them each week. ( assuming Geary has a few years left ).

Geary might be worth one more if Cogs says no. Savage for Martin and a second, (GC).

I’d say no1 leaked it. My guess is it played out like this:
I’m a dickhead journo who needs some click bait to keep myself relevant. Steve Coniglio tops the free agent list. Coniglio can football. St Kilda has cash. Lots of cash. They need midfielders. They offered Shiel heaps. Coniglio is better than Shiel. My sources tell me that 1+1=2. Boom st Kilda set to offer Coniglio godfather offer.

Or they just read my big footy post about 2 months ago about how we should offer him $1.5m+

Tommy Browns alright as far as Journos go.

Are you saying Savage gets us martin and pick 20? Are you drinking heavily?

I rate savage but yeah, that would make them laugh. Seeing as the GC have Harbrow who is an upgraded an older rebound back, I doubt he's even such a high priority that they'd loose their heads.