2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Archie is interesting we signed him up early.. Although games I watched NEAFL I did not think he dominated.
One of those players who has lots going for him just not strung it together.
You see some young rucks like O'Brien (drafted 2015) and Marshall and the Big O from the 2017 draft
Then you think Archie drafted 2014 draft
I really like him and like Rueben Williams I thought speed etc be a asset.
You have to back the club as they know more then we do :)

He was drafted having played about a dozen games of Aussie rules.

just had a read of the brownlow predictor article on afl website. Interesting to know that Rory laird polled the most votes for Adelaide last year with 19.
If the smoke about him is true he will be a good get, not because of brownlow votes but we really need a quality running defender and he just slots straight in.

Question- Would you rather Brodie Smith Or Rory Laird?
I'd say Brodie Smith for what we need- gives us another elite long kick of the half back who can also run and carry. Laird more of an accumulator uses well but would rather the damaging kick of Smith to line up along side Rich. Also Smith would cost less imagine he'd only be pick 19 where as Laird would cost 17 & a future first or 17 & 19.

Question- Would you rather Brodie Smith Or Rory Laird?
I'd say Brodie Smith for what we need- gives us another elite long kick of the half back who can also run and carry. Laird more of an accumulator uses well but would rather the damaging kick of Smith to line up along side Rich. Also Smith would cost less imagine he'd only be pick 19 where as Laird would cost 17 & a future first or 17 & 19.

You summed it up fairly well. Smith more damaging with his leg speed and ability to break lines and long kicking. Laird a fantastic accumulator of the ball off half back who rarely plays a bad game but not as good or damaging kick as Smith.

Also in the case of Laird we have Rich and Witherden who play a very similar game. In the case of Witherden you would say Laird is a level up.

Either player would improve our team, but I think Smith would cost less and be more in line with what we need going forward.

Also people need to appreciate that Zac Bailey will be a very good player in the years to come. The guy has played two years of AFL and done plenty right and shown plenty of promise.

Can you explain what you've been seeing? Because I thought he had a poor year besides that one game he went forward and kicked four goals. I saw him consistently getting beaten in taps by NEAFL standard rucks, and nothing impressive as a link player either.

Seems to have tremendous leap, getting his palm over an opposition ruck is a good starting point for me. The couple of times he played with our 1st midfield, Neale was able to direct him on where to tap. I believe Archie will only get better if he's let to play with Neale and Lyons, but unfortunately we can't carry training wheels ruckman to AFL games when we're winning and especially when we have someone like Martin leading the ruck.

He was drafted having played about a dozen games of Aussie rules.
Mason Cox was drafted in 2014 as well never seen AFL before.
I understand that with Archie and as said the club has faith hence another 2 years.
Played 6 seniors in 2017 and looked ok back then
no seniors 2018
2 games this year.

I hope he comes on.. I can say this with a few players if your playing in the NEAFL it is a few levels under. You should stand out more.
Not break even.
A AFL level player should stand out as a few steps above watch Bastinac play. Or Lewy or Bundy or Cutler etc
N Robbo plays more attacking in the twos then the seniors.

We might feel he is another year or so away and happy to keep developing.
Although does that mean we trade in depth ruck? Seemed we into Ceglar a few weeks ago.

but unfortunately we can't carry training wheels ...
If we stay up there top 4 we need to start carrying a few kids into the games.
Otherwise if injuries strike you go to a player who needs to step up.
Mentioned this before we debut only 1 player we drafted last year. Smith, Berry, Joyce, McFadyen picked before Answerth at 55
When was the last time we did this.. Lots of players got games as we had no best 22 and we swapped around players to see.
Last 2 years the 22 was more settled. So younger kids getting less games..

Wouldn’t think so, would have been in the academy together before Bakes was cut.
Was a lot shorter & lighter when he was cut. Different package now however not sure if he will continue to develop into what we need. Again, the big boys running the show will know. Good engine with good foot skills & a bit of pace.

More
#whispers EXCLUSIVE! The Brisbane Lions are set to launch an audacious play for Crows star RORY LAIRD. Laird, believed to be frustrated with disharmony at Adelaide, has been exploring options and will this week meet with Lions officials.

I had a Guy tell me that 'Rory Laird' was the big fish that was coming to us. Said he had a friend that worked at Fox Footy and got information all the time. He was basically like 'its gonna happen'. This was before there had even been a mention of it anywhere. Same Guy then told me a week out from the GWS game, 'Hodgey is retiring after the game and hawks team mates are flying up for the game'. Given the fact the second bit was spot on well in advance, it gave me more faith in his first whisper, especially as he told me before it started circulating on twitter. I reckon Laird to Brissy has got a really big feel about it.

Got to have a little giggle when reading all the whingers wanting links and proof about rumours of trades WAKE up people that's what's great about this time of year the beams and neale trade rumours started really early in the past I love the rumours whispers and innuendo bring it on.

I have a tweet that I sent to Johnny Ralph asking him to check our Charlie Cameron months before it was a thing. Guess where I heard it... Bigfooty.

Rumors = discussion which eventually either disappears or gets validated, its all part of the process. Only caveat on that is, anyone using 'lock it in' language or quoting fan pages on Facebook, is gonna cop stick. Part of the game.

I don't have a problem with speculation, just that if people are going to post rumours they say what the source is so it's easier for others to judge how likely it is to be complete rubbish. Speculation on rubbish rumours just wastes everyone's time.

Really, this place would be so boring without little tid bits? I don't come here for media reports. I don't want people not sharing things they have heard on the grape vine, just leave it to others to sift through the posts and take what they want.

I heard about Charlie Cameron, Dayne Beams and Lachie Neale on here first, in one way or another, prior to it becoming a thing.

I'm a huge fan of Laird; as others have mentioned, he rarely plays a bad game and to add to that, he can play both the accumulator and lockdown role (definitely isn't slow either). I see him as a huge upgrade on Witho, especially at this point in time.

Worth noting he is also two years younger than Smith. Don't get me wrong, I rate Smith, but I think the additional pick that we will have to give up to acquire Laird will pay greater dividends as we have a serious tilt at the flag.

Really, this place would be so boring without little tid bits? I don't come here for media reports. I don't want people not sharing things they have heard on the grape vine, just leave it to others to sift through the posts and take what they want.

I heard about Charlie Cameron, Dayne Beams and Lachie Neale on here first, in one way or another, prior to it becoming a thing.
Sources don't have to be in the media, you can just say you heard it from a mate or your boss knows someone at a club or whatever. Just providing those vague details provides some context as to the rumour and differentiates it from media sources.

Damo Barrett said Brisbane is chasing another big name player a couple of weeks ago on Triple M. Why can't that be Laird? Haven't heard any other big names being thrown around.

Where there's smoke there's usually fire. And the speculation is fun.

100% agree but be careful I got absolutely crucified for having this exact conversation to the point that some posts were deleted.

No, some posts were deleted because it became a pissing contest between two posters. The deletion was nothing to do with that part of the conversation.

Wouldn’t think so, would have been in the academy together before Bakes was cut.

Both came through Wilston Grange juniors, although Oskar is a couple of years older.

Archie is interesting we signed him up early.. Although games I watched NEAFL I did not think he dominated.
One of those players who has lots going for him just not strung it together.
You see some young rucks like O'Brien (drafted 2015) and Marshall and the Big O from the 2017 draft
Then you think Archie drafted 2014 draft
I really like him and like Rueben Williams I thought speed etc be a asset.
You have to back the club as they know more then we do :)
There is a strong rumour that Archie is moving south and that a deal was struck well before now. Just rumour but.

I had a Guy tell me that 'Rory Laird' was the big fish that was coming to us. Said he had a friend that worked at Fox Footy and got information all the time. He was basically like 'its gonna happen'. This was before there had even been a mention of it anywhere. Same Guy then told me a week out from the GWS game, 'Hodgey is retiring after the game and hawks team mates are flying up for the game'. Given the fact the second bit was spot on well in advance, it gave me more faith in his first whisper, especially as he told me before it started circulating on twitter. I reckon Laird to Brissy has got a really big feel about it.
I have heard similar about Laird however his management are asking big $ which is stalling the process. I trust Noble & Co 100% to get the deal done providing they settle on a fair & reasonable amount. If not, I think they will move on with other opportunities primarily because we can be a little more fussy now with selecting the right player at the right price because they want to come to play not just for $.

dunno, heard Lyons is on pretty big money. You would think he wouldn't considering he was essentially delisted and in and out of the GC team.

Not what I heard and have read.

Lyons was on big coin at GC for his last year. The move to Brisbane meant he took a pay cut per year, but will earn more over the life of the three contract than what his last year at GC would have paid.