2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

This might be a bit mean spirited, but I reckon Michael Whiting needs to be traded from the podcast. It’s so obvious he has a soft spot for the Suns (I’d say he is more fond of the Suns than the lions) and it’s pretty galling sometimes even though he seems like a good bloke. We need someone more one-eyed. Thoughts?

Nope he’s a lions fan. Openly admits it.

IIRC he's a bit of a fan of both, but isn't he officially a supporter of one of the Victorian clubs?

Nope, he's a Lions supporter through and through and implore you not to dig any further to prove me wrong!

IIRC he's a bit of a fan of both, but isn't he officially a supporter of one of the Victorian clubs?

He's said he is a Lions fan on the podcast multiple times. Even exposed other AFL Media reporters as Lions fans. Obviously, as a journalist he can't be as flag-waving as Dom is.

Him being optimistic about the Suns/defending them is to be expected as well - he covers them and has to watch their games, and there is a benefit to him having a good relationship with them.

The podcast loses something when Whiting isn’t there. Dom Fay comes across as a super fan which is great for a fan focused comms piece. But the mix hasn’t been quite right IMO when he’s partnered with a player or club employee. When you have both parties who have an emotional or fiduciary obligation to defend the club, there’s no counter-balance.

This might be a bit mean spirited, but I reckon Michael Whiting needs to be traded from the podcast. It’s so obvious he has a soft spot for the Suns (I’d say he is more fond of the Suns than the lions) and it’s pretty galling sometimes even though he seems like a good bloke. We need someone more one-eyed. Thoughts?
The Suns board don't like him, because they think he doesn't kiss their arses enough, and has a bias towards the Lions (which he does).

Such a weird opinion to have. I get it with Andrew Hamilton, who really seems to have it out for them but Fish is usually pretty measured. He kept on repeating the justifications provided by the Suns as to why they delisted JLyons for way longer than anyone else in the media.

I could understand it if there was evidence of Fish being biased in his reporting (as opposed to his personal views) but I'm yet to see any evidence of it - all it amounted to from some this year seemed to be annoyance that he did a lot of stories on us particularly later in the year.

I don't think I'm criticising the Suns unfairly to suggest that our finals campaign was more newsworthy than the last 10 weeks of their season!

I'm not sure Hammo is anti-Suns - I think he probably is their biggest supporter in the media. He lives down the Coast and I think wants to see them succeed for that reason - so his kids have a team to support locally etc.

Many of us thought Hammo was anti-Lions to his core a few years ago, but in hindsight I think a large portion of what he reported was pretty accurate and we just didn't really want to believe it. I think he cares a great deal about the Suns succeeding and therefore calls out a lot of dysfunction that he sees in their club.

I'm not sure Hammo is anti-Suns - I think he probably is their biggest supporter in the media. He lives down the Coast and I think wants to see them succeed for that reason - so his kids have a team to support locally etc.

Many of us thought Hammo was anti-Lions to his core a few years ago, but in hindsight I think a large portion of what he reported was pretty accurate and we just didn't really want to believe it. I think he cares a great deal about the Suns succeeding and therefore calls out a lot of dysfunction that he sees in their club.
Ah yes... Hammo the Hack thread. It was an embarrassment for this board IMO. Got so much right yet, as you stated, posters went up against him because he wrote articles on the club that the sheep didn't want to read.

He had his moments mate. Remember the time he voted for Simon Black...in a game where he didn’t even play? Pretty revisionist to say he was accurate when many of his stories were off the mark - even in hindsight.

I note you jumped in on the name calling back then. :D

Part of the annoyance with Hammo was his "ability" to stretch an insignificant comment/stat/whatever into a full article. He basically was just ahead of his time, predating the clickbait age.

That said he is a massive Swans fan and not afraid to let people know. Can’t be easy for a Swans fan to like the Lions.

Disagree - he was a genuine hack and was milking our disasters big time. A bandwaggoner journo.

Not sure what sort of truth is in it because I heard nothing about during trade period.
But I just heard on the Radio that Allen Christensen had been put up for trade by the Club and Collingwood were interested but it fell through and he has now ended up re-signing. 🤔

I note you jumped in on the name calling back then. :D

Part of the annoyance with Hammo was his "ability" to stretch an insignificant comment/stat/whatever into a full article. He basically was just ahead of his time, predating the clickbait age.
I don't generally name call... doubt I did but maybe? Anyways, I have no clue what Hammo is even doing these days. Beauty of living outside QLD.

Also I don't think we should package picks up for a higher pick in the first round. Think there will be some genuine sliders at our picks. A few god players with some risks but high upside. Think the first 25 players likely taken in the draft are fairly even outside the top 5 or so.

It's awful that the Suns have pushed us back with the PP's but they genuinely needed some support. The club is a rabble.

Also I don't think we should package picks up for a higher pick in the first round. It's awful that the Suns have pushed us back with the PP's but they genuinely needed some support. The club is a rabble.

Don't think we should be concerned about being charitable to the basket case down the road. We need to be the best team we can be and if that means jumping ahead of the plastics too bad. They can fold or get relocated to to Tassie for all I care.

Also I don't think we should package picks up for a higher pick in the first round. Think there will be some genuine sliders at our picks. A few god players with some risks but high upside. Think the first 25 players likely taken in the draft are fairly even outside the top 5 or so.

It's awful that the Suns have pushed us back with the PP's but they genuinely needed some support. The club is a rabble.
Ablett Snr good or Ablett Jnr good 😆

Not sure what sort of truth is in it because I heard nothing about during trade period.
But I just heard on the Radio that Allen Christensen had been put up for trade by the Club and Collingwood were interested but it fell through and he has now ended up re-signing. 🤔
Makes sense if we’d got Elliot

He might’ve got 2 years with the Pies so hard to know how he feels

The podcast loses something when Whiting isn’t there. Dom Fay comes across as a super fan which is great for a fan focused comms piece. But the mix hasn’t been quite right IMO when he’s partnered with a player or club employee. When you have both parties who have an emotional or fiduciary obligation to defend the club, there’s no counter-balance.

I find them boring. No offense to the presenters intended, both of them are great Guys and mean well. it's just the format and function, you need to be outsiders and not under the clubs wing to be able to provide interesting, critical opinion and analysis. Just feels like an extended version of club interviews which are manufactured to the largest extent.

Don't think we should be concerned about being charitable to the basket case down the road. We need to be the best team we can be and if that means jumping ahead of the plastics too bad. They can fold or get relocated to to Tassie for all I care.
What? They havve already got AFL assistance. I'm not talking about us giving them further assistance in some sort of charity trade.

I think he was a bit unfair in his critique of the suns at times last year. Getting on them for not playing Barlow and not re-signing him in particular. But your overall point is pretty reasonable.

To be fair to Hammo his press conference questions are so incoherent sometimes that I think people read a bit too much into the critique. Listening to the short-lived Northern Exposure pod that he did with Fish was pretty much the same - there was usually a decent point amidst a lot of waffle you had to wade through to get there.

I find them boring. No offense to the presenters intended, both of them are great Guys and mean well. it's just the format and function, you need to be outsiders and not under the clubs wing to be able to provide interesting, critical opinion and analysis. Just feels like an extended version of club interviews which are manufactured to the largest extent.
Not my take at all - love the Lions Roar podcast and in my view Dom asks the difficult questions repeatedly. I reckon he and Fish in combo are fantastic.