2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Anyone know what’s up with Tom Cutler? Article saying could look to come home due to family issue?
What article?

His departure should please the majority on here then, which apparently is ok to bag and do your best to run out of the club, but don’t dare criticise a player when they’re not performing on match day or suggest they should be dropped.:rolleyes:

What article?

His departure should please the majority on here then, which apparently is ok to bag and do your best to run out of the club, but don’t dare criticise a player when they’re not performing on match day or suggest they should be dropped.:rolleyes:
Was A Herald Sun article written by Brendan Goddard (I know🙄) I just read it on Facebook. I do not have the skills to link it unfortunately! Yes well I not going down that path again. We are in the minority but that’s ok. I was harsh during game day thread about him just got annoyed that ppl suggested that meant I hate him. Really don’t I met him couple months ago and he was a legend.

Don't buy the McStay rumours since credible journos just days ago implied he'd be close to signing a new deal.

The article stated that Brisbane ‘insisted it was a formality’. So if the Lions aren’t aware of him wanting to leave, the report has no legs.

I hope it’s right, but it’d be a smart move by McStay to look around just as he’s coming up.

What article?

Playing the victim again I see Dylan.

If you can’t see the difference between how you and a couple of other posters comment on Rayner vs how posters comment on Cutler then you’re lost.

I know I’ll be in the minority, but I wouldn’t lose any sleep if McStay left, as long as we received appropriate compensation.

I believe McStay is not a very smart footballer.

Whether McStay stays or leaves, I believe we need a proper/better full forward.

I’m not giving up on McStay as of yet. He might not reach the heights of an A grade but would be happy with 30-40+ goals in the future. In Hammond article it said we were chasing Brandon Ellis once and hope we would pass and that we would look to move up the draft or bring in another inside mid to assist Neale. Personally I don’t think he would know too much of the inside goings on.

The article stated that Brisbane ‘insisted it was a formality’. So if the Lions aren’t aware of him wanting to leave, the report has no legs.

I hope it’s right, but it’d be a smart move by McStay to look around just as he’s coming up.

Daniel Bradshaw did the same with every contract IIRC

I know I’ll be in the minority, but I wouldn’t lose any sleep if McStay left, as long as we received appropriate compensation.

I believe McStay is not a very smart footballer.

Whether McStay stays or leaves, I believe we need a proper/better full forward.

Absolutely would not want to lose Dan. If we did, I'd hope it's under the assumption the club he goes to is grossly overpaying and we're confident in Fullarton becoming a gun forward.

What article?

The common denominator with both of those player discussions is the way you've saturated this board with your opinions on both and that people have rallied against you for that oversaturation rather than being overly for or against those particular players.

Most people actually thought Cutler was a bit unlucky not to have played more footy this season, but your continued ridiculous overfocus has led those same people to rile against you and by association cutler.

For reference, here's snippets from the article:

ANDREW HAMILTON BREAKS DOWN BRISBANE’S BIGGEST TRADE QUESTIONS

THREE LIONS RIVAL RECRUITERS ARE WATCHING
:
Dan McStay

Closing in on 100 games now and is hitting his straps as a key forward. This season has seen him crash a lot more packs to create opportunities for his small forwards. His goal kicking is a major worry but Brisbane do not want to lose him.

Tom Cutler

A hard running winger who can break lines. Is not the most contested player at Brisbane and is marked hard because of it. Appears to have fallen behind others and may benefit from a change of environment. Is open to a move home because of a family matter.

Lewis Taylor

The former Rising Star winner finds himself at the crossroads. Has been unable to lock down a permanent position this year and with a flood of exciting youngsters coming through the ranks could find his opportunities becoming leaner in coming years.

Take it to the bank- David Noble, Dom Ambrogio and Stephen Conole will execute a bumper trade for us this off season, whether that is an A grade to elite player in or a trade up the draft order involving one of our players and/or future/2019 picks remains to be seen.

Our current 1st 3 selections in this years draft are- 17, 19 and 32.

Maybe a team like the Saints or Bulldogs could be interested eg. our 17 and 19 for 5 or 6, draft points in those scenarios slightly favor the Saints and Dogs.

OR

Tom Cutler + 17 for the Swans pick 7. That values Cutler and pick 31.

Take it to the bank- David Noble, Dom Ambrogio and Stephen Conole will execute a bumper trade for us this off season, whether that is an A grade to elite player in or a trade up the draft order involving one of our players and/or future/2019 picks remains to be seen.

Maybe a team like the Saints or Bulldogs could be interested eg. our 17 and 19 for 5 or 6, draft points in those scenarios slightly favor the Saints and Dogs.

OR

Cuts at 31 would be more than fair value. However, I don’t think a trade like that would happen. I don’t think you downgrade from 7 to 17 for a player who’s been unable to play many senior games. I could very well be wrong though because we know Cutler has talent and some team will probably take that punt.

Not a chance in hell I’d be over paying for Mcstay . Everytime he marks 30m out infront almost guaranteed he will miss . That’s not sign of a class player . Almost disinterested half of the time . If he goes we have guys like skinner/ballendeen /Adams who can play his role .

I can understand the goal kicking part but the disinterested one is way way off. Mcstays has worked really hard this year and has been our major bail out option to make a contest. I don't currently see any of our players in the neafl having the body at the moment to play the role he is. Walker perhaps but he's no guarantee to be here next year anyway. Our young guys just don't have the body for the role he's playing. Perhaps McInerney could up his time in that role and you cover off with other options bit role for role I just don't see a direct replacement for him right now. Our guys are still a few years away

Mate I reckon he has barely been sighted in half the games this year . It’s glimpses nothing more . Yeah he can look like a world beater take a contested grab but then misses 10 metres out . He clearly has a fundamental flaw in his kicking for goal or Just gets nervous when shooting cs t see that changing . I’m not suggesting we kick him out the door but I’d have 10 players who would be more of a priority then him . We shouldn’t and I don’t think noble will overpay for his services .

Skinner is a mountain would love to see what he could do given a chance for a consistent period of time . Long term I think they will want someone like balandeen who can play Ruck /forward and give big O a rest . This of course after Martin retires .

If you wanna see poor goal kicking you should see some of Skinner's efforts in the 2s this year

OR

Honestly can not see a team trading pick 5 or 6 for our first two picks.

The one possible pick trade to move up the draft I could see, is if GWS can't move their first two picks (currently 9 & 15) to move up to pick 4 (to get a pick in before a bid is made on Tom Green), they might trade their Essendon pick 9 for our picks 17 & 19, with a later pick coming back our way. And that's not really trade I'd be inclined to do, unless we're targeting a particular kid who we believe it's worth over paying for.