2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I reckon Adelaide could be negotiated down to 17 and 19. Trading a future first carries a lot of risk, as Carlton were sweating over for most of this season.

A few injuries to key players and it could be a top 5 pick. Would prefer not to trade the 2020 first.

I believe that we are getting one of Laird or Smith so a few hypothetical trades below.
Points only matter for bid matching. They're irrelevant in terms of determining value in a trade unless it's specifically a trade back for bid matching.

Quite happy we have Lairdy exploring his options by all accounts. It’s a curious case.

2 x AA and B/F winner dictates a high worth trade. That said his form dropped off a cliff this year, still stat padded, but offered little. Plenty of reasons mooted for that: player disharmony, 666, being tagged more.

Was only one bad year so could easily be marketed as an outlier. From our perspective we are resetting and he is an absolutely dispensable player.

Given the fairly relaxed nature of this whole thing I suspect we have no issues and recognise Laird as a player that meets a very neat - highest worth/lowest hurt - balance.

Can see this one being a quick and tidy transaction

I understand that, it was just a guideline. It is still what its worth.
No, it isn't what it's worth. Laird is not valued at pick 5-6 in that trade, probably more like pick 11-12. Real life value is different to points value. I reckon in reality Adelaide won't accept the future pick downgrade.

Yeah that’s the flip side to some success with an excellent young side, suddenly those future 1st’s don’t look so good!

I believe that we are getting one of Laird or Smith so a few hypothetical trades below.
Can see the Laird trade being 17,19 & 32 for Laird and 26 meaning Lairds Value is 1828 points being pick 5-6 which I think is a very fair trade. People will say throw a future instead of 19 this year but this years draft in my eyes doesn't have much depth & a future is risky especially if you bust like Melbourne this year.
Brodie Smith trade 19 & 32 for Smith & 26 which equals 803 points so roughly pick 23. I think it is a fair trade. Smith 27 and Crows are crying out for young talent.
For the ultimate trade of getting BOTH, yes both Laird and Smith. Which I personally think we shouldn't do but having some fun thinking of the possibilities.
Brisbane Give- 17, 19, 32 a future 2nd (lets say win flag 36) & Lewy Taylor. Adelaide Give- Smith, Laird, 26 & Future 3rd (Roughly 12th on Ladder = 43).
Basically equals Adelaide get 1950 worth of points (Pick 4-5) & Lewis Taylor for Smith & Laird. Which in my eyes is fair, we get rid of Taylors big contract of up to 500k and we get two players who can push us that next level. We are in our premiership window now. Bit of a big hypothetical but let me know your thoughts and what you'd do differently for either player or which trade you'd do. Thanks guys
Geez I would love both of them in our backline. If we had Rich, Laird and Smith as our halfbacks, we would easily have the best attacking running halfbacks in the comp. The good thing about these two players are that they can play multiple roles.

Exit interviews finish today. Anyone heard/read anything? That will obviously dictate what we are looking to do in this period.

The players we're linked to According to Tom Morris are Laird Greenwood Smith and Ah Chee on He's trade chat
Also those asking about Sam McClure Mention of a Laird possibility was on he's show which is on 6pm weekdays on SEN possible it was just a rumor though

Pretty sure Lyons and the Suns mutually agreed to terminate his contract. He would have been on a fresh start with us.
And what a start it was.

Club made its announcement last year on Thursday 6 September, having played our last game on 26 August. So I reckon it might be a little time yet.

That was nearly a week after the B&F last year which makes sense to wait to make it public until after that time.

Although given the B&F is quite a bit later this year they might not wait as long to announce it.

Did they wait for the ressies season to finish before announcing last year? Both teams finished the season now.

The players we're linked to According to Tom Morris are Laird Greenwood Smith and Ah Chee on He's trade chat
Also those asking about Sam McClure Mention of a Laird possibility was on he's show which is on 6pm weekdays on SEN possible it was just a rumor though
For what its worth he thinks its unlikely Crows will entertain trading Laird. Less sure on Smith though.

Some tidbits from his trade chat...

Q: Hey Tom, any more news on Rory Laird or Brodie Smith potentially going to the lions?
TM: I'm reliably told Rory Laird will not be on the trade table. Brodie Smith is not as certain, but how many players can the Crows afford to lose?

Q: Rory laird to the lions rumours?
TM: I don't think Laird will leave. Doesn't mean the Lions are not chasing him though. They absolutely want some class and pace at half-back.

Q: Any thoughts on Callum Ah Chee and if its a good pick up for the lions if he goes?
TM: Yep I reckon he will get there. It's a handy pickup. They have most bases covered anyway.

Q: Hey Tom according to Damien barrett Brisbane Lions are chasing a big name player any details?
TM: Wouldn't surprise me to see them chasing a Rory Laird type player. Don't think they can get him though. Need speed off half back.

Who else other thand GWS has cap issues and or is moving out of their window

Collingwood signed tom langdon for 2021 last year and whilst injured this year, would still probably be behind roughed and howe in his role. As they fought off presumably good offers from freo and sydney at the time I wonder if there is interest from collingwood in freeing up some cap?

He could play the intercept running option well and would be ready to do a preseason and wants to play regular afl footy

Just spoke to a person close to Laird about him leaving. They basically said its funny hearing all this stuff and i mentioned Brisbane and didn't get anything back. So I am 99% sure that he will be at the crows next season. Turn our attention to Brodie Smith.

He's not a drug cheat mate he had traces of cocaine in his system when he was 20 and has since done everything to get back.

Ever made a bad choice in your life?
You're right it was an insensitivity comment that's why I deleted my post what I should have said I don't think he's the right player for our system