Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter HeHateMe

Draft central has him at 187cm but I reckon he's had a spurt since then- he looks much closer to Logan's height.
He looks 190 minimum... I am really liking him, we are desperate for a big bodied mid.

A mate works for Perth footy club and said is Odriscoll is 190 now. Will get bigger aswell, will be a Cripps size eventually but with a better kick.
The question is can he fill out as well as what Crippa has.

Very exciting prospect though, huge upside.

That’s my main reason for thinking he will go 1.
Quite similar to Luke Jackson.
I would be saying McDonald if he was from SA
He isn’t as athletic as Jackson though.

macdobald looks a great prospect. Very high iq and always stays involved. Not the most athletic but I don’t think it will stop him at afl level.

He isn’t as athletic as Jackson though.

macdobald looks a great prospect. Very high iq and always stays involved. Not the most athletic but I don’t think it will stop him at afl level.
He is a lot cleaner than Jackson below the knees.
I would take McDonald first though

If we do win a few games and end up higher then freo they actually are 200 odd points in deficit this year so will drop back a couple spots .

If we do win a few games and end up higher then freo they actually are 200 odd points in deficit this year so will drop back a couple spots anyway . Gold Coast have a healthy percentage also so I'd say pick 4 is a lock before academy bids.
Gold Coast have a draw so % doesn't matter.

You’d think with GC winning, Freo having that points deficit and North and Swans now going the hard tank, we will finish 15th and get pick 4. That will become 5 or 6 presumably after academy kids.

Not as high as you’d like but it’s encouraging there is no consensus pick 1 or even top 3. Increases odds of Hawks still being able to grab someone who is top 3 on our board.

You’d think with GC winning, Freo having that points deficit and North and Swans now going the hard tank, we will finish 15th and get pick 4. That will become 5 or 6 presumably after academy kids.

Not as high as you’d like but it’s encouraging there is no consensus pick 1 or even top 3. Increases odds of Hawks still being able to grab someone who is top 3 on our board.

Definitely, the only frustration I have this year is that Sydney will get two bites at the top 5 apple.

They created this problem with the academies in the first place. Scrap them all and make the draft relevant again.

Interestingly enough they are changing the rules for the NGA Academies, but it seems not QLD and NSW ones.

It appears from 2021 onwards, any pick used on an NGA kid in the first two rounds of the draft would not be able to be matched.

Given the little we know of U18s this year, are we better off trading our pick 4 (around 2000pts) for Cats picks 11 & 15 (around 2400pts)
Cats get a very good player and we get 2 good players (both Top 15)?

To rort the system clubs will hire assistant or dev coaches knowing they have a star son on the horizon to get in their academies. Case in point is Swans and Blakey. No doubt Swans have recruited well but helps getting access to Heeney, Mills and Blakey for a lot cheaper than what they should have. Heck rules were changed after they were smart enough to trade out and then in for Blakey if my memory serves me correct

Its got to be a strong consideration.. 11 & 15 .. It seems to drop off after 6 ... after NGA picks our pick could be pick 6. If we don't rate that pick 6 a heck of a lot higher than 11 then its a trade worth doing.. Would be a draft night trade you'd expect if it were to be done. Pick 11, 15 & pick 20 off for Kangas pick, that's a nice array of picks to take into the draft.

Given the little we know of U18s this year, are we better off trading our pick 4 (around 2000pts) for Cats picks 11 & 15 (around 2400pts)
I'd argue that with the draft being more unknown than usual that a top 5 pick is more valuable than ever. Theres too much unknown outside the top 5-6. Must keep it.

11 could push back to 17 and 15 back to 25. Then a bid could could for Downie at 24 and we would have stuffed our picks.

Interestingly enough they are changing the rules for the NGA Academies, but it seems not QLD and NSW ones.

It appears from 2021 onwards, any pick used on an NGA kid in the first two rounds of the draft would not be able to be matched.
Yeah right. I’d be ok with that being applied universally but this talent pipeline benefits to four team over the rest of the comp is absurd.

Apparently around half of the top 30 picks are tied to Academy or F/S, those 2 picks could end up picks 20 and 25

No way on earth I’d give the Cats pick 4 for 20 and 25!