List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
I think a fair amount of trouser soiling, dummy spitting, toy throwing goin on after a 2 point loss.

I think there'll definitely be some that will be put up for trade but ffs hold ya powder.
Its how we lost AGAIN after being 40pts? up. it was a shocking second half of footy with many doing the same thing they have done for years NOTHING

So if Marshall had kicked that goal and of the 5 or so other shots that missed if one had gone through and we’d won by about 4 points would it still be that bad?
just a question

So if Marshall had kicked that goal and of the 5 or so other shots that missed if one had gone through and we’d won by about 4 points would it still be that bad?
just a question

To me it was an unacceptable lack of effort after half time. If we'd won by 4 points it would have papered over the cracks for now. We seem to have the same ability to drop the important games. It is so similar to the Good Friday game. Everything we'd wanted sitting in front of us. We just needed the players to go 100%. Instead it's like they do the opposite. It's like some kind of psychological lack of belief. Melbourne had it for a long time. It's like they lose belief after being crap for a long time.

The off field momentum we built in this off season would have taken the backroom staff a massive amount of energy to build. It cost us a lot of money too. The players must have known the consequences of a loss and this really wasn't the time for a listless performance. CV has probably helped us, we had West Coast, Richmond, Melbourne and Geelong after this game. I reckon Melbourne was the only one of those you'd be reasonable confident that we could win. If we lost that game and the others we could have been sitting bottom of the ladder and made a real mess of 2020. They just had to win any way they could.

Probably still more than we got for Bruce and Stuv.

Yeah there is no doubt the Cats & Bulldogs used our circumstances to shaft us, but I believe in karma 'what goes round comes round'. Gallagher, Lethers & Gubby will have long memories there time will come!

just a question
Id say yes , as Gringo said , the effort in the second half was poor to say the least

Dunstan has had 6 years to prove himself and has failed, what we have seen is all we will get not going to improve now
Would be lucky if anyone would give a 3rd round pick for him
Yeah i agree , i dont see why we think a bloke is all of a sudden turn it around , sure it can happen but we seem to have so many blokes in the same boat that haven't improved in 5-6 years at the club

He was serviceable late last year and good in the preseason but horrific in the North game. I still have hope he'll be a back up mid but doubt he's going to become an A grade player any time soon. Mc Evoy got us Savage, Acres and Dunny, I think I'm grasping at something positive from the deal hoping that he'll at least be a best 25 player.

So Gill reckons the draft will go ahead, all be it possibly in January.

It'll be interesting to see what the new list rules will be. We may want to keep all our rookies, and shifting 4 of them on to the main list would mean we don't need to draft anyone this year at all.

I think we're looking well set up for a final list trim.
The guys to go in the next 2 years are fairly obvious at this point IMO,
Joyce
Dmac
Ryder
Brown
Abbott
Gears,
and
Daults
Philips
Mayo
Kent
Austin/Clav
Sav/Jimmy
Lonie
Sincs
Connolly
Bell,
raffling off for the rest.
There's gonna be some unlucky boys find their careers are over after this.
Bit harsh on a few Scrappy IMO , Id keep Abbott out your first group as back up , Daults stays as he has pace which we need , Mayo stays as he has only been in the door 5 mins and has a skill we need , he can kick and is only 20 yo, Id keep one of Ausin or Clav, id hope it was Clav as he is still young and Austin cant get on the park . Bell is just a baby but to me looks like he has a fair bit of skill , just a colt who needs time

I feel exactly the same Risky, but to go through the exercise of nominating 9 players to delist makes for some hard decisions, and that's without drafting or recruiting a single new player.

Adding 3 new arrivals this year and next, makes 15 to remove from the current list.
The easy ones are
Gears
Brown
Joyce
Dmac
Ryder
but after that you're looking at guys who you'd like to give a chance to.

To me it was an unacceptable lack of effort after half time. If we'd won by 4 points it would have papered over the cracks for now. We seem to have the same ability to drop the important games. It is so similar to the Good Friday game. Everything we'd wanted sitting in front of us. We just needed the players to go 100%. Instead it's like they do the opposite. It's like some kind of psychological lack of belief. Melbourne had it for a long time. It's like they lose belief after being crap for a long time.

The off field momentum we built in this off season would have taken the backroom staff a massive amount of energy to build. It cost us a lot of money too. The players must have known the consequences of a loss and this really wasn't the time for a listless performance. CV has probably helped us, we had West Coast, Richmond, Melbourne and Geelong after this game. I reckon Melbourne was the only one of those you'd be reasonable confident that we could win. If we lost that game and the others we could have been sitting bottom of the ladder and made a real mess of 2020. They just had to win any way they could.
Picked a lousy top heavy side and ran out of legs.

Missed Sinclair’s run and battle was very stiff, billing’s is a forward imo the fact that he got the yips doesn’t change that. He finds a lot of the ball at h/f and given some encouragement to just play his game will eventually come good kicking for goal. We still lack genuine mids and I’m sorry but with our lack of skill with the ball we just can’t loose players like Sinclair and billing’s.

Kent, dunstan and quite a few more despite effort blah blah just aren’t up to the standard that wins you games of AFL football. Now I can add a full rebuild at the patriots and Red Sox my life is complete, let’s see who bounces back first I’ll bet it’s not the saints.

What floored me after that ghost game in round one was how little had changed when north turned up the heat.

Picked a lousy top heavy side and ran out of legs.

Missed Sinclair’s run and battle was very stiff, billing’s is a forward imo the fact that he got the yips doesn’t change that. He finds a lot of the ball at h/f and given some encouragement to just play his game will eventually come good kicking for goal. We still lack genuine mids and I’m sorry but with our lack of skill with the ball we just can’t loose players like Sinclair and billing’s.

Kent, dunstan and quite a few more despite effort blah blah just aren’t up to the standard that wins you games of AFL football. Now I can add a full rebuild at the patriots and Red Sox my life is complete, let’s see who bounces back first I’ll bet it’s not the saints.

What floored me after that ghost game in round one was how little had changed when north turned up the heat.
Why would you say it was a top heavy side , it looks no bigger than we have had in the past apart from the two rucks , and considering we added Jones and Hill to give us more run , IMO not sure Sincs would have made any difference , i think he is near gone end of year but do agree Billings is a forward same as Gresh IMO , what was it two years ago that if the pair of them had kicked straight it would have made a lot of difference

B: Geary, Wilkie, Howard
HB: Long, Clark, Roberton
C: Billings, Jones, Hill
HF: Lonie, King, Hannebery
F: Butler, Ryder, Membrey
R: Marshall, Steele, Gresham
INT: Kent, Ross, Dunstan, Paton

EMG: Coffield, Battle, Marsh, Sinclair

Why would you say it was a top heavy side , it looks no bigger than we have had in the past apart from the two rucks , and considering we added Jones and Hill to give us more run , IMO not sure Sincs would have made any difference , i think he is near gone end of year but do agree Billings is a forward same as Gresh IMO , what was it two years ago that if the pair of them had kicked straight it would have made a lot of difference

B: Geary, Wilkie, Howard
HB: Long, Clark, Roberton
C: Billings, Jones, Hill
HF: Lonie, King, Hannebery
F: Butler, Ryder, Membrey
R: Marshall, Steele, Gresham
INT: Kent, Ross, Dunstan, Paton

EMG: Coffield, Battle, Marsh, Sinclair
King is a monster as is Howard, quick straight line speed is very different from agility but as bookends I’m not that worried.

I should have said we looked slow and out of gas in the second half. I though we really stopped and Sinclair who really covers the ground was missed. He’s another guy like billing’s who has good skills but has been stuffed around way too much. I want him used in the way they apparently had ear marked for him according to someone on here they wanted to get the ball into his hands a lot more to use his skills. Along came the preseason matches and it has just more of the same in terms of his role. Gresham as a small forward is about as good as it gets, billing’s as a half forward is as good as it gets.

Why not start with what we have which by the way is a great way of highlighting what we don’t. We need quality mids dunstan would never make my side and Paton has shown a bit but isn’t in my best 22 either. Lonie I’m still not sold on and butler did very little I’m not sure why he’s a walk up start. This stuff of oh he came from Richmond smacks of the Carlton and hawthorn cast offs, good teams don’t generally let best 22 players walk for peanuts.

I think if I had to pick a side I’d go.

Geary Howard wilkie

Clark Carlisle roberton

Sinclair Hannebery hill

Billing’s battle gresham

Lonie king membrey

Marshall Ross jones

Ryder butler long Steele

So no dunstan, Paton, Kent and battle, Sinclair and Carlisle in.

King is a monster as is Howard, quick straight line speed is very different from agility but as bookends I’m not that worried.

I should have said we looked slow and out of gas in the second half. I though we really stopped and Sinclair who really covers the ground was missed. He’s another guy like billing’s who has good skills but has been stuffed around way too much. I want him used in the way they apparently had ear marked for him according to someone on here they wanted to get the ball into his hands a lot more to use his skills. Along came the preseason matches and it has just more of the same in terms of his role. Gresham as a small forward is about as good as it gets, billing’s as a half forward is as good as it gets.

Why not start with what we have which by the way is a great way of highlighting what we don’t. We need quality mids dunstan would never make my side and Paton has shown a bit but isn’t in my best 22 either. Lonie I’m still not sold on and butler did very little I’m not sure why he’s a walk up start. This stuff of oh he came from Richmond smacks of the Carlton and hawthorn cast offs, good teams don’t generally let best 22 players walk for peanuts.

Geary Howard wilkie

Clark Carlisle roberton

Sinclair Hannebery hill

Billing’s battle gresham

Lonie king membrey

Marshall Ross jones

Ryder butler long Steele

Your spot on about us needing Mids , not just Mids but good ones , Bytel may make it but we need someone with some grunt and speed , maybe Byrnes is going to be a Gun , well lets hope so .
I still have major concerns with Hanners , i dont think we will ever see him back to anywhere near his form of say 4 years ago but in saying that Sydney have always had a pretty good midfield so it probably made him look better that he really was ?
Butler maybe a premiership player but IMO that means jack -------. God Robert Eddy could have been a premiership player if that bounce went the other way.

Your spot on about us needing Mids , not just Mids but good ones , Bytel may make it but we need someone with some grunt and speed , maybe Byrnes is going to be a Gun , well lets hope so .
I still have major concerns with Hanners , i dont think we will ever see him back to anywhere near his form of say 4 years ago but in saying that Sydney have always had a pretty good midfield so it probably made him look better that he really was ?
Butler maybe a premiership play but IMO that means jack -------. God Robert Eddy could have been a premiership player if that bounce went the other way.
Couldn’t agree more, I’d pick a different side but I’ve tempered mine with the reality that some guys will be picked despite form or team balance.

In a game that’s often described as a midfielders game we’ve been obsessed with just about everything other than true elite mids and it really shows. I’m not sure how much value we’ll get out of Hannebery or Ryder for that matter, once upon a time they’d have been first picked but those days are long gone. I’d be checking in on Caldwell with a view of picking him up at a reasonable price and if we’re looking at anyone other than a mid as a pick or trade with our first then we’re just plain crazy.

We need genuine inside/outside A grade mids with pace and A grade disposal, clark looks like a hit for mine but they just won’t play him as a mid, it’s mind boggling stuff imo.

Couldn’t agree more, I’d pick a different side but I’ve tempered mine with the reality that some guys will be picked despite form or team balance.

In a game that’s often described as a midfielders game we’ve been obsessed with just about everything other than true elite mids and it really shows. I’m not sure how much value we’ll get out of Hannebery or Ryder for that matter, once upon a time they’d have been first picked but those days are long gone. I’d be checking in on Caldwell with a view of picking him up at a reasonable price and if we’re looking at anyone other than a mid as a pick or trade with our first then we’re just plain crazy.

We need genuine inside/outside A grade mids with pace and A grade disposal, clark looks like a hit for mine but they just won’t play him as a mid, it’s mind boggling stuff imo.

Last year was early days.
I expected him to play more midfield this year.
WTF Hasn't he played midfield since march!!!!!!!!

just a question
And for how many years have we been saying if we had kicked straight ?

Don’t forget North were 3 men down
It was a shocking 2nd half

Geary Howard wilkie

Clark Carlisle roberton

Sinclair Hannebery hill

Billing’s battle gresham

Lonie king membrey

Marshall Ross jones

Ryder butler long Steele

Thats pretty close to my best 22 with JB playing forward. But I'd also omit Ryder since Battle is playing and I prefer Marshall rucking most of the game, and then play either of Webster/Paton/Coffield.

The most important thing for Butler was 6 of his 8 tackles inside 50. We need small forwards who bring the pressure consistently since thats something we've lacked.

Geary Howard wilkie

Clark Carlisle roberton

Sinclair Hannebery hill

Billing’s battle gresham

Lonie king membrey

Marshall Ross jones

Ryder butler long Steele

That's not a bad side.
In an ideal world Ryder and Gears wouldn't be there, opening the door for Paton/Coff and Dunny/Bytel.

And before P66 says so, yes l know that won't happen.

Lonie and Butler are in competition to keep Parker out, so that's not a bad situation. Keeps them all keen.

Just my opinion but we'd be looking at Caldwell and Williams along with 15 other teams.

Papley a strong chance trade wise if we have the SC room..