List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

According to guesSEN Eddy & Blues contract talks are encouraging.

Best bit of the article being the warm feeling I get when reading that Adelaide are generously helping us out with some of his salary this year

They are still paying 1/3rd of his salary.

I think we need to replicate what the Dogs have done with Tim English with TDK.. He has shown enough to indicate he will be our #1 ruck moving forward and we need to take a few bad performances knowing that getting games into him will bring us closer to a flag. Pittonet is a great back up option to cover for injury.. Playing them both in the same side does not work..

Where does this leave Kruezar?? Is he happy to be a 3rd choice ruck? He should look for a new home, the Cats might be a good option for him, send him with our blessing.
Seriously the dogs ..

If Kreuzer is fit by the end of the year I'd give him another year. He can help develop TDK and Pitto and is a good back-up.

The other 3 should go.

Krooz is finished, like our older players, they may play 1 good game in 4. We need to stop holding onto the past, enough now

We are only one quality mid away from playing finals next year, as most of our improvement will come from within

Dow has always concerned me, but will improve, it'smid or bust. LOB isn't an inside mid, he will add to our wings where he will be used as a 2 way runner/finisher

Where our greatest improvement will come, will be the likes of Kemp, Stocker, Philp, Ramsay, Honey, they all have point of difference

SPS needs to go back to the middle now

Fisher needs to be used in a Gresham type role
Mate if our point of difference is a bunch of unproven first year players we clutching -- we have some issues that need addressing -- especially our ability to score when dominating and opposition able to walk through the centre of ground on rebound and score -- it's mostly cattle problem.. our older players are Now role players At best not winners and we don't have enough winners to cover the deficiencies .. This year is a turning point for us -- let's hope the right decisions are made

One quality mid away from playing finals, bookmark it

I'm not dealing in baseless assumptions and rumours. Dow is a contracted, required player. Until that changes, then that's how its staying. Your shifting the goalposts as usual Elmer. One minute we should trade dow, when that is challenged all of a sudden he wants to be traded because some nuffy on a football forum said he did....

If it was up to me, I would still trade him, but I cannot see it happening for reasons as you have stated above.

In my humble opinion only, I do not see it likely he will be the player we all thought he would be, and/or not the type of future star you should be able to get at pick #3 in the draft.

Yes I get that he is only 20 and hasn't had a fair crack in the seniors this year, but his form last year was also not that great.

I’m warming to the idea of Jack Graham. I don’t particularly rate him as a footballer, I’m sure that grand final was more of an outlier than a sign of what’s to come, but I cannot knock his defensive pressure. I reckon we need an extra tackling midfielder to go with Setters and Ed.

Parfitt is a similar type with a far more rounded game. I wonder what it’d take to get him over?

Murphy hasnt been that bad this year. Murphy is not a contested beast. He is an outside player whose role is to provide a link between defence and attack. He is the best kick inside 50.
Best kick inside 50? Rubbish. He has kicked more half volleys than seen at Wimbledon.

If it was up to me, I would still trade him, but I cannot see it happening for reasons as you have stated above.

In my humble opinion only, I do not see it likely he will be the player we all thought he would be, and/or not the type of future star you should be able to get at pick #3 in the draft.

Yes I get that he is only 20 and hasn't had a fair crack in the seniors this year, but his form last year was also not that great.

Elmer I am a little confused

In the game day thread, you made a statement about supporters bagging Dow, now you are on a missin to trade him

What's changed?

Rubbish. How about we try and win as many bloody games as we can? I'm sick of this sh*t losing culture. Let's put our best team on the park every week, irrespective if it is round 1 or 17 and try and win. That's what develops a clubs culture...winning. if those blokes in the 2s aren't happy that they aren't being gifted games for the sake of development then suck it up. Turn up for the first day of preseason and smash. The. Door. Down. Come back fitter, stronger and more determined than ever.
Rubbish. Murphy and Simmo wont be part of our finals tilt so why invest in them? There is no VFL competition for our kids to earn their stripes hence our fringe players are left languishing playing mickey mouse games. Having Essendon supplement our playing list with five of their players takes the cake. Dow was not switched on from the start. The pace of the game compared to what he was accustomed to may have had something to do with it. In the absence of a VFL comp this year we need to manage our developing list differently.

Just because he probably won’t be the Dangerfield we expected doesn’t mean he won’t be a decent mid. I’m sure the club didn’t draft him with an eye for 2020. Next in line LDU has played 2 decent games if that and North fans haven’t written him off. I hate how some of our supporters turn so quickly.

His form last year suffered because he was shoved to a forward flank which is against all of his instincts. He wants to be the first hands on it and to burst from the contest, not leading up at the ball and turning on a dime.

Trading Dow would be admitting defeat, for what would probably be a mid second rounder at best, where we might find a player with half the potential as him. No thank you.

Love your faith mate -- which mid is coming with his Super suit ..

Williams will do, let's start there

In all seriousness, I am confident the likes of Setters, Walsh, Fisher, SPS, will continue to improve. Dow and LOB too

Stocker has all the traits and Kemp is on another level again

Philp has strong AFL qualities

Unproven, sure, but the likes of Murphy aren't going to improve, so the transition will come quickly now

I think Simmo & Ed should stay. Simmo makes mistakes but still finds the footy and inspires those around him.

Murph finds the footy but i think he's bad for the development of guys like Dow, Cunningham, LOB etc.
Simmo is just getting started, sunz out guns out. Finally filling out, will be a beast;)

One quality mid away from playing finals, bookmark it
This list will play finals next year regardless.. but we are 1 more elite mid away from having a list capable of challenging r a flag..

a midfield of Cripps, Walsh, Setterfield & let’s say Josh Kelly.. is a serious proposition... dare I say a midfield capable of winning a premiership.

Interesting to hear on the latest AFL exchange podcast Riley beveridge said he had a convo with someone at carlton. Apparntly we see him more as a 3rd tall intercept defender type rather than mid. Thoughts?

Elmer I am a little confused

In the game day thread, you made a statement about supporters bagging Dow, now you are on a missin to trade him

What's changed?

Technically, I am not bagging Dow per se (well I did make one unfortunate remark about his courage which I fully regret, but I am not convinced it will work out for him at this club (but I have been wrong before)

But as others keep telling me, I very much doubt the club is going to trade him anyway, so I dare say it's a moot point.

McGrath out of contract.
Very interesting on the AFL exchange podcast Riley Bev said hed spoken to blues officials about Kemp and they surprisingly see him as a line breaking 3rd tall intercept defender. Really throws the team balance out of whack even thinking about it. Maybe thats why they want Marchy playing wing?
Lets just worry about getting Marchy back on the part let alone where we should play him

Very interesting on the AFL exchange podcast Riley Bev said hed spoken to blues officials about Kemp and they surprisingly see him as a line breaking 3rd tall intercept defender. Really throws the team balance out of whack even thinking about it. Maybe thats why they want Marchy playing wing?
Does Kemp have the pace to be line-breaking? Or are we more talking about his kicking prowess?

Krooz is finished, like our older players, they may play 1 good game in 4. We need to stop holding onto the past, enough now

It's not holding onto the past, we need more than 2 rucks.
I think Kreuzer will provide better support and development for TDK and Pitto than another option.

And the other options are, we trade for a gun no.1 ruck ahead of the other two, we bring in a mature ruck who's happy to be our 3rd option, or we draft a rookie (who would not be adequate backup) for Pitto and a 22 year old TDK.

You could say Levi could be our support, but that's still not enough.

It's not holding onto the past, we need more than 2 rucks.
I think Kreuzer will provide better support and development for TDK and Pitto than another option.

And the other options are, we trade for a gun no.1 ruck ahead of the other two, we bring in a mature ruck who's happy to be our 3rd option, or we draft a rookie (who would not be adequate backup) for Pitto and a 22 year old TDK.

You could say Levi could be our support, but that's still not enough.

TDK, Pitto, Levi, maybe with H doing some chop out in the forward line

Yes, I prefer to have one more, and you can find cheaper, adequate options everywhere rather than holding onto MK

An Archie Smith, Max Lynch, Darcy Fort, all decent backups or draft a kid for the future. A latish pick, kid my the name of Micheal Mallard