List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

I don’t want to get in to a worm hole of what player is worth what as it’s purely subjective and won’t agree. I can only summarise what I read or heard from the club and thats we have excess cap $$$ to spend this year. I don’t know how much but it sounded like it was something that would actually help and not just a few dollars.

Time will tell, I’m not 100% on the details but I think you can pay 5% under each year for a 3 year period and then have to use banked funds, so 15% is a lot. If anyone knows the finer details, please add.
According to The Age (article link below), if you spend under the cap for two consecutive seasons (which we did in 2018 and 2019), you can spend 105% of the cap in the third season (which we are doing this year).

We’ve front loaded a few contracts (most notably Jack Martin) which are being paid at a higher rate this year to take advantage of the additional cap space we’ve been afforded this year. This means that next year we go back to 100% of the cap but we will have more space to acquire new players because the guys with front loaded contracts (such as Martin) will be paid proportionately much less next year than this year.

Long story short, we’ve got the cap space and flexibility to go big game hunting this offseason.

Link: https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp...5-per-cent-of-salary-cap-20200303-p546km.html

Where is everyone seeing Kemp in all of this? I think he could be anything, but not sure where he slots in. I havent seen him mentioned at all in any of this discussion about the kids moving forward.

He's going to take some time to get right. He won't have played footy for almost 2 years when he finally gets back out there. We must be patient with this kid.

I'm hardly a draft watcher but my understanding is he's pretty quick off the mark.

EDIT:
Salivate away...
Every time I see him or read about him I just think Matthew Richardson style wingman like he did in 2007.

Walsh on one wing, Kemp on the other. LOB rotating with them once he’s developed like Newnes is at the moment.

Found this and thought it was interesting and would add a bit of debate on here.

The article is basically about us trading Cripps to freo for Serong and freo's first pick probably pick 5. Then using pick 5 to try and get Papley. Plus add Williams as a free agent.

For the record I'm a NO for trading Cripps but I thought it was an interesting article.

Wing. Pace, height, run and well - everything we need there!!!!!
His draft profile listed two areas of improvement; endurance and kicking at high speed. They seem pretty essential for a winger.

I still reckon starts at hbf, can move forward if need be, and over the course of a year or so 'graduates' to inside mid.

Found this and thought it was interesting and would add a bit of debate on here.

The article is basically about us trading Cripps to freo for Serong and freo's first pick probably pick 5. Then using pick 5 to try and get Papley. Plus add Williams as a free agent.

For the record I'm a NO for trading Cripps but I thought it was an interesting article.
Pass.

If we really want Williams we just have to sell him on the club and propose the right (not necessarily biggest/best) offer. Then if we're going to chase Papley we do that with our first as a starting point.

Don't understand how dramatically weakening our midfield strengthens us. Swapping 195cm Cripps for 178cm Serong who would maybe be surrounded by Ed, Setterfield, Walsh and Dow/Murph/Cuningham/O'Brien/Fish/etc leaves us very light. We'd probably be forced to play Jack or Kennedy out of necessity and needing a bigger body in there.

Plus, he's our ******* captain, clearly bleeds blue and I'm sure it'd rip the soul out of the joint.

Trading Cripps... Wouldnt matter how many draft picks are involved.... Only way I would entertain it as a trade would be if it involved Matt Rowell coming back our way and then would need a fair bit of icing ontop of Rowell. Serong lol

LOB struggling to get a game in his 3rd season
Dows form up and down currently not in the side in his 3rd season
Marchbank regarded best 22, still unsure of his best position
Zac Fisher, currently not best 22
Setterfield only just finding his feet at AFL level in his 4th season
SOS currently injured, possible not best 22
Charlie currently injured, top player when available.

Add to that, a trade period where I and most, expect us to add 1-3 quality players.

Now, what makes anyone certain Kemp will be playing much at all? If he does and will play half back, why would Marchbank be a Blue in 2021, also if Kemp is a future mid and SOS is a utility, why would both Stocker and Kennedy be a Blue in 2021?

Surely it’s not responsible to have players so far down the pecking order with fair compensation, playing VFL

Add to that, a trade period where I and most, expect us to add 1-3 quality players.

Now, what makes anyone certain Kemp will be playing much at all? If he does and will play half back, why would Marchbank be a Blue in 2021, also if Kemp is a future mid and SOS is a utility, why would both Stocker and Kennedy be a Blue in 2021?

Surely it’s not responsible to have players so far down the pecking order with fair compensation, playing VFL

SOS not best 22.. Not sure what more he needs to do to show his worth to our side. He is pivitol, his aggression and 1% are everything we need in our side and are clearly being missed ATM.. Would love for him to be a better set shot for goal, but if he sorted that out he would average 1-1.5 goals a game and be easily best 22.

This year is hard to judge. There's no real reserves footy for players to work into the seniors, and when there is it's often reduced numbers which doesn't help some players like O'Brien who's a winger playing games with no wings. He's learning to play hbf when wing isn't an option so this may end up good for him and us in the long run.

Dow played the one game he's been deemed fit this year. I would guess he's a chance to return to the senior side soon too, especially if we want some pace in the middle. Marchbank too tends to play when he's fit, although there's been less opportunities to see that under Teague. Under Bolts he pretty much always played a bit loose as an intercepter, kind of 3rd tall. Haynes is the blueprint of what I'd love to see from Caleb.

Fisher coming back from that ankle, surely he'll be back this week with Cuningham missing a week. Wouldn't surprise me if he didn't leave the team for the rest of the year.

Setters is doing alright considering he hasn't hit 30 games yet. He had a bit of a down game last week but had been good for the previous month. Loves a tackle so can stay involved even if he's not getting as much ball on a particular night.

Charlie full forward once he's back. Simples.

Is SOS actually a utility at AFL level? Or is he a 'tweener not-a-tall-not-a-small forward who's had a brilliant half in the middle tagging Fyfe out of the game. I seem to remember him having a game down back maybe a year or two ago now too?

I like him, but we haven't really seen much more than at in the seniors. I'm not going to look at stats here, Jack's input feels more about the intangibles - he's a scrapper, pressures, get's a nice tap to move the ball on, etc - but he might be in the position where he's caught a few spots back in line across multiple positions. Of course, that also makes him a great clubman, and a real asset on a list as 22nd or 23rd man.

More than 22 players will get games next year. I'd guess Kemp plays heaps and he'll be craving game time after his year off, running for the magoos. Kennedy may be a notch down in the pecking order, but if *touch wood* Cripps goes down then we might need his frame in the middle alongside (for arguments sake) Ed, Setters, Walsh, Fish & Dow. I think Stocker has played a bit more fwd/mid in the reserves this year so maybe he works his way into the team in that kind of role.

We need these guys lining up for spots in the senior 22 and not just for the sake of Thy's D thread...

If Cripps did ever leave it would be to west coast because a) he’s talked about going to the eagles as an option b) his cousin mainwaring played for them c) he grew up barracking for them d) his cousin Jamie plays for them right now

He’s not from Perth so for him it’s not about going home per se - it would be more about west coast as a club

Having said that I don’t think he will leave unless we have a shocking 2021 or fall apart the next two months

SOS not best 22.. Not sure what more he needs to do to show his worth to our side. He is pivitol, his aggression and 1% are everything we need in our side and are clearly being missed ATM.. Would love for him to be a better set shot for goal, but if he sorted that out he would average 1-1.5 goals a game and be easily best 22.

My point with the above is that, lots of people have all of these inclusions but never really mention who goes out. Ask yourself, who goes out for Charlie, then who goes out for Marchbank, who goes out for Kemp and who goes out for SOS?

We are slow and have a tall on ball brigade, we currently, if fit are playing two KPF and Gov, if SOS is fit, who does he replace? With our current side, I would hate to think we would drop a running/faster player, which would further slow us down.

Im just not sure where he fits.

I like Jack... but do his aggression and effort stand out so much just due to the fact that our other youngsters don't show much by comparison?

This year is hard to judge. There's no real reserves footy for players to work into the seniors, and when there is it's often reduced numbers which doesn't help some players like O'Brien who's a winger playing games with no wings. He's learning to play hbf when wing isn't an option so this may end up good for him and us in the long run.

Dow played the one game he's been deemed fit this year. I would guess he's a chance to return to the senior side soon too, especially if we want some pace in the middle. Marchbank too tends to play when he's fit, although there's been less opportunities to see that under Teague. Under Bolts he pretty much always played a bit loose as an intercepter, kind of 3rd tall. Haynes is the blueprint of what I'd love to see from Caleb.

Fisher coming back from that ankle, surely he'll be back this week with Cuningham missing a week. Wouldn't surprise me if he didn't leave the team for the rest of the year.

Setters is doing alright considering he hasn't hit 30 games yet. He had a bit of a down game last week but had been good for the previous month. Loves a tackle so can stay involved even if he's not getting as much ball on a particular night.

Charlie full forward once he's back. Simples.

Is SOS actually a utility at AFL level? Or is he a 'tweener not-a-tall-not-a-small forward who's had a brilliant half in the middle tagging Fyfe out of the game. I seem to remember him having a game down back maybe a year or two ago now too?

I like him, but we haven't really seen much more than at in the seniors. I'm not going to look at stats here, Jack's input feels more about the intangibles - he's a scrapper, pressures, get's a nice tap to move the ball on, etc - but he might be in the position where he's caught a few spots back in line across multiple positions. Of course, that also makes him a great clubman, and a real asset on a list as 22nd or 23rd man.

More than 22 players will get games next year. I'd guess Kemp plays heaps and he'll be craving game time after his year off, running for the magoos. Kennedy may be a notch down in the pecking order, but if *touch wood* Cripps goes down then we might need his frame in the middle alongside (for arguments sake) Ed, Setters, Walsh, Fish & Dow. I think Stocker has played a bit more fwd/mid in the reserves this year so maybe he works his way into the team in that kind of role.

We need these guys lining up for spots in the senior 22 and not just for the sake of Thy's D thread...

All good points, let’s just say we add a Williams, a Kelly, a Papley or another two guys who are best 10 players, it pushes a lot of these guys, that everyone is saying should be playing, well down the pecking order. I don’t want to see us having guys like LOB not part of the side all year in 2021, when if that’s what the coaches were thinking, just trade him.

Now it doesn’t have to be LoB, insert any name. If we recruited a gun mid, and we have Kemp, Dow and heaps of other kids, some will become surplus to requirements and they should be traded earlier rather than later.

I doubt the club would ever consider trading Cripps. Would tear the soul out of the footy club, and it could do untold damage.