2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

Clearly the Giants haven't worked it out yet. Don't they know that Sauce thrives on constant workload? That's why you have to play him week after week, no matter how he performs.
Sheesh. Such amateurs over there...

Not just that, he needs huge workload as well. So he's got to ruck the full length and breadth of the ground. Breathers only on the bench for a couple of minutes each quarter. No value in catching a breath in the defensive zone and letting a key forward ruck the goal square contests. Gotta get to them too and then when the rebound occurs just start jogging so you can get to the next ruck contest when it occurs. What else could a ruckman be doing?

Phil hasn't played alongside Sauce for 8 years, he was a star back then.
Yes and you would think Davis would have enough common sense to know that 8 years is a long time. If it's true that he recommended Sauce to GWS based on his time at the Crows, it indicates pretty poor judgement imo.

Then again, this is why you employ recruiters and I don't know why Phil would have input into those kind of decisions in the first place.

Yes and you would think Davis would have enough common sense to know that 8 years is a long time. If it's true that he recommended Sauce to GWS based on his time at the Crows, it indicates pretty poor judgement imo.

Then again, this is why you employ recruiters and I don't know why Phil would have input into those kind of decisions in the first place.

The only thing that makes sense is that Sauce was the only ruckman willing to move there to back up Mumford. They knew they needed support and maybe Sauce the best of a very bad bunch. But 2 years? That's unfathomable. Might be 1 with a trigger and Sauce delusional enough to believe it's in the bag.

I think last year's GF shows Phil doesn't have great judgement. Was a selfish decision to play when he was clearly not fit to play.

There's a bit of that going around. Jenkins only got a contract at Geelong because he is Dangerfield's mate. Wonder if that means they'll give up something half decent for Lynch.

JJ would be ok at Geelong though. They paid not much for him, we're covering some of his salary and they're in a window with a decent midfield ahead of him. Even if he doesn't play a game because Hawkins has kept fit and in form for 2 years, it's not a bad move by them. If they'd paid a first, downgraded another to a second and paid $600k x 4 years, then it would a **** up of massive proportions. But good clubs don't make those kinds of decisions.

There's a bit of that going around. Jenkins only got a contract at Geelong because he is Dangerfield's mate. Wonder if that means they'll give up something half decent for Lynch.

You can't honestly believe that.

No club is going to spend cap space for that.

Particularly one like Geelong that has invested so many resources in trying to steal a premiership NOW at the expense of any sort of longevity.

what utter drivel.

Same as the idea GWS recruited Sauce because of Davis.

JJ would be ok at Geelong though. They paid not much for him, we're covering some of his salary and they're in a window with a decent midfield ahead of him. Even if he doesn't play a game because Hawkins has kept fit and in form for 2 years, it's not a bad move by them. If they'd paid a first, downgraded another to a second and paid $600k x 4 years, then it would a fu** up of massive proportions. But good clubs don't make those kinds of decisions.

it can't be Hawkins that would keep JJ out. JJ doesn't have the tools to be a #1 forward, but he can do #2 pretty ok.

You can't honestly believe that.

No club is going to spend cap space for that.

Particularly one like Geelong that has invested so many resources in trying to steal a premiership NOW at the expense of any sort of longevity.

what utter drivel.

Same as the idea GWS recruited Sauce because of Davis.
Can and do. Of course clubs are going to consult some of their most senior players when recruiting their former team mates. And look how well its gone. Jacobs dropped for a dinosaur, and Jenkins can't get in the extended squad with Stanley injured.

I'm not saying they won't have a chat to them. but if you expect that conversation is worth more than about 10% of the factors weighed into the recruiting situation you're really underestimating the amount of diligence that goes into these processes. We're talking about recruiting people for the most elite domestic sporting competition in the nation, not helping your mate get a job at maccas.

And on the other hand, Dean Laidley, Mark Thompson, etc.

You give footy clubs a bit too much credit.

But gee, Keath was good again last night...earning about as much as Charlie Dixon is a kick

Collingwood have kept better opponents than us to an average of 35 points so far

We may not kick a goal against them