2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

Took our money for over a decade on that particular Queensland property without a single claim and then gave us an unbelievably hard time to get any recompense for a legitimate claim and then dropped us like a rock straight after. And that was the case with all the other property owners in our street that also had the misfortune to have their insurance with them.
In comparison, a friends father who has been with RACQ for Over 50 years, lost his house in 74 floods...and racq paid out. Lost same house in 2011 floods, and they paid out again. Meanwhile, everyone else in the same street had massive fights with their insurers.

Carro went hard at Eddie, like she would have if it was Crows player asked Eddie if he should be stripped of the VC title and if Collingwood were gonna give him a ban too.

Eddie reckons he's not a scotch drinker but had a few and didn't realise how much they'd affect him.

If he was drunk and shirtless why didn't the Police arrest him for drunk and disorderly? If he wasn't an AFL player do reckon he would have got driven home?
Not all police are aholes. They will usually only arrest if you are significantly 'disorderly' ie abusive, starting fights, being a nuisance.

If you are just blind and they think there is a safety issue it is not unusual that they will drop you somewhere safe. If so drunk you can't give an address, they may take you in, but usually let you sleep it off then do the walk of shame in the morning.

So I've heard.

Cops do drive people home if they appear to be drunk and struggling to walk straight, know it from first hand experience. They’re usually pretty accommodating if you aren’t aggressive and clearly look like you have no idea where you are.
They probably think its better to take the time to drive them home rather than ignoring the person and keep driving.. only to have to come back later, after the person has been runover by a vehicle, and then spend the next hour or so scraping their body off the road with a spatula..

Surely this means we are getting a SA hub after our next two matches? Vic clubs relocate next week, play in quarantine and then play the SA clubs after we return to SA.

Waiting for the "unfair advantage" call. soon to be WA clubs play in Brisbane, QLD teams in SA and SA teams in WA.

Before we move on, I wanted to make a point about the handling of the Sidebottom case by Eddie.

Now love him or hate him (and I'm strongly in the hate camp), Eddie loves Collingwood and the players. He will do anything for them - even if it means looking like a two-faced tool in doing so.

Eddie has happily been outspoken when other players and other clubs have issues, wanting the book thrown at them. When it is his boys however, he's on the front foot defending them.

I thought in this case it was interesting how he went about it;
He firstly played it down - everyone makes mistakes!
He went to visit an injured teammmate - what a great guy Steele is!
He then blamed a different type of alcohol - Scotch. Poor Steele was the victim here!
He claimed Steele was just disorientated! Actually Eddie he was completely pissed.
Steele owned up - what a good fella. Of course he had no choice given half of Melbourne knew about it by 8 am
Steele was happy to cop the penalty for the good of the game - what a great bloke!

Now you can clearly see that Eddie is completely full of shit.
Steele went to visit his teammate, he started drinking. If he had two glasses of Scotch and went 'hmm that's a bit stronger than I'm used to', he would have stopped there and walked away. Instead he kept on drinking, so much so that he was found drunk at 7:30 am the next morning.

So let's put it all on the table. The Collingwood Vice-Captain, went on a mid week bender (which is bad enough given it is mid season and he is meant to be a club leader), got so pissed that he was found at 7:30 am, completely drunk, having no idea where he was and with half his clothes missing. He did all of this, with the full knowledge that the AFL is desperately trying to find a way to keep the season alive, a season in which his own team is one of the few with a genuine premiership chance, and in the middle of a pandemic that is seeing his State fall in to big trouble. Where was he between midnight and 7:30 am? Who did he come in to contact with?

I'd say 4 weeks is incredibly lenient. He should be banned for the rest of the season and be stripped of his VC role.

BUT, Eddie didn't throw his player under the bus. Despite his own previous comments and the knowledge that he would be clearly compromised and exposed as a hypocrite, he went in to bat for his player.

They accepted a sanction from the AFL, but made a big deal about how tough it was and how it was unfair etc... but that Steele wanted to accept it for the game's sake. All complete BS.

Now what would Adelaide have done?

We would have thrown the player under the bus (after we foolishly trying not to mention it for a few days). To save face for the club, we would have made statements about how disappointed we are, how irresponsible it is and how the player has to do better. We would have recommended a longer ban to the AFL, who would have handed down a 6 week ban. We would then have added our own club based sanction of two weeks as well.

The result?

Our player feels abandoned and ashamed. He is exposed and ostracised.
The Collingwood player feels loved and supported. He feels like he owes the club after they had his back.

I wonder which club has player retention issues, and which club has player wanting to play there?

Love him or hate him, Eddie's boys know that he has their back and will support them come hell or high water.

Before we move on, I wanted to make a point about the handling of the Sidebottom case by Eddie.

Now love him or hate him (and I'm strongly in the hate camp), Eddie loves Collingwood and the players. He will do anything for them - even if it means looking like a two-faced tool in doing so.

Eddie has happily been outspoken when other players and other clubs have issues, wanting the book thrown at them. When it is his boys however, he's on the front foot defending them.

He then blamed a different type of alcohol - Scotch. Poor Steele was the victim here!
He claimed Steele was just disorientated! Actually Eddie he was completely pissed.
Steele owned up - what a good fella. Of course he had no choice given half of Melbourne knew about it by 8 am
Steele was happy to cop the penalty for the good of the game - what a great bloke!

Now you can clearly see that Eddie is completely full of sh*t.
Steele went to visit his teammate, he started drinking. If he had two glasses of Scotch and went 'hmm that's a bit stronger than I'm used to', he would have stopped there and walked away. Instead he kept on drinking, so much so that he was found drunk at 7:30 am the next morning.

So let's put it all on the table. The Collingwood Vice-Captain, went on a mid week bender (which is bad enough given it is mid season and he is meant to be a club leader), got so pissed that he was found at 7:30 am, completely drunk, having no idea where he was and with half his clothes missing. He did all of this, with the full knowledge that the AFL is desperately trying to find a way to keep the season alive, a season in which his own team is one of the few with a genuine premiership chance, and in the middle of a pandemic that is seeing his State fall in to big trouble. Where was he between midnight and 7:30 am? Who did he come in to contact with?

I'd say 4 weeks is incredibly lenient. He should be banned for the rest of the season and be stripped of his VC role.

BUT, Eddie didn't throw his player under the bus. Despite his own previous comments and the knowledge that he would be clearly compromised and exposed as a hypocrite, he went in to bat for his player.

They accepted a sanction from the AFL, but made a big deal about how tough it was and how it was unfair etc... but that Steele wanted to accept it for the game's sake. All complete BS.

We would have thrown the player under the bus (after we foolishly trying not to mention it for a few days). To save face for the club, we would have made statements about how disappointed we are, how irresponsible it is and how the player has to do better. We would have recommended a longer ban to the AFL, who would have handed down a 6 week ban. We would then have added our own club based sanction of two weeks as well.

The result?

The Collingwood player feels loved and supported. He feels like he owes the club after they had his back.

I wonder which club has player retention issues, and which club has player wanting to play there?

Love him or hate him, Eddie's boys know that he has their back and will support them come hell or high water.

I think there's a middle ground where a club can fully support a player without club officials becoming a laughing stock/patent hypocrites in the process. Our club has obvious problems but Collingwood has had culture issues going back more than 10 years - not the example we should be following.

Isn't it? How often do Collingwood lose players they would like to keep?

It's better than our system that's for sure.

I'll take the way they run their club and issues over our shit show.

Not all police are aholes. They will usually only arrest if you are significantly 'disorderly' ie abusive, starting fights, being a nuisance.

If you are just blind and they think there is a safety issue it is not unusual that they will drop you somewhere safe. If so drunk you can't give an address, they may take you in, but usually let you sleep it off then do the walk of shame in the morning.

So I've heard.

Was close to happening to me. I couldn't find where I was staying and fell asleep out the front of the row cottages on Stanley St. Someone called 000 and the ambos turned up. By then I could remember where I was staying, but couldn't remember where I'd hidden the key. They called the missus for me, who was very pleased to get a midnight call, and she said she had no idea, and to call the old man who had come over that arvo. He told them where it was but it wasn't there. I was probably in a not good state because they were about to call the police according to the old man and then one of the ambos found a key in a door about 5 down from where I was staying. At some point I'd gotten the key from the log in front of my corner cottage and tried to use it to get into one in the middle of the other bank.

Don't mix anti-anxiety tablets and alcohol kids. The result is always the same, even though the stories differ. I've learned though, I don't fly anymore, so don't need to get them.

They probably think its better to take the time to drive them home rather than ignoring the person and keep driving.. only to have to come back later, after the person has been runover by a vehicle, and then spend the next hour or so scraping their body off the road with a spatula..

They don't mind that, it's the bloody paperwork that shits them.

Not all police are aholes. .

So I've heard.

Its funny, everytime I told a cop the truth about why I was speeding they have let me off. Conversely when I lied they booked me. Not to say I get let off all the time, but the handful of times I have been let off, has been appreciated. I must have a bad "tell" lol that they know when I lie.

I also think the reasons I have given in the past to be let off, they share back at the station with their mates as "good stories" to laugh at.

Life and times of Grotto. :drunk:

Collingwood have won two flags in the last 60 years.

We are doing our best to follow in their footsteps 🥺.

What a dumb comment.

They've been in four grand finals in the last 10 years, winning one, drawing one, losing two - one by less than a kick.
They are constantly at the pointy end and don't sack coaches for fun.

They have a president despite his many flaws has his clubs' back without question.

We should absolutely be trying to be more like Collingwood, both on field and from an off-field admin perspective.

Collingwood have won two flags in the last 60 years.

We are doing our best to follow in their footsteps 🥺.

At this stage, i would take that now. The Pies have always been around the mark since the 2000s. Their losing Grand Finals this century were at least respectable though heartbreaking.

Lions "stole" those flags in the 00's due to their excessive salary cap.

What a dumb comment.

They've been in four grand finals in the last 10 years, winning one, drawing one, losing two - one by less than a kick.

They have a president despite his many flaws has his clubs' back without question.

We should absolutely be trying to be more like Collingwood, both on field and from an off-field admin perspective.

Played 5. But yes 4 title shots at the flag.

Now you can clearly see that Eddie is completely full of sh*t.

The result?

Gee, you don’t think playing for the biggest club in Melbourne with the best facilities and endless media opportunities may help with their player retention?! Their off field culture has always been questionable, but if you have the above most players really won’t give a ****!

I’m not defending our admin, I’m just stating that the scenario you painted isn’t the full picture. Eddie was way out of line with his comments and if Roo said that we wouldn’t hear the end of it for days in the media and on this board.

What a dumb comment.

Sounds like a certain person at our club who most people, including our supporters, absolutely despise now...

Its funny, everytime I told a cop the truth about why I was speeding they have let me off. Conversely when I lied they booked me. Not to say I get let off all the time, but the handful of times I have been let off, has been appreciated. I must have a bad "tell" lol that they know when I lie.

I also think the reasons I have given in the past to be let off, they share back at the station with their mates as "good stories" to laugh at.

Life and times of Grotto. :drunk:
I got pulled over once when I was on my P's for not slowing down at of a 80 zone quick enough, he asked can I live without my license, I said I could, he told me you are meant to say you can't live without and gave me a warning and let me go, he was a older cop from memory

Gee, you don’t think playing for the biggest club in Melbourne with the best facilities and endless media opportunities may help with their player retention?! Their off field culture has always been questionable, but if you have the above most players really won’t give a fu**!

I’m not defending our admin, I’m just stating that the scenario you painted isn’t the full picture. Eddie was way out of line with his comments and if Roo said that we wouldn’t hear the end of it for days in the media and on this board.
I would give my eye teeth to have a president like Eddie - someone that defends our club and its players to the hilt and is not scared to go hard at the AFL...one can only dream I suppose

Gee, you don’t think playing for the biggest club in Melbourne with the best facilities and endless media opportunities may help with their player retention?! Their off field culture has always been questionable, but if you have the above most players really won’t give a fu**!

All true and you are probably right - Roo would have been destroyed. But I bet the players will have felt more indebted to the club...

As with all things it is probably more about balance. We bend over and then hang them out, Eddie backs them no matter what. Somewhere in between would be good

All true and you are probably right - Roo would have been destroyed. But I bet the players will have felt more indebted to the club...

As with all things it is probably more about balance. We bend over and then hang them out, Eddie backs them no matter what. Somewhere in between would be good
Who did we bend over and hang out since Roo has been at the club?