List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread.....

• Thread starter Thread starter Hazey1977

Unpopular opinion around here, but when Daniher is healthy and firing he is an exceptional talent. Sure he snaps some shots at goal he should just drop punt, but he is a gun forward. I would give this trade 1,000 to 1 odds of happening. Also think it would be weird to trade for a RFA.

He is, but it's been 3 years since he was healthy.

Is there a decent surf beach near Arden Street? Don't discount the impact of a few gnarly breaks in attracting players to want to move to Torquay and play for Geelong.
Sydney have the anonymity, Queensland have the weather, Adelaide have the adoration of an entire state, Collingwood have the Bogan worship, GWS have the bottomless salary Cap. Richmond have Jeep dealerships and West Coast have Hungry Jacks franchises.
What do we have that makes us a destination club for topline Free Agents?
We're basically reliant on waiting for Elite AFL players who have a passion for historic butcher shops.

Is there a decent surf beach near Arden Street? Don't discount the impact of a few gnarly breaks in attracting players to want to move to Torquay and play for Geelong.
Sydney have the anonymity, Queensland have the weather, Adelaide have the adoration of an entire state, Collingwood have the Bogan worship, GWS have the bottomless salary Cap. Richmond have Jeep dealerships and West Coast have Hungry Jacks franchises.
What do we have that makes us a destination club for topline Free Agents?
We're basically reliant on waiting for Elite AFL players who have a passion for historic butcher shops.

Can we lobby to have one of those man made wave pools included in the Arden precint?

Mate, I agree on most of your assertions but Hayden? He's played 6 games since doing his achilles bringing his games total to 6 and a half and has already shown glimpses of his capabilities. Yes he makes errors but he's trying to be creative/daring and is also learning a new role.

Thanks for the feedback, understand your reasoning I just thought if we have to clear the decks he could be a candidate to go. Hope he delivers if he’s part of the future.

So you think hayden is one of them who should or could be cleared out? What?
He is one of the few that is capitalising and actually developing under this rebuild - by playing instead of seniors and getting better each week

Sure, but Geelong have won 3 flags and made 14 of past 15 finals and eyeing off another top 4 spot. They will fall soon, but that’s better than any era we’d have and we’d all be furiously pulling ourselves if told our next 15 years would produce similar.

Start “pulling”

So you think hayden is one of them who should or could be cleared out? What?
He is one of the few that is capitalising and actually developing under this rebuild - by playing instead of seniors and getting better each week

I’m not an expert on Kyron, I just think we’ve got too many defender types. Whether he stays or goes is dependent on how he fits into Shaw’s plan and whether lists are shortened by the AFL. For the record I admire any young player who overcomes the challenge of serious injury and gets back on the park.

Sorry King Corey I could only get 9 steps into this scenario:

Start with picks 2, 6, 27, 57, 61 & 75.

1. These players leave due to retirement, free agency or delisting - Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Macmillan, Durdin & Hosie. (I actually wouldn't be surprised if JMac leaves as a free agent - I reckon Brady will only offer him a 1 year contract, but he will get offers of 2 years from elsewhere.)

2. Pick up Z Williams and Corr as free agents.

3. Brown to Collingwood for pick 15 and their 2021 1st pick. Personally I'm not convinced that Brown would attract this much as an un-contracted player, so I think we might need to contract Brown and then trade him so we can pay part of his salary.

4. Atley to Carlton for pick 42. Not sure which team would take Atley, but someone would. I reckon a pick in the 40s is about right, presuming we pick up part of his salary.

5. Pick 27 and Hall to GWS for Caldwell and the Corr compo pick (~32). This is unders for Caldwell, but would be worthwhile for GWS as we could pay all of Hall's salary and therefore give GWS a list spot for free.

6. Ahern to * for pick 63. Dodo plans to turn him into a full forward to replace Daniher.

7. Picks 15 and 63 to Port for picks 24, 31 & 2021 4th pick. This gives Port a pick before a bid on Jones and splits pick 15 to get the next two trades done for us.

8. Picks 2, 24 & 42 to Sydney for picks 4, 54 & 2021 1st.

9. Picks 31, 32, 54, 57 & 61 to Bulldogs for picks 10 & 83.

Out: Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Macmillan, Durdin, Hosie, Brown, Atley, Hall & Ahern.
In: Z Williams, Corr, Caldwell and picks 4, 6, 10, 75 & 83. (Have allowed for a list reduction of two.)

2021: We have all our picks, plus Sydney's 1st pick, Collingwood's 1st pick and Port's 4th pick.

At the draft:
4 - Phillips / Hollands
6 - DGB / Cox
10 - Perkins / Bruhn / Brew
75 - Small forward
83 - Ruck (These last two picks would probably be in the 50s once list reductions and bids are taken into account.)

1. These players leave due to retirement, free agency or delisting - Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Macmillan, Durdin & Hosie. (I actually wouldn't be surprised if JMac leaves as a free agent - I reckon Brady will only offer him a 1 year contract, but he will get offers of 2 years from elsewhere.)

3. Brown to Collingwood for pick 15 and their 2021 1st pick. Personally I'm not convinced that Brown would attract this much as an un-contracted player, so I think we might need to contract Brown and then trade him so we can pay part of his salary.

4. Atley to Carlton for pick 42. Not sure which team would take Atley, but someone would. I reckon a pick in the 40s is about right, presuming we pick up part of his salary.

5. Pick 27 and Hall to GWS for Caldwell and the Corr compo pick (~32). This is unders for Caldwell, but would be worthwhile for GWS as we could pay all of Hall's salary and therefore give GWS a list spot for free.

6. Ahern to * for pick 63. Dodo plans to turn him into a full forward to replace Daniher.

7. Picks 15 and 63 to Port for picks 24, 31 & 2021 4th pick. This gives Port a pick before a bid on Jones and splits pick 15 to get the next two trades done for us.

Out: Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Macmillan, Durdin, Hosie, Brown, Atley, Hall & Ahern.
In: Z Williams, Corr, Caldwell and picks 4, 6, 10, 75 & 83. (Have allowed for a list reduction of two.)

2021: We have all our picks, plus Sydney's 1st pick, Collingwood's 1st pick and Port's 4th pick.

At the draft:
4 - Phillips / Hollands
6 - DGB / Cox
75 - Small forward
83 - Ruck (These last two picks would probably be in the 50s once list reductions and bids are taken into account.)
Obviously you've thought hard about the options, so kudos, but without disrespect, what on God's green earth would GWS do with Aaron Hall, much less give anything of value for the privilege?

I think you're right on MacMillan - he'll be offered one year - but he'll stay

Obviously you've thought hard about the options, so kudos, but without disrespect, what on God's green earth would GWS do with Aaron Hall, much less give anything of value for the privilege?

I think you're right on MacMillan - he'll be offered one year - but he'll stay
All good mate, go your hardest. I possibly didn't think about that as hard as it might appear, but I was thinking the benefit to GWS is the relief of their salary cap. I also think Hall is the type of talented player that could slot into their team, get little attention because of all the other talent GWS has and do quite well.

But I included him more so because he is the type of player for us - one of those ones like Wood and Atley that are best 22 or thereabouts, but just don't do enough, often enough and are closer to the end of their careers than the start - that I'd like to see us move on to give more of our youth a go over the next year or two and find out more about them.

Although would have some reluctance in letting Hall go just yet as he does seem to be a positive influence on some of our younger indigenous players off the field.

At the draft:
4 - Phillips / Hollands
6 - DGB / Cox
75 - Small forward

Anyone that can take our current list and turn 3 first-round picks into 6 over two drafts with the loss of only one of our big names is a genius!

At the draft:
4 - Phillips / Hollands
6 - DGB / Cox
75 - Small forward

I reckon only the Ahern Trade is a bit rich, the rest is really good.

I notice your most recent update excludes the Dumont to Adelaide Trade for pick 19, as a fan of your work I’d like you to reinstate this idea as well as trading the skipper to the GC for a 2021 R2.

We are cutting deep here, any value needs to be extracted.

Would then offer 2021 R1 (Collingwood) + 2021 R2(NMFC) for Papley. Thanks very much.

But otherwise, 95/100.

Can see you on the podium for NMFC Bigfooty - Best New Talent - come end of year!

Well that's our rebuild in the bin then.
And Adelaide's - the Crows board on here had convinced themselves they were getting pick 2 in compo for Crouch; I suppose when you give up two first round picks for Bryce Gibbs you'd be forgiven for thinking the world is a crazy place

I felt sorry enough to post on their board at the time about that.

They got pretty good return on Cameron and could've hit the draft extra hard.

They pulled the sort of shit we normally do, overrated themselves and bludgeoned their own draft picks to get him.

Carlton were trying to push him out the door (precedent- Jonathan Hay) and probably would've paid the crows to take him.

I felt sorry enough to post on their board at the time about that.

They got pretty good return on Cameron and could've hit the draft extra hard.

They pulled the sort of sh*t we normally do, overrated themselves and bludgeoned their own draft picks to get him.

Carlton were trying to push him out the door (precedent- Jonathan Hay) and probably would've paid the crows to take him.
I cant believe how bad that bloke is now. Just useless.