Draft 2021 AFLW Draft discussion

Hi guys,

the live Draft thread is now open here.

Ham is basically the same player, playing for a much lesser NAB League team and has a year of junior to go. I'm expecting huge things from her next year, especially with Baskaran and Russell both in their draft years as well. Hopefully less time spent forward not having the ball kicked to her.
They're looking strong for 22 and 23 with some of their youngsters, big fan or Ward and Whiley who are both '05 births and should see more of an opportunity next year

They're looking strong for 22 and 23 with some of their youngsters, big fan or Ward and Whilst who are both '05 births and should see more of an opportunity next year
Haven't heard of this Whilst person, but Kiera Whiley goes alright too.

I don't have that much difficulty with how Geelong have drafted, though I do wonder at all these Geelong Falcon girls who post big numbers in NAB League then don't do anything at AFLW, or don't get picked at all. I agree that long term committed players are most important, I'm just wondering how Geelong are going to cope when their zone is gone, all the other Vic teams can pinch their local players but they're struggling to attract non-Geelong players the other way. It's like the worst of both worlds.

I'm also a huge Monty Ham fan, I think players like her, Roberts and Rowbottom could help change the game. Women's footy needs more players who win one-on-one contests convincingly then punish the whole opposition team for it. While players like Conti, M Prespakis and others can do it on the ground, Ham and co can do it in the air as well. Those kinds of players are congestion busters, and if women's footy needs anything right now, it's congestion busters.

A pretty perfect pairing of Princess Park Prespaki would be fun, but picture this -- one Prespakis in navy blue, the other in black and white stripes, facing each other across the centre bounce. Or in yellow and black. The drama.

There's no more zones in Vic with that scrapped ahead of the draft last year, so it's already more of an open draft for the Vic teams

It'll be interesting if the zone is reintroduced for a short period as part of the concessions

NAB League Girls coming back for the final Home and Away round this season, unfortunately there's not really many 'finals on the line' games, Calder v Geelong should be good and a possible finals match up preview, similar to GWV vs Tassie and Dandenong v Northern

If I'm not mistaken, Pie 4 Life and myself will be on comms for the Warrawee double header, Rebels v Devils at 12:30 and Chargers v Power at 2:15

NAB League Girls coming back for the final Home and Away round this season, unfortunately there's not really many 'finals on the line' games, Calder v Geelong should be good and a possible finals match up preview, similar to GWV vs Tassie and Dandenong v Northern

If I'm not mistaken, Pie 4 Life and myself will be on comms for the Warrawee double header, Rebels v Devils at 12:30 and Chargers v Power at 2:15
Well I mean it's temping to give eDPS a call up for the lulz after last time you getting shafted at PCO, but I guess I'll give you a go ;)

Hopefully the weather stays clear.

Well I mean it's temping to give eDPS a call up for the lulz after last time you getting shafted at PCO, but I guess I'll give you a go ;)

Hopefully the weather stays clear.
Had to pull rank sorry PMBangers 😂

Doesn't look like Oakleigh are going to be slowing down next season, gave their bottom aged talent the spotlight today and they looked very good, including debutant Jasmine Fleming who looks a gem, very promising signs going forward

Dandenong looked to be missing Amber Clarke a lot, throw in the usual high production midfield that had a not so great day out and it was an up hill battle for Dande from the start. In saying that, this was the best performance I've seen from the Falcons this season, even better than the Chargers win, they just clicked so well through the midfield and forward line. It's saying something when Lee and Dowling combine for just 21 touches when they're both regularly getting 15-20 each.

Chargers really should have won by more, they looked to share the ball too much inside forward 50 and it led to a few turnovers not far from goal. Ling is looking like the pick of the 19-year-olds in NAB League after the season so far, has worked her way up to be oakleighs second or third best player in the last few games, has a really good side step to her as well which is entertaining, you just always know what's going to happen but it still happens without issue. McLeod and Lennox had their best games of the season for Calder, just a shame that the rest of the team was down for majority of the game.

Eastern v Northern was interesting, was tight for most of the game and blew out in the final quarter. Felt like Northern should've won from their middle two quarters, they just couldn't convert with the Eastern defense looking superb. They're mostly '04ers and '05ers in that backline as well, so they'll retain some of the biggest parts of it (Busch, Walsh, Ava Campbell, Potter, Stone at times) so that'll be probably the best next season. Beatty was one for Northern that really stood up, looked good in the 17s metro v country games, and looks like she carried that form a bit into this game, shame we won't see her until the next U17s game

Is there still no draft date?

Nab league are up to prelims so will be done in 2 weeks

Vflw only has one more month til finals
It's expected to be in June at some stage, but like trade period they're waiting until the commission meet next Wednesday to make any announcements given there's likely to be concessions given to Geelong, West Coast and Gold Coast

Dandenong looked to be missing Amber Clarke a lot, throw in the usual high production midfield that had a not so great day out and it was an up hill battle for Dande from the start. In saying that, this was the best performance I've seen from the Falcons this season, even better than the Chargers win, they just clicked so well through the midfield and forward line. It's saying something when Lee and Dowling combine for just 21 touches when they're both regularly getting 15-20 each.

Chargers really should have won by more, they looked to share the ball too much inside forward 50 and it led to a few turnovers not far from goal. Ling is looking like the pick of the 19-year-olds in NAB League after the season so far, has worked her way up to be oakleighs second or third best player in the last few games, has a really good side step to her as well which is entertaining, you just always know what's going to happen but it still happens without issue. McLeod and Lennox had their best games of the season for Calder, just a shame that the rest of the team was down for majority of the game.

Eastern v Northern was interesting, was tight for most of the game and blew out in the final quarter. Felt like Northern should've won from their middle two quarters, they just couldn't convert with the Eastern defense looking superb. They're mostly '04ers and '05ers in that backline as well, so they'll retain some of the biggest parts of it (Busch, Walsh, Ava Campbell, Potter, Stone at times) so that'll be probably the best next season. Beatty was one for Northern that really stood up, looked good in the 17s metro v country games, and looks like she carried that form a bit into this game, shame we won't see her until the next U17s game
I assume I wasn't the only one unable to stream Tassie v GWV. Surprising result, with GWV travelling down there and winning. Another huge day for Condon and especially Scott. Condon seems to have responded well to being left out of the VC team, getting some midfield time with the VFL Dogs and then putting up back-to-back 30 touch games against the Devils. I assume her being left out is not a good sign for her draft prospects. She'll probably pass Prespakis this weekend for the most disposals in the comp and, most likely, get passed by Reid in the GF (if Reid hasn't already passed her by then). I'm not sure Condon could have done much more to get drafted, outside of finding a way to be taller.

Scott has to be one of the most interesting prospects for the 2022 NAB League and draft, being probably the most dangerous forward for the past month or so, but also potentially a mid. She seems to have done better with Friend spending more time further up the ground, which I might not have expected. I'll be really interested to see how you guys rank Dojiok and Friend when we get to the final rankings. As a more casual viewer, I find it hard to split those two from, say, Reid and Slender. They're all really similar heights and all have their strengths over the others. I wouldn't be shocked if there are wildly different draft boards from team to team.

Prelims look like non-contests. I hope I'm wrong, but Geelong and Oakleigh appear far more imposing than GWV and Eastern.

Is there still no draft date?

Nab league are up to prelims so will be done in 2 weeks

Vflw only has one more month til finals
Draft was supposed to be late July/early August but no confirmed date yet so could be whenever they put it really. I know it’s frustrating for draft hopefuls not to know.

I assume I wasn't the only one unable to stream Tassie v GWV. Surprising result, with GWV travelling down there and winning. Another huge day for Condon and especially Scott. Condon seems to have responded well to being left out of the VC team, getting some midfield time with the VFL Dogs and then putting up back-to-back 30 touch games against the Devils. I assume her being left out is not a good sign for her draft prospects. She'll probably pass Prespakis this weekend for the most disposals in the comp and, most likely, get passed by Reid in the GF (if Reid hasn't already passed her by then). I'm not sure Condon could have done much more to get drafted, outside of finding a way to be taller.

Scott has to be one of the most interesting prospects for the 2022 NAB League and draft, being probably the most dangerous forward for the past month or so, but also potentially a mid. She seems to have done better with Friend spending more time further up the ground, which I might not have expected. I'll be really interested to see how you guys rank Dojiok and Friend when we get to the final rankings. As a more casual viewer, I find it hard to split those two from, say, Reid and Slender. They're all really similar heights and all have their strengths over the others. I wouldn't be shocked if there are wildly different draft boards from team to team.

Prelims look like non-contests. I hope I'm wrong, but Geelong and Oakleigh appear far more imposing than GWV and Eastern.
Yeah we're lucky Pie 4 Life flew down otherwise about 5 people would've known about it

Condons a curious one, I said in my top performers last week the VFLW experience looked like it gave her confidence to back her speed and got her more time to get good kicks away rather than the usual hack kicks we can see from stoppages. I think at that height, Schaap has shown what sort if role you need to play, predominantly small forward that can get around the ground with midfielders endurance, so if Condon doesn't get drafted (hope she does fwiw) I reckon that'd be a way to increase her odds

Scott's interesting, did so well in the Country games as the main deep target in the forward 50, but like woth Friend seemed to struggle to impact as much with another target like Slender down there. I reckon she's a genuine mid/forward at the next level, very classy for such an inside bull when in the guts, too good of a quality to leave down forward all game.

I haven't done a pure rankings in a while, but no doubt both Dojiok and Friend are top 10 Vic prospects. Friend I was hesitant on but after her game v SA and round 9 against Tassie I'm happy to make that call, her versatility will see her go first regardless of who clubs see as better imo

Draft was supposed to be late July/early August but no confirmed date yet so could be whenever they put it really. I know it’s frustrating for draft hopefuls not to know.
Yeah they should have announced it by now regardless of the committee meeting next week which they also should have done by now it wouldn’t have been hard to lock in a date in June or July For the draft

I'm looking to find a match replay of this match, (It's not on the NAB League App or youtube).
It even had a commentary team, so I just can't understand why they haven't uploaded it.

Eastern Ranges V Northern Knights (Elimination Final)

1620093647488.png

I'm looking to find a match replay of this match, (It's not on the NAB League App or youtube).
It even had a commentary team, so I just can't understand why they haven't uploaded it.

Eastern Ranges V Northern Knights (Elimination Final)

View attachment 1118345
A pretty damn good commentary team as well 😛

They haven't uploaded any of the girls unfortunately, so hopefully they do at some stage but I wouldn't hold my breath

It's expected to be in June at some stage, but like trade period they're waiting until the commission meet next Wednesday to make any announcements given there's likely to be concessions given to Geelong, West Coast and Gold Coast
Was said Wednesday commission meeting next Wednesday or was it yesterday?

Giving this a watch atm, god Levi looks a class above. Also liked Ella Smith (Lions bottom ager I believe)
There's a fair bit of talent there. Will be interesting to see how they go against Vic metro and country. The Gold coast should pick up some really good kids in this draft which will help them be a lot more competitive in 2022.

Giving this a watch atm, god Levi looks a class above. Also liked Ella Smith (Lions bottom ager I believe)
So just finished the game, I'll be 100% honest I wasn't paying complete attention (damn uni assignments) but I was really impressed with Teagan Levi (Gold Coast Academy, 2021 draft) in the midfield, class above, she may be the most impactful of the 2021 draftees league wide given where Gold Coast are at with their list. Bella Smith (Lions academy, 2021) had her moments as well, played in all thirds of the ground as well so the versatility will be helpful at the next level.
Outside of Levi I hadn't really heard or seen much of the Gold Coast Academy girls, the Cockatoo-Motlap twins were really good, with Laquoiya the better of the two, although she played far more forward or midfield of them, but they were both really clean with their skills and at ground level. Giselle Davies was good at ground level for a tall defender as well, wasn't the best night for marking but she looked to have good technique, was just let down by the conditions.

As far as 2022 draft prospects go, Charlotte Mullins (Lions academy) is a really crafty and smooth forward/ midfielder, looked comfortably the best of the youngsters, would've been the 3rd or 4th best as well. Fleur Davies (Suns) was also really solid as a Ruck/ Tall forward option, another one clean at ground level, but held a few marks that no one else was managing in the conditions