Banter 2021 Off-Topic Chat Thread - PART II

I dunno, dude. I loved long car trips. I'd stare out the window, just watching the scenery.

The only place I couldn't do it the whole time was heading north from Los Angeles CA to my great aunt's place up in Oroville CA. The California Central Valley is the most boring place on earth... hundreds of miles of flat farmland, nothing to look at.

Yeah once I got older and my older brothers stopped coming places with us and I got a window seat, I liked car trips alot.

As long as I had my walkman.

Yeah once I got older and my older brothers stopped coming places with us and I got a window seat, I liked car trips alot.

As long as I had my walkman.

Yeah, Walkmen came later than my childhood. ;)

But nowadays I can't stand not playing tunes during road trips. Man, it just make life worth living.

I dunno, dude. I loved long car trips. I'd stare out the window, just watching the scenery.

The only place I couldn't do it the whole time was heading north from Los Angeles CA to my great aunt's place up in Oroville CA. The California Central Valley is the most boring place on earth... hundreds of miles of flat farmland, nothing to look at.
Most of my car trips were always going from Geelong (regional Vic) to Jerilderie (country NSW).
Once you'd seen it for the first time, it was just so boring. All flat. All dried out farms.
Just have to look out the window and listen to the radio.
But yeah, I'm sort of also glad in a way I got to experience a lot of travel without phones as well.

And then even better, as a driver.

Love driving on the GOR, is alot of fun. Once driving home was wide awake at 5am, so thought fu** it may as well check out and go. Was literally the only car on the road from Apollo Bay to Lorne. Was fantastic.
Yep. Once I started driving, I loved road trips. Still do.
The GOR was one trip I was never bored from as a kid. Always actually looked forward to it and never got bored.

Another one I had to do a lot was from Orange to Sydney. But I always enjoyed most of that one.
The Blue Mountains are great.

I'm picking family up at the airport Sunday week 2 adults 2 kids 3 and 3 months 5 large suit cases 3 smaller some soft bags a pram and travel cot so only vehicle i own the might handle that is my duel cab ute we have proper kid restraints but guess what no fixings to take the over the back strap fitted standard in the ute,paid just under $500 to have fitted with engineers certificate and mod plate.Still won't be a pleasant trip for who ever squeezes in between the two kids Won't be me.

Wow! Would it be possible to rent a vehicle with all the kid-related doo-dads? A 3 row minivan or something?

Skinniest person goes between the car seats. Thems the rules.

Wow! Would it be possible to rent a vehicle with all the kid-related doo-dads? A 3 row minivan or something?
No as we all then have to home quarantine for 2 week so could not return the vehicle for two weeks plan B is if it's not possible we will need to get a taxi Quote $160 to take one adult and a bit of the luggage.

Yep. Once I started driving, I loved road trips. Still do.
The GOR was one trip I was never bored from as a kid. Always actually looked forward to it and never got bored.

GOR made me sick as a kid- apparently I threw up one time, my mum tells me (i cant remember). But then the first time I drove it- was 100% fine no nausea. I reckon its cause you're looking forward and not sideways out the window.

Yea I drove to wye river was fine (missus got crook though), then on way home missus drove and I got queasy. Its a windy road especially through the bush towards Colac.

I feel sorry for ppl who get legit car/air sick.

All I have to do in cars and on planes really is avoid reading and I'm ok.

Wasn't ok tho on the Great Barrier Reef- got my first lot of nausea being on a boat. So for our overnighter on a yacht, I got some seasickness tablets, popped a couple of those- was 100% fine.