Paul Hunter

Traded;
Luke Dunstan

Retired;
Jake Carlisle
Dylan Roberton
Shaun McKernan
James Frawley

To see the full playing list list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – Monday November 15

List Lodgement 1
Friday October 29

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
Wednesday November 3 - Tuesday November 9

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
Wednesday November 10

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
Thursday November 11 - Monday November 15

AFL Pre-Season Commences (First to fourth year players)
Monday November 22

National Draft
Round 1: Wednesday November 24 (7pm)
Round 2 – completion: Thursday November 25 (7pm - late)

Preseason and Rookie Drafts
Friday November 26 (3.20pm)

Final List Lodgement
Monday November 29

Pre-Season Commences (All other players)
Monday 6 December

Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period (SSP)
December - March (tbc)

Pre-Season Christmas Break
Sunday 19 December - Sunday 9 January

Last edited by a moderator:
No it wouldn't Hanrahan has untaped talent & isn't as small either has shown talent when he has played, we got everything we could out of Lonie just not up to it.
He’s 23 181cm 75 kg has played 28 games and averages .6 goals per game. Yeah I’ve watched him play and imo he’s dead ordinary which is why hawthorn delisted him. List spots are tight we have other needs, butler, Higgins, Gresham, billings, long, Sinclair and geary just a few who can play the small forward role not to mention Byrnes and Connolly and to this point Kent hasn’t been delisted. Lonie dominates through the middle at vfl level and is a decent small forward why would we cut him to pick over hawthorns leftovers, 28 games of the rookie list is a fair effort but a big no thanks from me.

I like Hanrahan, my parents are Hawks fans so I've watched a fair few of his games and I always thought he was a solid young half forward - was surprised to see him delisted. I'd take a chance on a guy like that, they seem to work out better for us than the big name recruits

Have you watched Cousins? Thoughts on him? Surprised he was delisted too.

Can anyone explain why we would delist Lonie and even Dunstan ahead of Dean Kent?

The Purple Cabbage with more moronic missives…

IF ...
I've been critical of the Saints' Trade Period recruits in recent seasons...
THEN ...
there is nothing to be critical about this year, as there was nothing full stop. And that, too, is a problem.

The dickhead would slam us for trading picks away and has a whinge when we take them to the draft, clearly has no intention of understanding that we may have a plan in place.

No it wouldn't Hanrahan has untaped talent & isn't as small either has shown talent when he has played, we got everything we could out of Lonie just not up to it.
I have upmost faith in what the recruiters do , they have transformed the squad and who ever they bring in they would of been watching for a while.
Interesting to see where Constable goes , he was said to be good friends with a few of the Saints in the same draft year and clearly can play going by the stats he racks up in the 2s - the big question to me does he have good disposal , this would be a be factor if he is picked up by us or not.
He was never given a go at Geelong having Danger , Menegola , Duncan , Guthrie , Selwood and that is not taking into account Higgins , Narkle and Miers.

Can anyone explain why we would delist Lonie and even Dunstan ahead of Dean Kent?

Kent had a better year than Lonie tbh. Though it's not saying much.

And we didn't delist Dunston, Dunston and Ratten just... disagree... on where he is at so Dunston went back to Richo because Richo made him feel better rated

I guess it was always coming when they refused to play him in order to miss his trigger, which seems strange in itself… if a player is good enough to be picked enough to trigger a contract, then you'd assume they are useful on the list.

Ratts made it pretty clear he didn't rate Carlisle, Dunstan & Lonie… loves Kent though.

IF ...
THEN ...
there is nothing to be critical about this year, as there was nothing full stop. And that, too, is a problem.

The dickhead would slam us for trading picks away and has a whinge when take them to the draft, clearly has no intention of understanding that we may have a plan in place.

I swear we've been saying we'd be less active this year since the end of last trade period. Funny how that still caught them all by surprise.

Never a huge Jack Lonie fan but always feel a little sad to see them get delisted. He would feel pretty low right now.
So Kent still on the list, we pick nobody up and Lonie still delised. Wonder whom they are looking at?

I have upmost faith in what the recruiters do , they have transformed the squad and who ever they bring in they would of been watching for a while.
Interesting to see where Constable goes , he was said to be good friends with a few of the Saints in the same draft year and clearly can play going by the stats he racks up in the 2s - the big question to me does he have good disposal , this would be a be factor if he is picked up by us or not.
He was never given a go at Geelong having Danger , Menegola , Duncan , Guthrie , Selwood and that is not taking into account Higgins , Narkle and Miers.

My Geelong mate didn't mention his disposal being poor. Just said he hasn't got a big tank.

I'm not an Eddie fan, but that piece of commentary was rolled gold.

Who was the Saint who took the intercept mark from King's kick?

AFL experts' ladder predictions for 2021. One person predicted that they'd make the eight, and that person had them in eight spot...

A young Joey Montagna in the number 28 before he moved to 11

IF ...
THEN ...

The dickhead would slam us for trading picks away and has a whinge when we take them to the draft, clearly has no intention of understanding that we may have a plan in place.
Personally im glad we were quiet in trade week.

I actually think the list is pretty solid and the options on who was available were paper thin this year.

Retained some picks, hopefully get someone plus the academy lads and pray to all that is holy we dont injure everyone again.

IF ...
THEN ...

That shows an embarrassing lack of understanding of our draft hand and NGA kids this year. But then embarrassing lacks of understanding do seem to be his forte.

Maybe he and King should have listened to Gags on the radio this morning. They might have learnt something.

I would love to do a statistical analysis of the success rate of delisted players taken in the national/rookie draft versus mature players taken from WAFL, SANFL and VFL competitions. My hunch is that over the last decade the latter competitions are the happier hunting ground.

It is very rare that a listed player gets a second chance even when they have gone back and done well at state level.

What makes it worse is SOS had to repeatedly explain to callers what the Saints were doing on Trade Radio. Barrett was there the whole time but must have been playing Candy Crush and not paying attention. He's got no excuse to not understand what we're doing. It's just flat out anti-St Kilda trash "journalism"

Have you watched Cousins? Thoughts on him? Surprised he was delisted too.
Wow I'm even more surprised that he's gone, they're really cleaning out shop. I thought he was always really solid inside/outside from memory when he started on-ball. Maybe it's coz I had a soft spot for the hawks while watching but I reckon Cousins could easily be best 22 for us.

Did you support Geelong in the VFL
No, and I'm not a huge Constable watcher either. But if we were worried that losing Dunstan leaves a hole in the list, then I think Constable is more than capable of filling that role. I have been disappointed with Constable defensively when I have watched him play, and on that basis alone I think our recruiters may be leaning towards others delisted FA options.

I'd rank Constable behind Naish, and Sier behind both of those two based on the microscopic amount of footy I have seen them all play.

Maybe he and King should have listened to Gags on the radio this morning. They might have learnt something.

k8676hR.gif

No, and I'm not a huge Constable watcher either. But if we were worried that losing Dunstan leaves a hole in the list, then I think Constable is more than capable of filling that role. I have been disappointed with Constable defensively when I have watched him play, and on that basis alone I think our recruiters may be leaning towards others delisted FA options.

I'd rank Constable behind Naish, and Sier behind both of those two based on the microscopic amount of footy I have seen them all play.
Constable had some ridiculously good games early on but still couldn't break into the side and probably stunted his development - I'd still say he has the potential. Sier was unlucky the pies had a stacked midfield earlier in his career - genuine tackling/clearance machine whose been hampered a bit by injuries/playing out of position (should be on-ball all game) - was top 5 BOG for Collingwood in that 2018 GF too. I've got no clue on Naish but I'd be happy to bring in either of Constable/Sier personally as inside mids after giving away Dunstan.

Was a very good interview from Gags this morning. Good questions asked from Edmund, particularly about the backline and our draft strategy.

Such a change from the last interview he did with McClure and Healy which got in a circle of him repeating the same things about needing internal improvement and then ended awkwardly after McClure had a go at him for not answering a question about Ben King.