Coach 2022 Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

I'd suggest

you need a mix of both tbh. You can't just have too many risk takers. Every team needs role players, like Dmac, Nick Maxwell, Nick Smith, Dylan Grimes. I think St Kilda's issue is not in the recruiting however, I thinkn its more in the development of this attribute. On the other hand I think the Dogs are exceptionally good at developing this skill.
Spot on you need both types , but we don’t .

Someone else mentioned a couple of days ago. If you look at some of Billings best games, quite a few were in his first few season. Games against WC and WB. Also for whatever reason we havn't allowed our young players to thrive from day dot, maybe its changing wth the likes of Sharman, Hayes, etc. I still thinka big issue has been our VFL situation and obviously the last two years the issue has been compounded. The number of coaches and the lack of contuinity imo is a serious issue. We have kind of neglected the Sandy coach without giving it great though. I know of a few guys who played there during the time of Hamil and Gilbee and they wern't glowing.

What was the reasoning behind mentioning the professionalism of Walsh? Looks like a pretty obvious insinuation that Hunter isn't professional. Bit of mental gymnastics to come to that conclusion I reckon given they are completely different injuries and require different rehab.
I do not and cannot know why Hunter is behind schedule. I suspect none of us can do more than speculate. The contrast though is obvious. Perhaps it illustrates that Carlton's luck is turning (seems likely), or that Walsh was exceptionally committed to his rehab (seems very likely), or that Hunter's injury was worse than first reported and the club never bothered to update fans (possible), or many other possibilities. You don't need to overanalyse my casual conjecture.

Perhaps you could state your reason for posting it then so there's no need to speculate.

So Hunter Clark is much further away than expected? He is still listed as 4-6 weeks when the original prognosis 4 weeks ago was 4-6 weeks.

Yeah imo the frustrating thing is just that they seem to bullshit fans, maybe they're even bullshitting inside the club. Always looked like a bad injury and 4-6 weeks seemed short. Why not just say 6-12 or something and then shorten it later if all goes well? Rather than just making up random numbers which disappoint everyone?

The next BJ. Will be a star.

Remember the good old days when we were shit but had exciting players and the club had a bit of personality and spunk about it. Footy was fun.

Now we're still shit, with no star power, no characters, and probably the most bland and boring organisation in the AFL.

Are we even relevant? Whaddya reckon Gringo?

I may do so, or I may continue to drop little tidbits to excite your passions, mood depending.
If you didn't know they were two different injuries or the rehab process for different injuries is different, it's okay to just say that. We all can be wrong sometimes.

Gringo your subjective, antidotal analysis on the character of our players and how you extrapolate that to their personality on field is really flawed. I am not denying your experience of your meetings with them. However to draw these conclusions is so unfair. Also you making it as though being slightly shy in front of the camera or 'nice' or 'sweet' as you put it could be wrong fora thousand reasons. Assuming that they are like that does not neccesarily reflect their ability on the field/demenaour. Maybe sometimes it does. Also I don't know why being shy/not 'rough around the edges' off the field impacts either ina good or bad way. Youlve made this distiction that somehows proves our poor recruiting. I am not even certain that we ever had a policy of recruiting guys like that.

Some case examples that prove my point

'Nice' or 'shy' guys who have dominated

Gary Ablet Jr
Buddy
Mcrae
Bont
Kelly
Cripps
Sloan
Mcclugage
Lenny Hayes
Josh Kennedy
Jack Sinclair

I haven't met any of those guys in person except Sincs but a lot don't seem shy but more quiet in the media. Sincs seemed a lot more self confident than Billings. I got the vibe he was Billings more assertive friend. Oh and Lenny was a nice guy but not shy.

Yes and Steele fits in this group as well so did Robert Harvey

I don't think being an "alpha" has anything to do with the chances of you being a successful athlete.

Successful athletes often become alpha types because they are young, get paid a sh*t load, and get a ton of positive media attention. In other words, they start thinking they are better than everyone else.

I don't think Steele is a great leader but a very good player. Robert Harvey was quiet but not shy and he was regarded as one of the biggest sledgers of his generation according to other players. I met him and he had a bit of FIGJAM back in the day. Stewie Loewe was a great guy though, Matty Richardson too.

I think it's pretty obvious that Steele was elevated to the captaincy on the back of his on field performance rather than leadership qualities. He wasn't even in the leadership group before being appointed co-captain in 2021. When he was appointed, he did an interview saying that he has never really had a whole lot of self-belief.

Saints rule out Martin

This article is from 2013, but it really makes you wonder, doesn't it?

“We are approaching the upcoming trade and draft period with a view to strategically building several aspects of our list but Dustin is not a part of any plans we have in place,” Pelchen told saints.com.au.

It's the gift that keeps on giving :smirk:

pelican-420827.jpg

“We are approaching the upcoming trade and draft period with a view to strategically building several aspects of our list but Dustin is not a part of any plans we have in place,” Pelchen told saints.com.au.

It's the gift that keeps on giving :smirk:

pelican-420827.jpg
Word is this caused a lot of conflict between watters and pelchen. I think watters was dead set against it, he gave Sam fisher and Armidale sturn warnings to stay away from him. But pelchen had it over the line so much so he was going to attend mad Monday with the guys.

Watters won is the rumour. Rest is history.

Just another completely ****ed moment in the history of a shit club.

Agree on Steele.

In fact Dunstan last year seemed to be the guy really leading the team on field from what I witnessed vs West Coast last year.

Word is this caused a lot of conflict between watters and pelchen. I think watters was dead set against it, he gave Sam fisher and Armidale sturn warnings to stay away from him. But pelchen had it over the line so much so he was going to attend mad Monday with the guys.

Just another completely f’ed moment in the history of a sh*t club.
Sorry but is it necessary to use the label "shit club"? There are a lot of people that love this club win lose or draw, just think that's really unnecessary.

My 97 year old grandmother just got a plaque at the Danny Frawley Centre with her deceased husband and her names on it with "Saints Always". He would have turned 100 on the day they unveiled it to her. It was a special moment.

Yeah what a shit club.

Sorry but is it necessary to use the label "sh*t club"? There are a lot of people that love this club win lose or draw, just think that's really unnecessary.

My 97 year old grandmother just got a plaque at the Danny Frawley Centre with her deceased husband and her names on it with "Saints Forever". He would have turned 100 on the day they unveiled it to her. It was a special moment.

Yeah what a sh*t club.
I can only speak for myself but I'd just give it away if I felt that way about something all the time. Too much negativity and frustration to deal with I reckon. Probably would just stop following the sport altogether. Maybe go and support another club but I'm not that type of person.

Sorry but is it necessary to use the label "sh*t club"? There are a lot of people that love this club win lose or draw, just think that's really unnecessary.

My 97 year old grandmother just got a plaque at the Danny Frawley Centre with her deceased husband and her names on it with "Saints Always". He would have turned 100 on the day they unveiled it to her. It was a special moment.

Yeah what a sh*t club.

cmon now lew you know i'm referring to the onfield performance of the club which to be frank has been pretty shit.

It seems like every thread is littered with criticism (warranted and unwarranted), such is the current state of affairs with the recent performance.

I want to put the question out to you guys to see if you'd like one central thread where all criticism can be directed.

I know we've had threads of negativity in the past but I feel like some of the criticism is not so much negative as it is legitimate/warranted.

Saves people who want to discuss the weekends game or other things to have the ability to do that in the respective threads, and also gives others a place to go to direct all their comments.

What do we think

cmon now lew you know i'm referring to the onfield performance of the club which to be frank has been pretty sh*t.
Ok mate, I know you're feeling frustrated and hopeless with the club at the moment I just got a bit triggered by the choice of words and think we need to remember that the club represents a lot of things to a lot of people.

At the end of the day we all want the same thing.

It seems like every thread is littered with criticism (warranted and unwarranted), such is the current state of affairs with the recent performance.

I want to put the question out to you guys to see if you'd like one central thread where all criticism can be directed.

I know we've had threads of negativity in the past but I feel like some of the criticism is not so much negative as it is legitimate/warranted.

Saves people who want to discuss the weekends game or other things to have the ability to do that in the respective threads, and also gives others a place to go to direct all their comments.

What do we think
I think it's all good mate, it's just hard to focus on the positives after a loss. The Jack Hayes thread would probably be pages longer if we'd won.

All the discussion has been really good. Hopefully we get a win this weekend and I'm sure it will be a lot brighter.

Motivating a team of people is an art- some have it some don't from my experience, not just in footy. I think we have lacked the right people for quite a few years in the"football department" those who really know how to get into player's heads. Successful players don't always make successful coaches. The various boards of our club really missed the mark with some appointments they have made and never really had a clear direction on how they want to achieve success, nor have they been table to communicate their aims to the club as a whole..not to mention we supporters.
I am a bit over the standard old "take along hard look".."give them a rocket". etc etc after failure. The club should be saying to itself "where have we gone wrong with systems and people we have put in place, which has caused ongoing failure and lack of success"
I heard Ratts the other night saying it was good that we briefly took the lead after being 35 points down, but we need to know why we were 35 points down...should have know that by the time you had a presser mate..it's sloppy work.

It's also a by-product of their own success though. (Not saying a lot are not born that way inclined)

DeGoey I think is a poor example as he could probably do with being a little less of a piece sh*t. I think his attitude and off-field stuff have been negative for his footy development. If he worked harder and took footy more seriously he could be like Dusty.

He's an extreme example but in hyperbole lives some truth.

Just another completely f’ed moment in the history of a sh*t club.

The only legacy he would have left and the dwarf killed it off.