Coach 2022 Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

I can only speak for myself but I'd just give it away if I felt that way about something all the time. Too much negativity and frustration to deal with I reckon. Probably would just stop following the sport altogether. Maybe go and support another club but I'm not that type of person.

Okay Andrew Bolt, fans of all clubs say shit in frustration. It feels better to unload, it gives you reserves for another season of potential disappointment. We obviously all love the club or we wouldn't spend way too many hours talking shit about it with morons.

Someone else mentioned a couple of days ago. If you look at some of Billings best games, quite a few were in his first few season. Games against WC and WB. Also for whatever reason we havn't allowed our young players to thrive from day dot, maybe its changing wth the likes of Sharman, Hayes, etc. I still thinka big issue has been our VFL situation and obviously the last two years the issue has been compounded. The number of coaches and the lack of contuinity imo is a serious issue. We have kind of neglected the Sandy coach without giving it great though. I know of a few guys who played there during the time of Hamil and Gilbee and they wern't glowing.
Sharman is in the VFL now getting any sense of dare and footy initiative sucked out of him so he can come back a solid contributor but will never reach the heights we all envisioned late last season.

Sadly this might be right

It seems like every thread is littered with criticism (warranted and unwarranted), such is the current state of affairs with the recent performance.

I want to put the question out to you guys to see if you'd like one central thread where all criticism can be directed.

I know we've had threads of negativity in the past but I feel like some of the criticism is not so much negative as it is legitimate/warranted.

Saves people who want to discuss the weekends game or other things to have the ability to do that in the respective threads, and also gives others a place to go to direct all their comments.

What do we think

Have trigger warnings for the Polyannas.

It seems like every thread is littered with criticism (warranted and unwarranted), such is the current state of affairs with the recent performance.

I want to put the question out to you guys to see if you'd like one central thread where all criticism can be directed.

I know we've had threads of negativity in the past but I feel like some of the criticism is not so much negative as it is legitimate/warranted.

Saves people who want to discuss the weekends game or other things to have the ability to do that in the respective threads, and also gives others a place to go to direct all their comments.

What do we think
If warranted whats it matter, its a footy forum do we really want threads where you can only post if you are praising the club

It reminds me of someone I can’t remember who said it but Richo was focusing on what players couldn’t do vs what they could do. I worry that this is happening again.

Then we need to move the club to S.A., because its the SAFL that put any of that into him. Not the AFL.

Gringo your subjective, antidotal analysis on the character of our players and how you extrapolate that to their personality on field is really flawed. I am not denying your experience of your meetings with them. However to draw these conclusions is so unfair. Also you making it as though being slightly shy in front of the camera or 'nice' or 'sweet' as you put it could be wrong fora thousand reasons. Assuming that they are like that does not neccesarily reflect their ability on the field/demenaour. Maybe sometimes it does. Also I don't know why being shy/not 'rough around the edges' off the field impacts either ina good or bad way. Youlve made this distiction that somehows proves our poor recruiting. I am not even certain that we ever had a policy of recruiting guys like that.

Some case examples that prove my point

'Nice' or 'shy' guys who have dominated

Gary Ablet Jr
Buddy
Mcrae
Bont
Kelly
Cripps
Sloan
Mcclugage
Lenny Hayes
Josh Kennedy
Jack Sinclair
Not sure that an Eddy Betts would be worse than a Toby "shove the ump" Green, or a Jason "mouth off" ackermanis.

Okay Andrew Bolt, fans of all clubs say sh*t in frustration. It feels better to unload, it gives you reserves for another season of potential disappointment. We obviously all love the club or we wouldn't spend way too many hours talking sh*t about it with morons.
Andrew Bolt? I commented on what I'd do. Are you triggered by it or something?

If warranted whats it matter, its a footy forum do we really want threads where you can only post if you are praising the club
Who said that? Multiple threads are filled with discussion on the state of the club rather than their intended purpose. Media thread a good example of that.

Have trigger warnings for the Polyannas.
You do realise you are in the majority right? Haha. You guys always complain about the threat of having this forum just allow optimism and positivity as a go-to for continuing to criticise, some of its warranted and a majority isn't. Go have a skim over the board lately, look how much criticism and general negativity we allow. Not sure you can use the "threat of only optimism allowed" card.

Maybe you're referencing the consistently negative posters or those that consistently criticise the club, in which case yeah that's not allowed, but that rule has been around as long as you've been on this forum haha

I hope I'm wrong but I don't think Rats has another gear. He had a plan that worked in 2020 and has been worked out by opposition sides since.

There doesn't appear to be any major developments to that plan since 2020.

And the back-patting, uber positivity coaching only rewards mediocrity. We don't seem to be developing, just like in the non-"pleasing" Richo days.

Unless there is a performance change, I want a decent sweep of coaches. We need a hard nose operator to drive standards and culture- Fagan at Bris did this, Bevo at WB did this.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Andrew Bolt? I commented on what I'd do. Are you triggered by it or something?

Who said that? Multiple threads are filled with discussion on the state of the club rather than their intended purpose. Media thread a good example of that.

You do realise you are in the majority right? Haha. You guys always complain about the threat of having this forum just allow optimism and positivity as a go-to for continuing to criticise, some of its warranted and a majority isn't. Go have a skim over the board lately, look how much criticism and general negativity we allow. Not sure you can use the "threat of only optimism allowed" card.

Maybe you're referencing the consistently negative posters or those that consistently criticise the club, in which case yeah that's not allowed, but that rule has been around as long as you've been on this forum haha
I say the board in general lately is pretty good, a bit of banter a bit of fun and even some footy talked about

But do what ever you want, all power to you

jiuYl4s.gif

I say the board in general lately is pretty good, a bit of banter a bit of fun and even some footy talked about

But do what ever you want, all power to you
What is actually wrong with having one thread to discuss the state of the club?

I'm not silencing anyone, I'm moving it to a thread that it can be intended for. I don't know what the problem is.

I suspect people would want to go into the media thread to see media, the preview thread to discuss the weeks game, etc. I put the question out, if you all don't want to do that then fine?

What do we think
You can't stop negativity George. We are fairly self regulating without the trolls and most of the venting is confined to the autopsy thread. Give it a few more weeks before any changes.

I'm not stopping anything....read it properly...

Don't be such a dictator Putin. Now you're trying to force people to read like some kind of straight edge teacher.

Motivating a team of people is an art- some have it some don't from my experience, not just in footy. I think we have lacked the right people for quite a few years in the"football department" those who really know how to get into player's heads. Successful players don't always make successful coaches. The various boards of our club really missed the mark with some appointments they have made and never really had a clear direction on how they want to achieve success, nor have they been table to communicate their aims to the club as a whole..not to mention we supporters.
I am a bit over the standard old "take along hard look".."give them a rocket". etc etc after failure. The club should be saying to itself "where have we gone wrong with systems and people we have put in place, which has caused ongoing failure and lack of success"
I heard Ratts the other night saying it was good that we briefly took the lead after being 35 points down, but we need to know why we were 35 points down...should have know that by the time you had a presser mate..it's sloppy work.
Thing that concerns me most is that we have 40k plus members. 20k who go regularly in normal times I guess. That's lots of avid football watchers. It strikes me that there are common themes when you talk to StKilda supporters. There is a theory that "we" couldn't possibly know because you have to have played x +100s of games at the elite level then understand the black magic that happens behind the scenes.

Well I call BS. Perhaps we the people see it clearly laid out before us on a weekly basis. At the moment I'm seeing a failure of leadership that can't get the players to play a coherent level of AFL football.
I can cop losses but last week was an incoherent mess that came back to selection and game plan. That is on the coaching.

If there is a world where you play Dean Kent ahead of Cooper Sharman then I really don't understand what you're trying to achieve. And yes argue not 'like for like' all you want but I reckon you win games playing with more talented players in your team. The more the better so make it work as a coach.
Can we get Jurgen Klopp in to help on mentality?

What is actually wrong with having one thread to discuss the state of the club?

I'm not silencing anyone, I'm moving it to a thread that it can be intended for. I don't know what the problem is.

I suspect people would want to go into the media thread to see media, the preview thread to discuss the weeks game, etc. I put the question out, if you all don't want to do that then fine?
No problem with it, but it will just be another thread where we will talk about everything but what the thread was intended for, there for giving you mods more work

Really don’t think the forum has been that bad considering how bad Friday night shit show was

No problem with it, but it will just be another thread where we will talk about everything but what the thread was intended for, there for giving you mods more work

Really don’t think the forum has been that bad considering how bad Friday night sh*t show was
Yeah all good

I think we are all going to pop from the pressure building up from last weeks lost on top of last season. To make matters worse, we are the last team to play this round so we’ll have to wait right up until the last moment to see if we are praising or lynching the club next week.

Funny thing is it could go any one of a million ways and yet it’s always easiest to be negative and reactive to what we see. I get it, but I’m just glad footy’s back, looking forward to seeing what Ratts can produce here, it’s now or never for him I reckon.

Having a look at the stats of our wingers, it's clear that the wings are kind of bypass under Ratts plan at least from a productivity sense. Looking back to our wingers from 2015 - Newnes, Acres, Billings, Hill, Battle, Dmack, Etc. There would seem no one playing wing after 2020 will get much more than 20 disposals avg

Saints rule out Martin

This article is from 2013, but it really makes you wonder, doesn't it?

Didn't have time to take Martin while he was available cheap because in that off season we were too busy shipping off McEvoy and Dal Santo (to go along with the retirements of Milne, Kosi and Blake) so we could bring in Longer, Savage, Bruce and Delaney as well as getting picks to take Dunstan and Acres.

Or Leeds United - fanatical fan base but relatively crap for 3 decades - #MOT
Sunderland...the forgotten bastard twin of the more pikey-glamorous Newcastle...a team constantly scraping through between divisions and not really up to much.
Very St.Kilda.

We are a side that just keeps turning the ball over and killing any momentum we have. Poor skills. It's been that way for years.

But suspect selection, player positions and a gameplan that seems to have no plan B doesn't help.

We just don't look like a well coached, well drilled football team.

To me Ratten seems like a stubborn man on the wrong path.

Brad Hill is a winger... we don't need to constantly throw the baby out with the bathwater every time something isn't going well, such as a player is out of form or the gameplan isn't working.

The whole thing is just tiring.