Prediction 2023 Consensus Best 22 - Final vote closed, team selected!

Vote for the Matty411 Super-Sub (all currently unselected players eligible)

I reckon Docherty will be playing some midfield during the season - maybe not every game or even all the time in any game - but you don't train blokes up for no reason - he is a quick study no doubt and a self-declared footy junkie. Doch showed strong swing man credentials in the last 2 games, I think he'd perform better as a mid for us than as a defender.

Really impressed by that initiative - we need to strengthen up the midfield - especially with Walsh out and fair question marks over Kennedy and Hewett. I'm hoping that Voss can find a big improver out of : Kemp | Carroll | Philp | or a surprise early debut from Hollands.. midfield depth is an issue - Doch as a rotation really stands up well compared to what we've seen from developing players - so far.

Weitering & Young pick themselves and hopefully they both get back to their best form at the same time.
Saad and Williams are locks as the runners
McGovern and Marchbank as interceptors- ( McGovern the CHB preferred kick )
Newman as a loud voice to help Weitering maintain structures

Young is the weakest chain in this link ( IMO) that isnt a knock on him either- I reckon he exceeded expectations last year - would love to see him able to play at his best week in week out - add consistency that would be a huge win and I reckon he might do it.

Unlucky is ( a fit) Boyd and maybe Plowman - but I think Marchbank has Plow covered.

Weitering Saad Williams McGovern - how many games have these blokes managed to play altogether ....that is some pretty strong fire power there..
next level down in class would be Newman, Young, Plowman, Marchbank, Boyd....

If Docherty doesn't play mid - then that would change a lot of selections for me.

Defender voting has closed with 84 votes.
  1. Saad 83 / 99%
  2. Weitering 83 / 99%
  3. Young 82 / 98%
  4. Williams 79 / 94%
  5. McGovern 77 / 92%
  6. Docherty* 72 / 86%
  7. Newman 37 / 44%
  8. Marchbank 33 / 39%
  9. Boyd 30 / 36%
  10. Cowan 2 / 2%
  11. Kemp 2 / 2%
  12. Plowman 2 / 2%
DNP: Akeui, Durdin

Midfield voting is now open. I've included Docherty in the mid vote, so if he polls more there then we can remove him from the defender selection if that's the most popular outcome.

Docherty Walsh Acres
Cripps Hewett Cerra
Kennedy

Cottrell/O’Brien: hopefully both can push hard for a sustained wing position, no doubt both will get the chance multiple times throughout the year…

Martin Fisher Cunners:🤞 can play forward and role through the midfield when required…

Carroll: has heaps of upside, probably atm first in line when required…

Kemp: looks in great shape, build him up as a midfielder/forward, talented kid…

Philp: like the kid has some good qualities, a strong and hopefully injury free season is critical to developing something so he survives…

Dow: got to the point that I’m hoping like hell he improves enough in the areas of need, all up to him… come on Paddy🤞

Binns/Cowan: development years, any games played are all a bonus, anything is possible…

Ed: love the guy and what he stands for, had a great career but atm he’s a solid backup when/if required…

Defender voting has closed with 84 votes.
  1. Saad 83 / 99%
  2. Weitering 83 / 99%
  3. Young 82 / 98%
  4. Williams 79 / 94%
  5. McGovern 77 / 92%
  6. Docherty* 72 / 86%
  7. Newman 37 / 44%
  8. Marchbank 33 / 39%
  9. Boyd 30 / 36%
  10. Cowan 2 / 2%
  11. Kemp 2 / 2%
  12. Plowman 2 / 2%
  13. Akeui 0 / 0%
  14. Durdin 0 / 0%

Midfield voting is now open. I've included Docherty in the mid vote, so if he polls more there then we can remove him from the defender selection if that's the most popular outcome.
If we vote for Doch in midfield, and he gets the nod, does this mean Marchbank goes in as a defender?

Cripps, Cerra, Hewett, the main onballers.

Acres and Walsh the wingers.

Kennedy and Kemp the bench players.

The 1st six pick themselves when we are full strength, which is what this exercise is about. I don't really consider Kemp an AFL mid atm. But i picked him as the 7th def but he didn't get that spot so i'm still picking him for the bench because he is a perfect rotation player IF he can't claim a starting spot of his own. He is our most intriguing player(along with TDK) and i can't wait to see how we utilise him/them.

At full strength Doc will still be our AA quality HB.

Midfield is actually the easiest line, lots of decent backup, but hard to go past these players:

Docherty Walsh Acres
Cripps Hewett Cerra
Kennedy

Done - lock 🔒’em in. Next :)

I know this website doesn’t condone violence, but am I allowed to engage in fisticuffs with whichever poster couldn’t fit Hewett into their midfield selections?
Not sure if it’s allowed

But it’s certainly justified

Relatively straightforward midfield group. For mine there's 6 locks + 1 up for debate.

Locks: Acres, Cerra, Cripps, Hewett, Kennedy, Walsh

Doc, Fisher, Martin are all in our best side, but have and will vote for them across other lines.

LOB, Cottrell, Carroll next in line and all have genuine claims.

Might be on my own here but I'm going with Cottrell. Not the most polished player out there, but his running power is a weapon, and his second half of last year was particularly impressive.

Onballers: Cripps Hewett Walsh
Wingers: Acres Docherty
Bench: Cerra Kennedy

Think this is our best midfield line up. Docherty and Acres on the wing can both help out in defence if needed and can also drive the ball i50. Docherty can also get some on-ball minutes via a switch with Walsh or Cerra who are both effective wingers. Rest kind of speak for themselves tbh. Happy with this line for 2023 - hopefully Walsh is back before too long.

I know this website doesn’t condone violence, but am I allowed to engage in fisticuffs with whichever poster couldn’t fit Hewett into their midfield selections?
yes, yes you are.....

Acres Cripps Cerra

Hewett Walsh Doc

Kennedy
Very controversial post you made there mate - not!

I like Doch there because he can switch to a wing as required...
People will say it is a 'slow' midfield
I say - the opposition has to get the ball first and second escape a tackle
good luck...

rotations from Fisher/Martin/Williams also possibilities

funny how no one counts the ruckman as a mid - but that is my rugby coming out- it is like saying the hooker isn't part of the tight five because he (or she) throws the ball in in lineouts...

good luck...

funny how no one counts the ruckman as a mid - but that is my rugby coming out- it is like saying the hooker isn't part of the tight five because he (or she) throws the ball in in lineouts...

Have wanted Doc to play that Goddard type role for a number of years, hopefully we see a variation of that this year.

If Doc does well, which I expect will happen, will be interesting to see what happens when Walsh returns

good luck...

JAB, from memory, voting for the ruckman with the rest of the mids was tried once but the voting distribution showed that not everyone actually voted for a ruck option. Splitting it kept the positional integrity.

I’ll also run the ruck vote before the forwards vote this year because the #1 ruck chosen could impact the forward sections.

Prediction 2023 Consensus Best 22 - Final vote closed, team selected!