List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

My opinion, take it or leave it.
Butler is the best defensive pressure forward in the league who also kicked nearly a goal and a half a game.
Ross has barely scratched the surface with Higgo, yes he needs to find some consistency but he’s got another 200 games at our club barring injury.
Collard is a talent but he’s too mentally inconsistent, I hope we go nowhere near him.
Our list has so many holes I hope we just pick the 3/4 best players available at our picks.
Dow will add a hell of a lot to our midfield next season, I’m genuinely excited by his clearance game.

I feel that we need ball winners and genuine accumulators in the midfield, not just those waiting for handball receives..

I know George Stevens is labelled as a pure inside mid, but apart from Crouch, I don’t think we have another.. Steele is more a tackler, Owens is a work in progress.. Dow maybe able to help..

But nothing in the reserves if injury bites.. I’ll say let other clubs go for the “sexy” seagul type mids like Windsor, we need real mids for a change.

Stevens looks like one of those guys who could end up being a superstar or a bit slow and single position to make it. If we got him I would be pretty happy. I think he’s worth a gamble. A pure extractor for when Crouch types step out sounds pretty good planning. Just not sure we’ll have the right pick.

Its hard to get a read on Windsor & Wilson… are they pure outsiders or do they have the capability to become dual mids ala Sam Walsh? (Obviously not to his level)

I think Wilson looks the more able to play both. Windsor looks much more like a running outside player. Wilson has some candy selling ability and looks more likely to get through traffic. Windsor will gut run out to provide an option. He has that ability to start running into space like Bailey Smith at his best. Smith always seemed a lot higher possession though.

My opinion, take it or leave it.
Butler is the best defensive pressure forward in the league who also kicked nearly a goal and a half a game.
Ross has barely scratched the surface with Higgo, yes he needs to find some consistency but he’s got another 200 games at our club barring injury.
Collard is a talent but he’s too mentally inconsistent, I hope we go nowhere near him.
Our list has so many holes I hope we just pick the 3/4 best players available at our picks.
Dow will add a hell of a lot to our midfield next season, I’m genuinely excited by his clearance game.

Higgins is the most almost player in the league at the moment, he just struggles to take it up to a consistent level. His best is incredible but his worst is absolute passenger. He really needs to be a high goal scorer because his speed on the chase is below average and he doesn't really impact a lot in any other way. Butler has his pressure game so even when he's quiet he's quite valuable.

How can anyone tell that when they are 18 y.o.?
We need midfielders, had done so for a decade, but as usual we ignore them.

Did nobody see what GWS did to our midfield in the final?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It's the balance we need to get right. We have to make a cohesive midfield.

GWS have Tom Greene who is pretty purer extractor type but elite at it, Callaghan who is more inside and can move to a wing and hurt you in both positions, Cogs who is old but can go on-ball and win clearance but rest in other spots, Kelly who is an outside runner who can win his own ball as well, Ash and Whitfield as this moving attacking defenders. Really good mix of ages and all really high end.

We probably have a weird balance. Steele and Crouch who are more extractor mids. Ross as the inside outside type, Clark types rotating on ball and Nas and Sincs as our attacking backs. Hill and Wood on the wings.

Dow and Henry will add to the pool but when you look at the list those wings are close to the end and we probably hope Windhager, Owens and Phillipou can play some midfield.

Having dual position mids with pace means we can reassign them. That's why I like Charlie Edwards and Cooper Simpson. Both are true on ballers but have pace and look like they could play both inside and outside. Otherwise there is some sense to chasing a Wilson/ Windsor type of wingman.

how many guys aren't full time inside mids at U18 level that then transition into full time inside mids at AFL level?

i legit can't think of one.

Mitch Owens hadnt played a lot in the midfield prior to being drafted, now has played as a pinch hit ruckman and mid. I do agree however not many U18 flankers become good mids, Billings being the classic example.

We will need to add to our small forward brigade at some stage, whether it occurs at this years draft will depend on who falls where I gather. Im not against targetting one with our later picks, I just think taking Collard at our first is a huge gamble. He is likened to Shai Bolton, it doesnt garuantee he will get there. There will be other options available later in the draft.

I'm happy for him to be a genuine crumbing forward.

If there was a small forward in the draft who was just as good as a mid in the same draft , people would take the mid first.
The way i see it , the mids in that category will be gone. If Collard is there at our pick we are a chance to get a better than average small forward or an average mid.

Reid
Walters
Mckercher
Duursma
Curtain

Look to be the top 5.

Sanders Watson caddy O’Sullivan Leake Windsor Wilson Tholstrup

Rumours of Will Green to the swans

That makes up the players up to our pick.

Read (GC)
Rogers (GC)
Croft (Dogs)
McCabe (Hawks)

Looking at that list between hawthorn and us, we need to be thinking about trading a F1 to try grab another kid

On very odd occasions McKenzie has won a good amount of contested possessions, 10 or 11 that sort of level.
Best ever total possessions. 23. ( one time ).
I wouldn't hold him up as a poster child for winning the ball.
I like McKenzie but he's only played a half a good season of football in his career.
Absence truly does make the heart grow fonder.

Alison should sit out next season and then could be considered one of our greats.

Higgins is the most almost player in the league at the moment, he just struggles to take it up to a consistent level. His best is incredible but his worst is absolute passenger. He really needs to be a high goal scorer because his speed on the chase is below average and he doesn't really impact a lot in any other way. Butler has his pressure game so even when he's quiet he's quite valuable.
I don't know if stats back this up but I always feel like Higgins whole game is dictated by the first few things that happen. If he misses a shot at goal early in the game I reckon you can write the day off.
Needs to change cos he should be a star.

My young blokes best mate is headed for next years draft.....has been really interesting the interactions he and his family have had with player agents. Tim Hazell, Julian Petracca, Nick Geischan, the family are after someone who are actually interested in the kid not just focusing on who the agent knows in the AFL world etc. A lot of them keep in regular contact by phone, a couple have flown down to Tas to meet him.

Will track what happens with him leading up to the next draft (he is primarily a basketballer but plays rep footy as well)

I don't know if stats back this up but I always feel like Higgins whole game is dictated by the first few things that happen. If he misses a shot at goal early in the game I reckon you can write the day off.

Yeah that was on SEN, if Snags misses his first goal his accuracy stays shit, nails his first shot and he's elite. For such a confident bloke he gets very Billings at times.

Most people seem to have him ranked around pick for or close to so I can't see it changing the draft order too much
Talk he was going to land at 6-8

Going to the Hawks at 4 whilst a small increase changes how this draft now plays out.

It removes west coast from buying back in for Curtain and poses questions on what Geelong does

Talk he was going to land at 6-8

Going to the Hawks at 4 whilst a small increase changes how this draft now plays out.

It removes west coast from buying back in for Curtain and poses questions on what Geelong does
Maybe then Watson to Dogs, but then Sanders prob doesn’t get past Geelong and wonder if it’s ultimately back at square one after that.

New phantom draft by House of Footy out, but doesn’t appear to be any knowledge of recruiter intentions and seems to just list any Dragons at the relevant pick. Has us taking Hardeman, Jiath, Delean and then Luke Lloyd.

I think I’d rather go Philactides late if we’re going HBFs.

I like McKenzie but he's only played a half a good season of football in his career.
Absence truly does make the heart grow fonder.

Alison should sit out next season and then could be considered one of our greats.

Didn't he take a mark during the practice game at the start of 2023? A good mark.

I feel that we let a lot of young players go too early. Such is the pressure of the draft and list sizes I guess.
Would be good if we could let them go to any aligned or non aligned comp apart from afl but keep ownership of them somehow and pluck them back out if they’ve shown something.
We didn't develop them. Flip side is Allison got too long. Lewie Pierce same. Leo got a fair shake, so did Bytel.

We have an experienced astute group of coaches and development staff now. We should be more ruthless.

Higgo and King are very similar in that regard. Both confidence players. Would like to see King played at CHF.

Wants to play like Cal Wilkie? Having a 200cm Wilkie is a cheat code and would set us up for 15 years. Seems to have the right idea about what he needs to do once he enters the AFL which is good, already setting goals early.

I know people don't want to pick a KPD early but in recent years they have havent really been busts outside of McAsey and DGB (debateable if he is even a KPD). I'm all for picking him at our first pick if Wilson, Leake and Windsor are gone.
Would be way cheaper then Bing with an extra 5 years 😊

No idea what to make of Tholstrup he is very much see ball get ball type of player could see him being like Luke Ball, needing the elastoplast on standby each week.
Big fan of Charlie Edwards think he fits our team dynamic perfectly; stood up after not playing for Metro so didn't drop his head and worked harder, great metal attitude.
Schoenmaker is one of my favourites of the draft, I see huge upside with him some see him as too small for a key defender but his ability to transition the ball is elite. I know some see a player listed as a defender and go nope mids mids mids but his kicking.
george-takei-oh-my.gif

If we are looking at a small fwd Gothard I see as a better option for us. Could be there at our third, great leap and speed but its defensive efforts that RTB would love.
And one not really in our needs but Logan Morris I think is seriously underrated looked very impressive.

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I