No Oppo Supporters 2023 General AFL Discussion - incl. AFL Grand Final

I can only comment from NSW and we have no issues with flights, from both Sydney and Newcastle airports.
But on that point then, wouldn't the opposite apply for Tassie fans trying to fly to Adelaide for it?

My point is that I believe the weekend should be shared around and I don't think citing a lack of accommodation and car hire as viable points, a quick look on hotels.com shows not too dissimilar amounts of both, probably more in Tassie seeing as the games would be split between two major areas.
If the amount of accommodation or hire cars was the main criteria in deciding where the weekend was held, it would be Sydney or Melbourne every year with an occasional dalliance to Brisbane.
Well, it would…however 50 tasmanians heading out v Australia heading in is an issue..

I don't think citing a lack of accommodation and car hire as viable point

It's not really a point. Nor do I understand the argument around logistics.
Australia isn't a backwards third world country (It is when it comes to certain infrastructure), with a single DC-10 and 3 random motel in Wollongong, and where people remove their teeth with a string and a door.

Also, once I saw a train!

Well, it would…however 50 tasmanians heading out v Australia heading in is an issue..
No, no, no, no, don't move the goal posts.....

You said -
Try flying from Adelaide to Hobart….Tassie is poorly served, one cancelled flight and it’s toast. I fly there regularly and it’s the biggest issue for me.
To which I replied -
I can only comment from NSW and we have no issues with flights, from both Sydney and Newcastle airports.
But on that point then, wouldn't the opposite apply for Tassie fans trying to fly to Adelaide for it?

You specifically stated it's a problem from Adelaide and the last time I checked, Adelaide does not contain the entire population of Australia. There are six states of which South Australia has the second smallest population behind only Tasmania.
There is no issue with flights from the east coast of the country (where the majority of the population resides) into Tasmania.

It's a silly argument either way because when has the AFL ever taken supporters wants and needs into consideration? They'd actually hold it in the Tiwi Islands if they thought there was more $$$ in it.

The AFL doesn't run NSW. The SCG needs a major upgrade to be even close to the MCG, Optus in Wa & Adelaide oval standards. Sydney’s transport system to the SCG has only recently improved and still has problems. Getting out to Homebush isn’t a bunch of fun either.. The transport links to the MCG & AO are excellent and have been in place for decades. The Swans members area in the Brewongle is appalling and we pay (in my case paid) a premium for it. the atmosphere is good but the MCG surpasses all of them for that. They won’t build a new stadium in Sydney when you already have the SCG, the show ground arena & what ever they call the Olympic stadium now which can be converted for AFL. And where would you put it??? The government would be crucified (the hoo har with the new Allianz stadium is case in point).as much as I love footy, with the way life is at the moment, funds should be poured into way more important things than another footy stadium. As for letting the team that wins top spot deciding, blimey they might decide to play at number 1 oval at a Tamworth - that’s a neutral ground!!
I've heard the AFL(VFL) roll out similar excuses for hanging onto the huge advantage the MCG gives Melbourne based teams.

Your opinion of the Brewongle stand is no more relevant to my assertion than your preference for the atmosphere of the MCG over the SCG. Personally, I prefer the SCG and I expect many others do too, but the current state of grounds and their public transport links can and will change, even if there isn't the political will at present to build new stadiums.

Most stadiums have expanded with little or no public funding. Venues tend to grow incrementally, driven by demand. The MCG itself had reached 94,000 (seated and standing) by 1937, with much of that growth coming during decades that included WW1 and the Great Depression, hardly good economic times. Later expansion was funded by both the MCC and VFL.

Docklands (Marvel) is a recent example of a brand new stadium. At 53,000 seated capacity it cost almost the equivalent of $1 billion (in 2023 money). When the federal gov't wouldn't fund it for Olympic soccer, the AFL was prepared to wade in with the Vic government and various other interested stakeholders, like Seven. The AFL got a new HQ and later control of the stadium. Docklands gave the Vic government the drive for urban renewal they needed for the docklands area. Docklands also took pressure off the MCG and relieved some of the congestion live events caused in the surrounding neighbourhoods.

No matter how tight things are there's always money around for sporting grounds. Even in 2023, the federal government has promised $235m towards the Tassie stadium while the Vic government is to spend a similar amount on upgrading Docklands. Sponsors and interested parties usually make up the rest. Sport is a very big business.

There have been many tougher times than today over the last half-century yet footy grounds have continued to grow, as have transport links, which tend to follow demand. Getting to the SCG by public transport today is so much easier than it was even a few years back, and way better than when I went to my first Swans game in 1995. Back then it was easiest to walk or pub crawl from Circular Quay. The SCG capacity has grown since then too.

It may take another 50 years before we see the GF moved out of Melbourne, but my point still stands. AFL will never be a truly national competition while it remains anchored in Melbourne. The AFL needs to begin planning for a national future.

The AFL doesn't run NSW. The SCG needs a major upgrade to be even close to the MCG, Optus in Wa & Adelaide oval standards. Sydney’s transport system to the SCG has only recently improved and still has problems. Getting out to Homebush isn’t a bunch of fun either.. The transport links to the MCG & AO are excellent and have been in place for decades. The Swans members area in the Brewongle is appalling and we pay (in my case paid) a premium for it. the atmosphere is good but the MCG surpasses all of them for that. They won’t build a new stadium in Sydney when you already have the SCG, the show ground arena & what ever they call the Olympic stadium now which can be converted for AFL. And where would you put it??? The government would be crucified (the hoo har with the new Allianz stadium is case in point).as much as I love footy, with the way life is at the moment, funds should be poured into way more important things than another footy stadium. As for letting the team that wins top spot deciding, blimey they might decide to play at number 1 oval at a Tamworth - that’s a neutral ground!!
They should have it at MCG every two years and rotate it between Optus Stadium and Adelaide Oval every second year. Those stadia are perfectly fine for AFL Grand Finals. They don't hold 100k but 50~60k is perfectly acceptable. The only members allowed into grand finals at the MCG is 30k anyway.

Is football supporting meant to be rational?

Do you support rationally all the time?

If a player is at another club (as Kirky was with Freo) they need to wear that clubs colours. That’s pretty simple. No issue.

If they play at our club then I expect them to wear our colours, not another teams, I don’t think it’s too hard to fathom or irrational to be fair.

I am sure Fox will turn up to pre season 100% committed to play for us.

It was a poor choice of attire, he didn’t need to do it and unfortunately for me and others he wore it to the GF, where he was very likely to be seen in it.

You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to mine. Not a good look.
EG, you should preface your opinion(s) with IMO. We get it. In your opinion it was a poor choice of attire. I expect most people would be of the opinion that a footy jumper of the team you're supporting is fine, if they have an opinion on it at all.

Worry when a Swans player wears a Pies jumper to a Swans v. Pies game. Until then, it's really none of your beeswax what Fox wears.

I think Tassie would be a brilliant idea.
You people do realise it is quite developed and not a spot in the Tiwi islands, yes?
50,000 fans would add much needed diversity to the Tassie gene pool, with its warning sign "Shallow. Do not dive". Fortunately, Pies fans have the perfect contraceptive to stop them polluting the gene pool, their personalities*

*This may not apply to Ouse, Strahan, Tarraleah, Waddmana or the North West.

Trouble with the bs AFL MCG deal being so long is that no other state would bother building a big enough stadium to put pressure on the AFL.

Put the corporate people out in tents and you could have it at other venues, most of them don't watch anyway.

Trouble with the bs AFL MCG deal being so long is that no other state would bother building a big enough stadium to put pressure on the AFL.

Put the corporate people out in tents and you could have it at other venues, most of them don't watch anyway.
One of the best places to watch the Adelaide Test from is the Village Green connected to the ground. I spend most middle sessions out there sitting at a table with friends, drinking beer/wine, watching the big screens as well as the people who walk by. Best event on the calender.

I've heard the AFL(VFL) roll out similar excuses for hanging onto the huge advantage the MCG gives Melbourne based teams.

Your opinion of the Brewongle stand is no more relevant to my assertion than your preference for the atmosphere of the MCG over the SCG. Personally, I prefer the SCG and I expect many others do too, but the current state of grounds and their public transport links can and will change, even if there isn't the political will at present to build new stadiums.

Most stadiums have expanded with little or no public funding. Venues tend to grow incrementally, driven by demand. The MCG itself had reached 94,000 (seated and standing) by 1937, with much of that growth coming during decades that included WW1 and the Great Depression, hardly good economic times. Later expansion was funded by both the MCC and VFL.

Docklands (Marvel) is a recent example of a brand new stadium. At 53,000 seated capacity it cost almost the equivalent of $1 billion (in 2023 money). When the federal gov't wouldn't fund it for Olympic soccer, the AFL was prepared to wade in with the Vic government and various other interested stakeholders, like Seven. The AFL got a new HQ and later control of the stadium. Docklands gave the Vic government the drive for urban renewal they needed for the docklands area. Docklands also took pressure off the MCG and relieved some of the congestion live events caused in the surrounding neighbourhoods.

No matter how tight things are there's always money around for sporting grounds. Even in 2023, the federal government has promised $235m towards the Tassie stadium while the Vic government is to spend a similar amount on upgrading Docklands. Sponsors and interested parties usually make up the rest. Sport is a very big business.

There have been many tougher times than today over the last half-century yet footy grounds have continued to grow, as have transport links, which tend to follow demand. Getting to the SCG by public transport today is so much easier than it was even a few years back, and way better than when I went to my first Swans game in 1995. Back then it was easiest to walk or pub crawl from Circular Quay. The SCG capacity has grown since then too.

It may take another 50 years before we see the GF moved out of Melbourne, but my point still stands. AFL will never be a truly national competition while it remains anchored in Melbourne. The AFL needs to begin planning for a national future.

Climate change is adding to Sydney’s live event woes.

Racing meets are regularly washed out in Sydney as is the cricket.

A mega covered stadium inside Randwick for both AFL teams, cricket and concerts with the track having cover.

We have 1.34m fans. That will grow and it would be great if more could find seats in a state of the art facility. The SCG does have its charms but it is not fit for purpose as a footy or cricket venue.

Wont be in my lifetime but it will happen.

1.34m

Fair to say Tom Green from GWS is a died in the wool supporter of NSW football. I might have to listen to this podcast.

“That kid might be good enough and he may end up being good enough, but there’s kids in those Allies states, Queensland, New South Wales, ACT, Tassie, who are putting up better numbers, playing better and don’t get picked up and that does my head in.”

Mate give it a rest. Half your posts are complaining about what's posted by whom, and where.

75%

We are allowed to talk about Oliver , he may be the "goodest" bloke ever, but certainly seems to need to pull his head in. Glad we didn't get him the more that comes out, seems to lack professionalism

75%

We are allowed to talk about Oliver , he may be the "goodest" bloke ever, but certainly seems to need to pull his head in. Glad we didn't get him the more that comes out, seems to lack professionalism
You misread that old monarch mate , if was about things being said on social media , he's no angel , but so are many in the comp . Never said anything else apart from potato cakes