No Oppo Supporters 2023 General AFL Discussion - incl. AFL Grand Final

Was very guarded , but sad how it's now going for a certain Demon who's a star , F drugs
When the club sets such low standards, players who are suseptable fall through the cracks.

Something big will happen in the reserves comp , all rumour atm
Don’t think it will involves a national reserves comp. Can’t see the AFL doing much, and will not be open to WA and SA joining due to the destruction it will cause to SANFL and WAFL. I think the AFLW investment kills any real look at a national reserves. It needs a shakeup though, no doubt.

Well...

That is why E Hollands went cheap

Ngl I don't think he has much impact when he plays regardless...

Ollie is better so far

Look who hasn't grown up dreaming of playing on Marvel, I know I did /s

Even in my sporting fantasies, I never dreamed of playing in a particular stadium.

it was always scoring goals, or ending in a back page scandal.

I've heard the AFL(VFL) roll out similar excuses for hanging onto the huge advantage the MCG gives Melbourne based teams.

Your opinion of the Brewongle stand is no more relevant to my assertion than your preference for the atmosphere of the MCG over the SCG. Personally, I prefer the SCG and I expect many others do too, but the current state of grounds and their public transport links can and will change, even if there isn't the political will at present to build new stadiums.

Most stadiums have expanded with little or no public funding. Venues tend to grow incrementally, driven by demand. The MCG itself had reached 94,000 (seated and standing) by 1937, with much of that growth coming during decades that included WW1 and the Great Depression, hardly good economic times. Later expansion was funded by both the MCC and VFL.

Docklands (Marvel) is a recent example of a brand new stadium. At 53,000 seated capacity it cost almost the equivalent of $1 billion (in 2023 money). When the federal gov't wouldn't fund it for Olympic soccer, the AFL was prepared to wade in with the Vic government and various other interested stakeholders, like Seven. The AFL got a new HQ and later control of the stadium. Docklands gave the Vic government the drive for urban renewal they needed for the docklands area. Docklands also took pressure off the MCG and relieved some of the congestion live events caused in the surrounding neighbourhoods.

No matter how tight things are there's always money around for sporting grounds. Even in 2023, the federal government has promised $235m towards the Tassie stadium while the Vic government is to spend a similar amount on upgrading Docklands. Sponsors and interested parties usually make up the rest. Sport is a very big business.

There have been many tougher times than today over the last half-century yet footy grounds have continued to grow, as have transport links, which tend to follow demand. Getting to the SCG by public transport today is so much easier than it was even a few years back, and way better than when I went to my first Swans game in 1995. Back then it was easiest to walk or pub crawl from Circular Quay. The SCG capacity has grown since then too.

It may take another 50 years before we see the GF moved out of Melbourne, but my point still stands. AFL will never be a truly national competition while it remains anchored in Melbourne. The AFL needs to begin planning for a national future.
Just read this brilliant post, thanks RubbaDuck. Agreed!

One of the best places to watch the Adelaide Test from is the Village Green connected to the ground. I spend most middle sessions out there sitting at a table with friends, drinking beer/wine, watching the big screens as well as the people who walk by. Best event on the calender.
Nothing beats the hill.

Sat arvo. Ashes. Mitch Johns.... oh, uh... nevermind. OFFTOPIC!!

About Joel Smith, why has this information been made public? Normally when players are caught taking illicit drugs it is not made public (unless they are caught by police and charged/fined e.g. Michael Talia). Is it because cocaine is an exception and considered performance enhancing? Somehow I doubt it otherwise we would have heard about other instances with players caught taking cocaine. Did someone rat him out? What's the deal? Bit harsh on him when most players get to deal with this type of malfeasance behind closed doors.
He's under the anti-doping policy for a matchday positive test, cocaine being considered a performance enhancing drug when taken in-competition. That means it's all governed by the global anti-doping rules and not the AFL's own custom rules for illicit drug use (with the three strikes policy and the confidentiality and all that).

Performance enhancing drug infractions are published under the adverse findings reporting of ASADA, meaning it would be public eventually. Most athletes generally go public with these as soon as they get the result, to get out in front of it.

The talk of a 3 month suspension is if he can prove he took it out of competition (ie, before midnight at the start of the round 23 matchday on which he tested positive). It's 2 years if he can't prove it wasn't matchday use.

He's under the anti-doping policy for a matchday positive, cocaine being considered a performance enhancing drug when taken in-competition. That means it's all governed by the global anti-doping rules and not the AFL's own custom rules for illicit drug use with the three strikes policy and all that.

Performance enhancing drug infractions are published under the adverse findings reporting of ASADA, meaning it would be public eventually. Most athletes generally go public as soon as they get the result, to get out in front of it.

The talk of a 3 month suspension is if he can prove he took it out of competition (ie, before midnight at the start of the round 23 matchday on which he tested positive). It's 2 years if he can't prove it wasn't matchday use.

Thanks Arwib. That explains it - it's because it is considered 'performance enhancing'. And the reason other players taking cocaine haven't been pinged is because they did it out of competition. Assuming you're right (I believe you but you haven't quoted any source), I've learned something.

Nothing beats the hill.

Sat arvo. Ashes. Mitch Johns.... oh, uh... nevermind. OFFTOPIC!!
Tinny fights, greased up pigs named Gatting, streakers.. The Hill had it all
as teenagers we used to take watermelons with truckloads of rum injected into them - fun times

Edit: Rum soaked watermelons were definitely performance enhancing.. thank f**k ASADA wasn't around back then

He's under the anti-doping policy for a matchday positive test, cocaine being considered a performance enhancing drug when taken in-competition. That means it's all governed by the global anti-doping rules and not the AFL's own custom rules for illicit drug use (with the three strikes policy and the confidentiality and all that).

Performance enhancing drug infractions are published under the adverse findings reporting of ASADA, meaning it would be public eventually. Most athletes generally go public with these as soon as they get the result, to get out in front of it.

The onus is on Smith to prove when he took it. Presumably this requires corroboration (a risk for them esp if another player or dealer).

I guess he would also have to indicate how much he took.

His story would need to be consistent with the levels found in his urine, IE amount by time lapse by estimated purity of the coke.