Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Hypothetically you're drafting for us. Based on there draft ranges who would you select with our picks as they stand? Only selecting one for each spot.
2. McKercher
3. Watson (Even though I rate Curtin, I just think we desperately need goal kicking small forward)
15. Edwards
17. Schoenmaker
18. Jiath

Then I'd look to take a developing key forward in the rookie draft and a mature ager like Mannagh if we have enough list spots.

Surely George Stevens ranks above Hastie. I would throw Rudd or Morris into the Forward mix

Stevens, despite being one of the best all round footballers in this draft, is going to be severely limited by his athletic upside. If he was a bit quicker or a bit more agile he'd be a top 10 pick. Hastie has stacks of athletic upside and clubs love those physical attacking half back flankers.

2. McKercher
3. Watson (Even though I rate Curtin, I just think we desperately need goal kicking small forward)
15. Edwards
17. Schoenmaker
18. Jiath

This I like a lot.

2. McKercher
15. Edwards
17. Schoenmaker
18. Jiath

Then I'd look to take a developing key forward in the rookie draft and a mature ager like Mannagh if we have enough list spots.

Stevens, despite being one of the best all round footballers in this draft, is going to be severely limited by his athletic upside. If he was a bit quicker or a bit more agile he'd be a top 10 pick. Hastie has stacks of athletic upside and clubs love those physical attacking half back flankers.
I like this and hope it to be true. I'd prefer Duursma over Watson but wouldn't be mad if we took the Wiz. Jiath is a must.

2. McKercher
15. Edwards
17. Schoenmaker
18. Jiath

Looks great mate.

Not that I'm very worried about our defensive stocks for next year or anything :grimacing:, but how far off would you say Schoenmaker and Jiath are from being selectable for our seniors?

Just going off the weights, it seems like Schoenmaker is already approaching the ballpark build for a third tall intercepting type, but it could be that Jiath might need a bit of time to fill out?

So I went back to check Watson's school footy results after it was mentioned on the Rush Hour that he had kicked over 70 goals across all competitions this year.

11 in the Coates league, 15 at the National champs and from what I could find, 27 goals in school footy with 4 games not having any stats listed.

School footy goals breakdown - 5,7,unknown,1,6,5,bye,unknown,unknown,3,unknown.

The fact we've shown no interest in trading for or attracting any small forward - and with the likes of Schultz and Ginnivan gettable - makes me wonder if we haven't already got Watson marked down with one of the top 3 picks.

Clarko loves his pacy creative small forwards too, its not like he doesn't rate them.

d63ecffd47a174d09ad9657a92fae7647066c506

So I went back to check Watson's school footy results after it was mentioned on the Rush Hour that he had kicked over 70 goals across all competitions this year.

11 in the Coates league, 15 at the National champs and from what I could find, 27 goals in school footy with 4 games not having any stats listed.

School footy goals breakdown - 5,7,unknown,1,6,5,bye,unknown,unknown,3,unknown.
Sticking my neck out here, I just don't think he's a good as they make out......but will prob now get picked by us and I'll adore him :drunk:

Watsons Coates League (21, 22, 23) vs U18 (22, 23)

KICKS: -18.48%
HANDBALLS: 12.74%
DISPOSALS: -8.67%
MARKS: 10.29%
HITOUTS: 0%
TACKLES: -55.88%
INSIDE 50: -53.13%
REBOUND 50: 25.00%
GOALS: 34.62%

Take from that what you will.

Watsons Coates League (21, 22, 23) vs U18 (22, 23)

KICKS: -18.48%
HANDBALLS: 12.74%
DISPOSALS: -8.67%
MARKS: 10.29%
HITOUTS: 0%
TACKLES: -55.88%
INSIDE 50: -53.13%
REBOUND 50: 25.00%
GOALS: 34.62%

Take from that what you will.

He'll be a shit ruck.

Looks great mate.

Not that I'm very worried about our defensive stocks for next year or anything :grimacing:, but how far off would you say Schoenmaker and Jiath are from being selectable for our seniors?

Just going off the weights, it seems like Schoenmaker is already approaching the ballpark build for a third tall intercepting type, but it could be that Jiath might need a bit of time to fill out?

Schoenmaker has a big frame and has some experience playing seniors in the Tassie state league. I think he could play across half back next year, but would take a few years before he is ready to play with the big boys.

Jiath will be a slower burn imo. Will take a few years to get strong enough to compete at AFL level. I wouldn't expect there will be too many from pick 15 onwards that will be plug and play types

That makes no sense. Is the difference between pick 1 & 2 worth potentially 2 more starting 23 players? Given that you don't even know if pick 1 will be better than 2 in the end?
The value of pick 1 really comes down to the strength of the top 5 draftees. If the talent gap of the top 5 was pretty even and the #1 ranked player changed frequently on draft talent predictors, you'd probably find that the strength and value of #1 is diminished and also, the desperation of other teams wanting to trade up.

If Wayne Carey was the no.1 talent in a draft...what could you command to exchange your Pick #1 vs Patrick Cripps at No.1?

Not saying Harley Reid is Wayne Carey but if the experts call Reid a generational talent then these blokes are putting Reid in that rarified conversation (in my eyes) as Bontempelli when it's all said and done therefore hghly prized and can't fault WCE wanting max value for it (possibly wanting to replicate our effort last year)....only problem they have is we hold 2+3 and a lot of cards!!

Schoenmaker has a big frame and has some experience playing seniors in the Tassie state league. I think he could play across half back next year, but would take a few years before he is ready to play with the big boys.

Jiath will be a slower burn imo. Will take a few years to get strong enough to compete at AFL level. I wouldn't expect there will be too many from pick 15 onwards that will be plug and play types
Thats why we need to bring in talls now. LDU will be 28-29 in 4 years. The clock is ticking.

When Brady was on Gettable the other day he mentioned that he felt we had enough support in defence but we were also open to options that would help us in the short-term. Based on the above that makes sense if we were to select Schoenmaker and Jiath as it would give them time to develop.

Harley Reid and Nick Watson were on the most recent episode of Dyl and Friends. Nothing too interesting regarding how the draft may play out or who they rate - it was only about 30 minutes all up. The line of questioning was more about their journeys and how they've taken in the year, and more recently the combine and interviews with clubs.

They mentioned that Nate Caddy gets onto BigFooty which I thought was funny but not surprising.
Ah crap want to apologise to Nate/Nostrils. I take back everything I said about your decision making and kicking.

He'll be a s**t ruck.
The value of pick 1 really comes down to the strength of the top 5 draftees. If the talent gap of the top 5 was pretty even and the #1 ranked player changed frequently on draft talent predictors, you'd probably find that the strength and value of #1 is diminished and also, the desperation of other teams wanting to trade up.

If Wayne Carey was the no.1 talent in a draft...what could you command to exchange your Pick #1 vs Patrick Cripps at No.1?

Not saying Harley Reid is Wayne Carey but if the experts call Reid a generational talent then these blokes are putting Reid in that rarified conversation (in my eyes) as Bontempelli when it's all said and done therefore hghly prized and can't fault WCE wanting max value for it (possibly wanting to replicate our effort last year)....only problem they have is we hold 2+3 and a lot of cards!!

Under 18 top 3 & 5 performers in stat categories. Categories include: Kicks, Handballs, Disposals, Marks, Hitouts, Tackles, Contested, Uncontested, Clearance, Inside 50, Rebound 50, Goals (12)

Player - U18Top 3'sTop 5's
Ryley Sanders
7.0​
9.0​
Colby McKercher
6.0​
8.0​
Caiden Cleary
5.0​
7.0​
Daniel Curtin
2.0​
6.0​
Archie Roberts
1.0​
4.0​
Harley Reid
2.0​
3.0​
Koltyn Tholstrup
2.0​
3.0​
Riley Hardeman
2.0​
3.0​
Arie Schoenmaker
1.0​
3.0​
Nate Caddy
1.0​
2.0​
Connor O'Sullivan
1.0​
2.0​
Harry De Mattia
1.0​
2.0​
Koen Sanchez
0.0​
2.0​
Nick Watson
1.0​
1.0​
Zane Duursma
1.0​
1.0​
Archer Reid
1.0​
1.0​
George Stevens
1.0​
1.0​
Mitch Edwards
1.0​
1.0​
Ollie Murphy
1.0​
1.0​
William Green
1.0​
1.0​

Excellent, I’ve already found a spot in my best 22 for round 1 with his name on it. I trust I’m not being too presumptuous.

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]