Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Schoenmaker has a big frame and has some experience playing seniors in the Tassie state league. I think he could play across half back next year, but would take a few years before he is ready to play with the big boys.

Jiath will be a slower burn imo. Will take a few years to get strong enough to compete at AFL level. I wouldn't expect there will be too many from pick 15 onwards that will be plug and play types
Any chance we pick up Tew and Clarko goes hard at getting CJ across?
That would be some serious speed in the back half.

I've only watched maybe 8 games this year but based on those games alone my top 4, in order, would be Walter, Sanders, McKercher, Reid.

If I include the games that I saw last year then Reid jumps to the top.

I think that McKercher and Sanders are more likely to win a brownlow but Reid is more likely to win you a final.

If I was WC, with their list, I would honestly take McKercher or Sanders at pick 1. As North, I would take Reid.

So one of the more frequent criticisms of Reid seems to be that his tank is pretty average.

I’ve a kinda naive question for recruiters or any sport scientists or medical types here.

How much is the limit of a player’s tank determined by training versus genetics?

Specifically, how probable is it that when a player goes through the draft with elite footy qualities, but without the tank to sustain repeat efforts across four quarters at an AFL level, that this weakness can be fixed through preseasons?

Are we talking “practically guaranteed with the right application”, or just “more likely than not”, or perhaps even less likely?

I guess what I’m getting at is this: how certain can any team be that Reid’s tank will improve to the prerequisite level after he’s spent enough time in a professional environment?

So one of the more frequent criticisms of Reid seems to be that his tank is pretty average.

I’ve a kinda naive question for recruiters or any sport scientists or medical types here.

How much is the limit of a player’s tank determined by training versus genetics?

Specifically, how probable is it that when a player goes through the draft with elite footy qualities, but without the tank to sustain repeat efforts across four quarters at an AFL level, that this weakness can be fixed through preseasons?

Are we talking “practically guaranteed with the right application”, or just “more likely than not”, or perhaps even less likely?
Resident Exercise Physiologist here.

Someone's tank is basically called their cardiorespiratory conditioning / or their Vo2 max (ability to utilise oxygen).

This is largely trained. There is an element of genetics involved but realistically if you have the vessel to be able to undertake the necessary loading (or training) then it should be able to be improved quite easily.
Basically, as long as their isn't something getting in the way e.g. poor skeletal structure or someone being so injury prone that they can't achieve lengthy continuity of training, there is no reason why they shouldnt be able to reach very high fitness levels.

2 McKercher
3 Curtain
15 Murphy
17 Leake
18 A Reid

Best pure mid, speed, elite kick

Intercepting defender - great kick

Tall key back

Fast rebounding skilful defender (Sheezel replacement)

Tall key forward.
im confused is Mckercher an elite kick or terrible kick? because iv seen him described as both on here!

Not sure how many times it needs to be stated, but if you want an intercept defender, there's a very good chance you're going to be disappointed with Curtin.

He does a lot of things well, intercepting is not one of them.
Just curious, assuming O’Sullivan is off the board by Pick 15, who would your picks be for those late first rounders?

Someone's tank is basically called their cardiorespiratory conditioning / or their Vo2 max (ability to utilise oxygen).

This is largely trained. There is an element of genetics involved but realistically if you have the vessel to be able to undertake the necessary loading (or training) then it should be able to be improved quite easily.
Basically, as long as their isn't something getting in the way e.g. poor skeletal structure or someone being so injury prone that they can't achieve lengthy continuity of training, there is no reason why they shouldnt be able to reach very high fitness levels.
Thanks Garibaldi82 - that’s just what I wanted to hear!

As a pretty keen but ultimately casual long distance runner I’ve got a small familiarity with the importance of improving your vo2 max for performance. But obviously I’ve never had cause to work out how much you can depend on a solid conditioning program to give an otherwise elite athlete the necessary endurance to make the most of their talents.

Sounds like it’s not really something worth worrying about though!

im confused is Mckercher an elite kick or terrible kick? because iv seen him described as both on here!
If you watched selected highlights he’s elite. If you watched every disposal in one or two games from him (like I have), you start having doubts. Only the guys that have watched hours and hours of Mckercher would know for sure.

As a pretty keen but ultimately casual long distance runner I’ve got a small familiarity with the importance of improving your vo2 max for performance. But obviously I’ve never had cause to work out how much you can depend on a solid conditioning program to give an otherwise elite athlete the necessary endurance to make the most of their talents.

Don’t worry MP, you’ll be lapping Harley Reid before you know it. 😉

So Ziebs and Cunners were lazy f***ers?

Happy to help.
Yeah wouldn't worry too much.

Apart from the occasional freak athlete, the large majority of these kids are pretty much starting from a similar base.
The guys who are the best runners almost always seem to be the guys who put the most work in and are the most diligent with their training.

That's where the skeletal structure comes into play a bit more. Eg, someone like WilPhil might have the best Vo2 max in the team, but it most likely wouldn't translate to him being the best runner on the team. - shorter stride lengths and he would be carrying more weight than the average for his height and limb length.

However, if you put that same engine into a LDU, Goater or Bergman type then you'd have a serious AFL end to end runner.

Love this info Dr Garibaldi82 !!

Can you give us an insight on Wardlaw and what the club may have done in managing his hamstrings as well as condition them? Often read that hamstring scarring can cause greater risk of reinjury..does his powerful bursts from go to whoa also be a factor.

Lastly, how does a players weight factor into their ability to say run 10km at 5kph.

So we should forget about Reid, Biggie & CJ's brother and draft the bloke who just won the Chicago marathon!?

He'd be a Category B pick-up too... We're due one of those actually playing an AFL game.

Love this info Dr Garibaldi82 !!

Can you give us an insight on Wardlaw and what the club may have done in managing his hamstrings as well as condition them? Often read that hamstring scarring can cause greater risk of reinjury..does his powerful bursts from go to whoa also be a factor.

Lastly, how does a players weight factor into their ability to say run 10km at 5kph.
I do have concerns with his hamstrings. I would say will certainly do them multiple more times. It's just about minimising the severity of them.
He is that reckless and explosive that even if you prepped him the best way possible, he is putting that much rapid stretching and contraction into his strings that they'll have to go eventually. Would be pumped to get 150 games out of him. Just make sure he plays in the September ones. Reckon he'll be a bit like Taylor Adams in how he'll miss multiple games / and be managed.

Next question. Less weight = run better.😂 Significant impact

To a point. There's always a trade off.
Both needed a reasonable amount of size to play inside mid for all those years. They may have put in more work in the gym potentially (potentially)
Ok, I’m prepared to be shot down, but I recollect from my year 12 PE classes that athletes fall into the fast twitch or slow twitch muscle fibre category and that has a bearing on whether you are a natural runner or not?

It’s inconsistent in my opinion.

He is capable of hitting low 45m bullets that hit a forward on the chest, but then he is also capable of over kicking short hit up kicks.

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]