List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread II - Goldy&Bucket➡️✅/'24 EoFR & #44➡️Stephens&#25✅/#21&#25➡️Fisher&#17✅/'24 EoFR➡️#18✅

I reckon it would be a phenomenal thing to do. Remember if we take 6 good campaigners from the same draft plus their top agers sheez wardlaw and bring em to the club, they have mates, bottom age.. the culture will be ******* awesome.

That’ll be 10 players on the list that all know one another
Worked well for Good Coast.

Jks

Just on the Haynes pick 7 salary dump - my info is North have been into Haynes for at least 2/3 months knowing what his contract situation is. I think Brady was playing a pretty good game of poker when asked about it this week. Watch this space as it’s still very much a live option which would in all likelihood secure us a handy player and the trade capital to get pick 1. The only stumbling block is - are GWS still prepared to deal - again I think they may have been telling some white lies when discussing it earlier this week and are certainly open to the move.

Big shout out to Chris Scott right now. He was livid when we had 4 1st round picks over 2 years. Now we have 5 this year he must be having an aneurysm
The club should send him a care package
You’ve got the circumstance backwards - it isn’t the Eagles who want the trade despite what old mate McClure will have you believe.
It’s up to the buying club- IE North, to stump up.

As supporters we really would rather the club just take Reid. The hashtag JTR is firmly a thing on our board.

Sadly I feel a trade will happen that doesn’t really appeal to either club fan bases. Firmly in the middle zone

It’ll involve 2 though, of that I’m confident
Yeah one player against five should end well

I really want you guys to take Reid. He does seem a great talent. But I would prefer 4 great talents. My aim from hear would be Haynes +7 for 18, and maybe work on 15 + 17 for 8 from Geelong
Go to the draft with
Job done
What’s the plan with pick 56 and 64?

Bundle it up for a future?

The only stumbling block is - are GWS still prepared to deal - again I think they may have been telling some white lies when discussing it earlier this week and are certainly open to the move.
They clearly want the contract gone, but on the other hand, there has been nothing to suggest their salary cap this off-season is in such a bad way that they'd be willing to forego a top 10 pick to get it off the books.

I wouldn't be that surprised if Haynes joins NM, but I'd be gobsmacked if he came with pick 7.

They could just pay 700k like Tom Morris suggested they were happy to, and we could get him for 500k.

That'd still be a win-win.

FdvSMeu.png
ALL YOUR PICKS ARE BELONG TO US

They clearly want the contract gone, but on the other hand, there has been nothing to suggest their salary cap this off-season is in such a bad way that they'd be willing to forego a top 10 pick to get it off the books.

I wouldn't be that surprised if Haynes joins NM, but I'd be gobsmacked if he came with pick 7.

They could just pay 700k like Tom Morris suggested they were happy to, and we could get him for 500k.

Yep agree - but my info was pick 7 was also a live option. Let’s see what happens. There may be a later pick swap involved too.

Okay Brady, Spargo and Haynes tomorrow please. Gracias.

Weren't we rumoured to be quote balls deep into a small... hoping that's still to come, plus would love Darcy to come to fruition too but that would need to be better than their compo so min 7 or 8

Meanwhile we’re all celebrating over here like it had nothing to do with the pp picks and McKay pick that let to this mastery of swapping 😂
McKay is a loss for sure. But at some stage we need to move on. Pick 3 softens the blow somewhat

Okay Brady, Spargo and Haynes tomorrow please. Gracias.

Weren't we rumoured to be quote balls deep into a small... hoping that's still to come, plus would love Darcy to come to fruition too but that would need to be better than their compo so min 7 or 8

They win a flag it will be.
Only Grundy has a chance to make a difference and let’s be honest Hickey did a pretty good job for them, so I’m not sure it’s the massive upgrade the media thinks it is.

As for Adams, my opinion it was a waste of draft capital. They have better and younger midfielders already. He probably keeps their medical staff busy more than anything.

Not what I would be proclaiming as earth shattering work. Tweaking around the edges at best.

That's a total bluff from gws.
If we offered to pay 700k extra would they really knock it back?
That's a like 3 Callaghan contract extensions or a fa target next year.

I don't get why so many of us are eager to trade away #2 to get hold of #1. We are in the driver's seat and when WCE eventually comes begging we should tell them that we're extremely happy with the picks we have, but that we're prepared to listen to what they have in mind. Then Brady needs to tell them that before they go any further, #2 is off the table, but that we're prepared to have #3 involved in a trade. If that isn't acceptable to WCE, we just walk away. We need #2 to secure the player we currently rate the best available target, which hopefully is McKercher. WCE will be desperate to split #1 and we need to make it happen on our terms.
I'm in agreeance with you about how critical #2 in any negotiation over #1 for these reason, which, IMO, needs to be completed as soon as possible, not with panic urgency but the patiences Brady and the team have shown so far:
  • Securing #1, you know it's Reid.
  • By keeping #2, we have the luxury as a whole club (Clarko, Brady and recruitment), to thoroughly and diligently go through the top 10 with the possibility that Curtin is off the table in a gentlemens agreement...its 1 mth before the National Draft starts.
  • If #2 was traded to WCE, we loose control on the 'next' available player..we bank on them picking Curtin then they pick McKercher, we bank on then picking Mckercher...it's now plan B,C,D etc

We've had the greatest draft hand in our history, if we make a play for #1/Reid then we must keep #2...make the plan a,b,c for the later 1st rounders but #1 is a certainty and so should #2, treat it like last year with Sheez and Warlord...the certainty was Cadman going to GWS and Ashcroft to Brissie therefore they honed in and crystal clear on exactly who we wanted at #2&#3...no need to make plans.

That's a total bluff from gws.
If we offered to pay 700k extra would they really knock it back?
That's a like 3 Callaghan contract extensions or a fa target next year.

Esp when he is behind Taylor Buckley idun and Himmel!