List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

Reid would be the one from Essendon i would like. Baldwin wont make it. BZT isnt realistic.

Where does Caddy fit in with Larkey, Comben and CCJ?
BZT still out of contract

Reid is contracted next year

Baldwin would be cheap depth, looked good in his senior games this eyar

Caddy would be depth for now he wont play that much in year 1 but will eventually replace ccj or if comben doesnt make it

I was thinking of someone like Tomlinson too as a target if McKay leaves.
I'd rather take a key defender at the Port pick like O'Sullivan hopefully to develop and no flight risk. Or is O'Sullivan likely to go higher?
If we got Watson, Caddy and O'Sullivan that would solve small forward and key position depth.

We need at least four Jack Crisp-style, solid B grade footballers in the 24-28yo age group.

Dependable role players.

If people think Corr is bad(i'm one of them), wait to they see Tomlinson.

Jack Graham was one mentioned on the AFL weekly podcast as being gettable, I'd be interested in him, mature body, out of a good system and can play a variety of roles. Hard one to figure out a trade value for.

Gresham is a free agent

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&quot;Since Round 8, he&#39;s only kicked three goals in his last five games and as a result, is the lowest rated player in the competition. He&#39;s had 50 kicks and only 18 of them have been effective.&quot; <br><br>- Daniel Hoyne on Jade Gresham</p>&mdash; Sportsday (@SENSportsday) <a href="">June 20, 2023</a></blockquote>

With kicking like that, he suits the list profile perfectly.

Shiels replacement. Not a flashy player but runs all day.

Very different player to Graham.

However, I do like Gresham even though he can be selfish at times. Massive upgrade on what we currently have inside 50. I think he wants to play more mid time, which will be unlikely if the growth of our young blokes continues.
My bad i read that as gresham not graham

graham is out of contract so would come pretty cheap also

I have often wondered about the potential for Comben as a key defender to replace Mckay if needed. This would allow a chance to draft Caddy as a Key Forward. If Caddy were to come on as quickly as the last top 10 key forward in Amiss then he would be well and truly ready to go by 2025.

haha please. Tomlinson top 10 in Best and fairests in stacked GWs teams, and very strong performances in finals to his name.

Tomlinson has plenty of runs on the board. Would be a solid stop gap whilst we draft and develop a young KPD, and from all reports a very popular player amongst team mates.

Definitely worse ideas than this.

I reckon Noah Answerth might be the right shout to bring over to play on small forwards. Solidly built, good defensively, neat kick while not amazing. Not heaps going offensively but enough that he’s not a liability. Room to grow. 23 years old, 51 games, fits the timeline. Someone else brought him up, maybe RF08, forgive me but I don’t quite remember.

In my opinion we’d still need a key back (Reid or DGB good shouts, not sure I’d go to draft for one), a top class distributor (I brought up Farrell but seemed to be to no avail), and then some running types to develop from the draft (along with an Interceptor; I’d like a late flyer on Bodie Ryan who leads SANFL u18s in intercept marks as a medium defender iirc). Backline needs a lot of work…
Forward line we just need to add some talent at the top end of the draft and maybe rookie one or two pressuring/hard running types with good kicks from the state leagues (i.e Sean Mannagh, Eamon Wilkinson) as well as a developmental tall-ish forward in a different mould to those we have, later on.

haha please. Tomlinson top 10 in Best and fairests in stacked GWs teams, and very strong performances in finals to his name.

Tomlinson has plenty of runs on the board. Would be a solid stop gap whilst we draft and develop a young KPD, and from all reports a very popular player amongst team mates.

Definitely worse ideas than this.

It’s a bad idea, he’s no good.

Even when he was playing ok footy, it was never as a KPD.

I don't mind the idea of bringing in someone like Graham or Broad from a successful environment a bit like Dees with Jordan Lewis, can set premiership standards.