List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

• Thread starter Thread starter George

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
Looking forward to the next two days, Damo on Friday said that we were working on something absolutely massive, and he's usually bang on!
I agree.

Unfortunately Coff wanted a fresh start and tbh l think they were right to hardball him. Losing 2 consecutive years of prime development will absolutely lower his ceiling, and if they can can swap him for Dow then it's a win.

I think we paid 32 for Zac Jones who was in Sydney's best 22 still. Dow was a slightly higher pick but much more fringe but has had heaps of opportunity. Coffield has uptapped potential offset by injury. He's pretty much Nathan Freeman. I reckon a mid to late second round pick for Coffield. Early to mid third for Dow feels about right. If that's what it ends up costing it won't be outrageous overs but probably a bit more than I'd be happy with.

View attachment 1832505
Somehow, you take away the white from the saints jumper and his eyebrows go from incredible to absolutely ******* cooked.

Z38kSEK.gif

Coffield could come good at the Dogs but I think he will always be a bit too slow (or maybe not agile enough) to play on the smalls and a bit too short to play on the talls. But in the right backline he could find a slot that works as an intercepting attacking back. At St Kilda he was surplus and likely to play VFL again next year can’t play him with Wilkie and Battle and I can’t see him replacing either one. Best for him to leave. We have had a habit of hanging on to our players too long - Billing’s should have left years ago now we are going to have to pay him to leave.

I actually am much keener to hang on to DMac can’t believe his body is shot already he actually makes a difference when he plays just up until this year he kept smashing himself in reckless contests. His 12 month calf injury might be the end but that would be a real loss. Feel like Ross would just love how he plays if he could get on the park. Let the German witch doctor do his thing and cross our fingers he comes good.

I agree on Coff not having an obvious place in the side but I reckon DMac is probably cooked. Calves are a shit. Hardly ever get them right again. If he gets signed off on by the docs I'm happy to keep him.

Looking forward to the next two days, Damo on Friday said that we were working on something absolutely massive, and he's usually bang on!
Nah, that was the swap of fourths with Freo. Huge deal! Should be on the front page tomorrow. Anything else could only be a let down from here.

Gresh did a lot of good for us. especially in those early years and as a forward, was a huge threat around inside 50 stoppages

HOWEVER. I will not miss him running behind a player with the ball after a mark/free kick on the edge of our defensive 50 screaming for a quick handball and doing a jazz hands routine when he's facing away from the direction he's running in and there's an opposition player 15 - 30m in that direction.

The amount of rushed mung punts he would run himself into in those scenarios when we had just shutdown an opposition piece of play going forward was incredibly frustrating. A lot of love for forward 50 Gresh, a lot of frustration for defensive 50 Gresh.

Coffield could come good at the Dogs but I think he will always be a bit too slow (or maybe not agile enough) to play on the smalls and a bit too short to play on the talls. But in the right backline he could find a slot that works as an intercepting attacking back. At St Kilda he was surplus and likely to play VFL again next year can’t play him with Wilkie and Battle and I can’t see him replacing either one. Best for him to leave. We have had a habit of hanging on to our players too long - Billing’s should have left years ago now we are going to have to pay him to leave.

I actually am much keener to hang on to DMac can’t believe his body is shot already he actually makes a difference when he plays just up until this year he kept smashing himself in reckless contests. His 12 month calf injury might be the end but that would be a real loss. Feel like Ross would just love how he plays if he could get on the park. Let the German witch doctor do his thing and cross our fingers he comes good.
Haven't noticed Nick as lacking pace, maybe his injuries slowed him down?

Coffield tested as one of the fastest players in the draft pool with a sub-three second 20m sprint time. Add to that his sizable vertical leap, 190cm frame and strong hands, and you have a ready-made AFL athlete. The most promising thing about Coffield is that he combines his athletic traits with a high-level football IQ, which has inevitably seen him draw comparisons to Scott Pendlebury.

Like the Collingwood skipper, Coffield provides a cool head amidst the mayhem of stoppages, weaving his way through traffic and turning on dimes. His clearance work has improved out of sight this year and more midfield time has really aided that side of his game. And with one of the most accurate kicks in the TAC Cup this season, Coffield’s efficiency has seen him stand out even more as clubs at the top level try to claim the best ball users.

Anyone? Locked me out

I’ve posted it in the media thread. I think most of it has already been printed elsewhere since trade period started. I’d like someone to do the same for every list manager. Might find that all list managers get some right and some wrong.

Just sharing your info mate Xo

Looks like Hollands deal is a simple pick swap. Incredible deal for us. We were apparently into him for a while. He wasn't keen to leave GCS but we sold him the chance

Billing’s offered for Dow. Could be a smaller Bowes deal but I have no idea if we are interested

Clubs know our F1 is on table to go up draft order

2-3 draft picks and a couple of mature players is still the plan

That's the feeling I've been getting after speaking to a few too.

Unconfirmed but, potentially something of unquantifiable volume could indeed be happening AND not everyone is going to happy about it, actually scratch that, some are probably going to be extremely not happy, a few may be ambivalent though… miserable campaigners.

A lot of water to go under the bridge though so… watch this space but also keep an eye on areas adjacent to this space.

I can't say a lot more than this, but it definitely could be exciting!

Can go any bauxite ohness.

🦩

Cofield is my only regret so far in the trading. I thought our selectors were too reserved, and should have given him a game or two when he was over his injury. Before his injury he was playing really well.

Who do you drop for him though? He's probably not as good a defender as Webster but would have him covered in a few other areas, Battle a better contested mark and hard as a cats head, Wilkie and Sincs don't need any discussion really, Nas almost as untouchable off the back as Wilkie and Sincs, and Stocker seems to be Battle lite in a way, goes hard at every contest, a decent grab and a good kick. Trying to crack a game in our back 6 was pretty hard this year. Paton couldn't really, Highmore couldn't. I get why Coff wanted a fresh start.

WTH?
If a club is stupid enough to do it and it bites them in the bum so be it.
I don’t believe it’s up to the afl to list manage for clubs.

Personally, would hate us to ever go more than 5. Even a superstar can have a career-ending injury.

Unconfirmed but, potentially something of unquantifiable volume could indeed be happening AND not everyone is going to happy about it, actually scratch that, some are probably going to be extremely not happy, a few may be ambivalent though… miserable campaigners.

A lot of water to go under the bridge though so… watch this space but also keep an eye on areas adjacent to this space.

🦩
I tend to agree. From what I have been hearing amongst industry circles and the whispers that have gone on within club war rooms is that we are going to be in for a bumper next 24-48 hours with clubs wheeling and dealing a variety of potential offerings and some borking on others.

There's a few shrewd operators in this business and they will come to the fore, as they say the cream rises to the top and there will be some jostling for positions on the grid as the sun sets on what's been a pretty wild trade period. Expect a few shock calls, a few multiple pick swap deals and perhaps even a few four or five club blockbuster trades.

🦩

I tend to agree. From what I have been hearing amongst industry circles and the whispers that have gone on within club war rooms is that we are going to be in for a bumper next 24-48 hours with clubs wheeling and dealing a variety of potential offerings and some borking on others.

There's a few shrewd operators in this business and they will come to the fore, as they say the cream rises to the top and there will be some jostling for positions on the grid as the sun sets on what's been a pretty wild trade period. Expect a few shock calls, a few multiple pick swap deals and perhaps even a few four or five club blockbuster trades.

A real "iT sEeMs tHaT wAy LLoRdO" tone to these.

Will have to see how the smoke and shadows behind the windows play out obviously but seem real percolations in here it would seem.

Cofield is my only regret so far in the trading. I thought our selectors were too reserved, and should have given him a game or two when he was over his injury. Before his injury he was playing really well.
I would also have liked that, and for him to stay, but unfortunately it was at the point end of the season when the team was going well and aiming for finals.

Bad timing. I’ll regret it if / when he really starts playing good footy, but in the end he probably did need a new start and I think we were prudent not to offer too much.

I’ll be watching his, and Acres’ careers with interest and hope they both do well, but no hard feelings.

Funny you say that because I’ve been hearing something different. Everything is on the table but nothing is off the table. There’s a lot of anticipation but no movement yet. Weirdly everyone is silent but the silence is deafening. I guess things could go either way but nothing is guaranteed and I wouldn’t be surprised if something big might or might not happen. Watch this space.