List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

• Thread starter Thread starter George

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
Doubt it.

We will play finals barring another catastrophic injury run.

Comp is even. Gold Coast will push into finals next year under a better coach. Adelaide are pushing hard too. No current top eight team looks likely to fall away. Younger guys will have to step it up again.

Essendon, Adelaide, Dogs, Freo, GCS will all be better than this year IMO.

Richmond, Hawks and Geelong could go either way.

We'll have a harder draw and a poorer list at this rate.

I can handle a poor year if we're bringing in elite kids in the draft.

Dogs variable AF, depends on how pissed and pissed off Bevo is to set anything other than a mad flex, a scream and nap time.
GCS have done nothing to assume they will do anything but finish maybe 11th. Lot depends on new to launch, same with Richmond, and who is to say we'll have a Kingsley success instead of a Mitchell failure for finals?
Bombers have done SFA for almost 2 decades, their club is cancerous to finals footy.
I'll give you Crows, theirs is mental mostly.

Nothing to suggest that any of them hop into the 8 though, new 9thmond listing at best with Crows best of the bunch to step. And just on Freo, if they get buy in it'll be fine, but half of them give no shits and phone it in effort wise.

Every chance we get pieces and launch to Brissie level if we get similar buy in and pieces.

We're shooting the s**t at this stage I guess until we know the player movements.

Bit the suggested Ins & Outs are a net loss so far IMO.
Bytel Peris Gresham Connolly Adams

For

Shiel Dow Henry Lycett*

That’s roughly confirmed bar Lycett.

Seems a huge improvement to me.

Billings Coffield Clark Howard.

Nothing has happened and in the case of the superstar Billings. No one is making an offer at the minute. So no point worrying about what might happen until it does.

But I’ve seen enough of RTBs system that he can make bang average footballers play their role and have a top TOP defensive unit. Dawson over Maxy being the prime example.

I don't want to cause anyone ptsd but we all know that Max would have taken man, ball or probably both in the 2009 toe poke contest, yeah?

Bytel Peris Gresham Connolly Adams

For

Shiel Dow Henry Lycett*

That’s roughly confirmed bar Lycett.

Seems a huge improvement to me.

Billings Coffield Clark Howard.

Nothing has happened and in the case of the superstar Billings. No one is making an offer at the minute. So no point worrying about what might happen until it does.
Billings and Coffield played a handful of games between them, and won't impact our wins and loses.
Clarks output is replacable, and Cordy showed enough to provide comfort that if there's pressure on the ball he's an adequate swap for Dougal

Sure I read somewhere that Dow appears to be possibly going as a delisted free agent. So we wouldn’t need to pay for him at all would we?
I reckon that's wishful thinking.

The cheats will try to pry something decent for him.

You’re acting as if Dougs is a top 10 key defender in the league. He does some good things, but he also makes some howlers. I don’t really mind if he leaves or not, but if he stays, he’s gotta get rid of those brain fades and hopefully improve his 1v1s from above avg to elite. A bit more consistent pressure upfield would help him too.
Agreed, and he is not a top back. I have no love for Doogs, but I saw what happened without a key back in the finals.
I am just worried that our defence will get found out more....
....I dislike the s.hit poured on him when he is adequate.
In saying that if our mids are stronger and we can find an adequate key back, I won't be so worried.
I will wait to see what the backline looks like after the trade period.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Billings and Coffield played a handful of games between them, and won't impact our wins and loses.
Clarks output is replacable, and Cordy showed enough to provide comfort that if there's pressure on the ball he's an adequate swap for Dougal
I 100000% agree with you.

But I was trying to remain in the realm of reality I.e this has been confirmed , Bar Lycett.

I reckon that's wishful thinking.

The cheats will try to pry something decent for him.
Tom Morris reported it this morning.

A very late pick of a delisted free agent. They won’t hold out for much apparently

Speaking of recruiting players. Bruce still salty as ... gee we sacked Watters 10 years ago. Played over 100 games for us.

“I was a natural forward”

My man you weren’t a natural anything, how he strung a career that long together is beyond me. Then again Peter Frampton or whatever his name is just won a premiership so there ya go. Bruce seems to be getting a bit high on his own drama and seems to be moving into the Daniel Gorringe 2.0 shitposting direction.

As in football fans will kind of half heartedly chuckle every now and then and he’ll get pumped as if he’s putting out A grade social media content but it’s really C grade and he’s a former player so meh, he’ll scrape by as a pseudo-celebrity.

What is it with Hinkley's dislike of genuine ruckman? Lycett was a highly rated ruckman before his injuries, now they are pushing him out. Something smells to me?

I am another who doesnt mind if Howard leaves - if a club offer a 1st round pick then all we will need is them to convince Dougal his future lies with elsewhere. Then as stated by others try Hayes as a key defender.

All this talk about Dougal Howard and Cordy are giving me serious flashbacks of Longer v Hickey.

I dont really get all the hate for Cordy. He came for free and managed to play some good games and fill a need. I’d call that a win.

Dougal is expendable for the right price. I think we would jump at an early pick in the 20ies. Yes, it would leave as light on for key backs, but we’re building for the future, not next year.

Tom Morris reported it this morning.

A very late pick of a delisted free agent. They won’t hold out for much apparently
Hope so.

They owe it to him to not mess him around... but we are talking about that festering cheating bum hole of a club.

How long before Heath starts exploring his opportunitys?
Need to give him a taste next year. Must have been devastating for him to see Peris get a game while he lines up in a dud Sandy side week in week out.

Averaged two goals a game last year and 12 hitouts a game the year before. No first rounder for a 27 year old but otherwise he would be a good fit.

In saying that i hope to not see Caminiti pushed out, so a balancing act is required.
I really think Hammer wouldn't be ill served with a full year in VFL.

Hammer
Keeler
Moose
???
Van Ess

Would like to see McAsey offered a gig too.

Need to give him a taste next year. Must have been devastating for him to see Peris get a game while he lines up in a dud Sandy side week in week out.
Pleasingly, Max Heath was running laps at RSEA park last week…just needs to build his tank

Why poorer?
On the back of the loss of the 3 we delisted and Gresh?
Just love that every club bar us is always going to get better 🙄
Big gringo energy.

Gresham, Clark, Billings, Howard

for

Dow, Shiel, Henry, Hamling

To me that that is net loss… but it hasn't happened yet, so fear not.

Maybe we get decent years from players we didn't see like Coffield & Hayes

Wood, Ross, Hill, Webster are probably on the decline

Nas, Windy, Owens, Caminiti, Steele can go up a gear or two

Few middlers - Paton, Byrnes, Stocker, Jones, Dow

I don't know about you, but I found it a pretty grueling run towards the finals sneaking past WCE & kangas and losing to Hawthorn. On the other hand we were competitive with the top 4 sides.

Reality is, there wouldn’t be murmurs of trading Dougal if he wasn’t expendable.
As so many are stating, we’re thin in the KPD department, yet we’re shopping someone in the top 10 for disposal efficiency… kind of tells me there’s a few other boxes that he’s not ticking for RTB and his coaching team.
Being open to a trade for the right price doesn't mean we're actively shopping him around. We've seen the market for KPDs and have considered letting Dougal go if he nets us overs on his value. He's a best 22 defender and played every game he was available for except the final which was called a mistake by RTB.

Trading him for the sake of getting him out of the club does nothing to improve us now or the future, and some supporters on here can't seem to grasp that idea.

Midfielders, midfielders, midfielders. ✅

Yes, lethers said all the right things.

The problem is- he (and gags previously too) has been saying the same thing every year.

That we need elite, high end mids (without using high draft picks)

And year after year- they never get one.

I know you can't get blood from a stone- they are hard to get.
Sounds like we got close with degoey last year- so that's a tick.

BUT- it's not acceptable to go year after year forever trying the same thing over and again- and failing.

If it is too hard/impossible to land a big fish, elite mid as an RFA... we need to face that reality and stop planning our list around it.

We need to do something different.
For instance- instead of trying to land an already elite mid for no draft cost (which seems impossible)...

We should instead take on some risk and throw a huge money offer (~800kx6) at someone we think will become an elite, big fish mid in the next couple of years.

Plus spend some draft capital (eg 1 first round pick) to make it happen.

Heath apparently was the one telling the club he wasn't ready for AFL and wanted to spend the year at Sandy developing so don't think he'll be looking to go anywhere. He has to be looking at a debut this year though as he won't be able to delay playing with the big boys any longer.