2024 Ladder Predictions

After their win in the match simulation, Richmond are clearly premiership contenders.

Melbourne on the other hand are going to struggle this year.
All joking aside, our preseason games are usually a pretty good indication of our season. Especially how we start the season. That's not true for some teams like Geelong, but it usually is for us.

This time last year we defeated North by 2 points and got thumped by Melbourne to the tune of 50 points. Didn't score above 75 points and carried that goal-kicking struggle into the season proper. In contrast, we scored 100+ against a miserly Geelong defence in the 2022 preseason match and offensively crushed Hawthorn in the first half. What followed was a finals berth that saw us having the most points scored by the end of the H&A season.

Our 2016-2021 preseason matches were also pretty good indications of how we played in the season proper.

There were some positive signs for us in today's game. I'm not clearing my September schedule just yet, but I haven't seen this level of cohesion since 2022. We'll see how we look against Collingwood in the next game for a better picture.

1. Carlton (P) - Cripps, Curnow, Weitering and Walsh is the best quartet in the game. Richmond like with a solid support cast to the star quartet. Very possibly the next dynasty team and poised to reclaim the title of the league’s biggest club.

2. Brisbane (RU) - Probably the strongest list line for line and can very easy replace Carlton as my flag tip. Have them second only due to their struggles winning at the G and in Adelaide.

3. Collingwood - any team with two Daicos brothers, De Goey and Moore will be at the pointy end. Could well go B2B but I do have some concerns that a shorter pre season won’t help the over 30 cast including Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Howe and Elliott.

4. Port - some have tipped this team to slide but a star midfield trio between a defensive pair of Allir and Ratugolea and forwards of Marshall, Dixon and a returning Georgiadies will win most games. Not sure if they have the ability to win it all though.

5. Western Bulldogs - I’m not sold of the defense, though Bont, Libba, English, Naughton and JUH should carry this team to a comfortable top 8 spot. Keen to see how the young talls develop.

6. Sydney - Adams, Jordon and Grundy are astute pick ups and will help the Swans return to the finals. Amartey and McDonald will need to step up and I think their KPD stocks are relatively thin, so it wouldn’t be a surprise to see them finish higher or lower.

7. Melbourne - will be there abouts although other teams look likely to move past them. The forward line remains a worry albeit I like the look of Van Rooyen.

8. GWS - T. Green and T. Greene are two of the best in the game and Taylor is a seriously good KPD. I can’t see them winning enough games to finish top 4 but I can’t see them missing after how well they finished 2023. I do have some concerns about whether Hogan can play out a whole season and if Riccardi and Cadman take the next step.

9. St Kilda - Tempting to have them in the top 8 given my faith in RTB. King and Owens are serious talents ahead of the ball and I rate Marshall as one of the best rucks in the game. My main knock on the Saints is that they just don’t have the midfield talent of the top 8 teams.

10. Adelaide - Another team that can easily make the finals on the back of a top 4 quality forward line with Walker, Fogarty, Rachele and Rankine. Like St Kilda they lack elite midfield talent and I’m worried about how they’ll cover the KPD injuries.

11. Geelong - Cameron, Hawkins and Stewart will carry the Cats to a fair few wins and so will the GMHBA factor, though it won’t be enough to make the finals. Their midfield seems to be the weakness at the moment along with their age which looks to be catching up to them. Some great young talent in De Koning, Bruhn and Henry will ensure they’re not down for long.

12. Gold Coast - this team in 12th highlights the evenness of the league. Yes there’s the Hardwick factor and yes they have Reid, Lukosious, Rowell, Anderson and Miller. But I can’t tip them to make finals until they actually, finally do.

13. Fremantle - The next two teams are perhaps the most difficult to place. Amiss and Jackson should grow into a great forward pairing but who are the support acts? Brayshaw and Serong are stars but does the midfield lack size? I’d be surprised if they make finals.

14. Essendon - another hard team to place and my reverse bias may have them lower than where they will actually finish. I like McKay, Ridley and Redman as defenders and I like Wright, Langford and Stringer as a dangerous forward trio. Like Freo, Parish and Merrett are relatively small and they lack small forwards. Keen to see how Hobbs, Tsatas, Reid, Cox and Caddy develop.

15. Hawthorn - Lewis and Sicily are quality and I’m a big fan of Will Day. Recent injuries may result in a slow start which can dampen the confidence of a young team. The Hawks are on the right track but I’d be surprised to see them begin their rise this year.

16. Richmond - the Tigers probably won’t finish this low but it’s only natural for an ageing successful team to slide down the ladder. There’s still absolute quality but depth and experience has diminished and that must have an impact.

17. North Melbourne - Sheezel, Wardlaw, Duursma and McKercher are very exciting albeit still young. I also really rate Larkey. Losing the experience of Goldstein and McKay will hurt in the short term and Logue’s injury makes the defense look shaky. Unlikely to make significant gains this year.

18. West Coast - they’ll be down for a few more seasons as they rebuild. You’d back them to get the rebuild right though, the Eagles are never bad for long.

1 Brissie
2 Port
3 GWS
4 Pies
5 Sydney
6 Carlton
7 Freo
8 Saints

9 Gold Coast
10 Geelong
11 Adelaide
12 Bulldogs
13 Melbourne
14 Essendon
15 Tigers
16 West coast
17 Hawks
18 North

Freo, Saints, Melbourne and Gold Coast probably the hardest to place.
Melbourne could end up anywhere, have some serious talent everywhere but less so in their forward line (although JVR could have a breakout year) but obviously have some issues at the moment.
Would have had Hawks higher but they have had some bad news in the injury front and only need a Sicily loss to really struggle.
Freo and Suns have serious talent across the board, more so than most on here are aware of given neither club get any airtime - either of these two clubs could sneak higher up with a run of good luck but I’ve taken a “conservative” view here.
Saints have added some pieces but maybe lack a bit of top end talent. That’s never been an issue for Ross before though, he’s a master of mixing the jigsaw pieces to come up with a very consistent team.
West coast have been favoured by the draw having a lot of the expected bottom teams at home so should sneak in a few more wins this year, enough to get them off the bottom.
My tip will be for a non Vic GF, Brissie v either GWS or Sydney.
Unless of course the Dockers get there!!!

1. Pies
2. Port
3. Crows
4. Lions
5. Carlton
6. GWS

7. Demons
8. Dogs
9. Cats
10. Sydney
11. Saints
12. Gold Coast

13. Richmond
14. Essendon
15. Fremantle
16. Hawks
17. North Melbourne
18. West Coast

I reckon I’ve seen one person predict the saints to stay in the 8 in here, seems every team around, below and above us is improving and yet here we are just being pushed down the ladder.

Adding our two main goal kickers back in the side, we’ve added speed and midfield depth over the off-season, Jack Steele isn’t playing on one leg and is breaking his PBs running wise, half our list isn’t on the injury report as it was this time last year, another year into our younger blokes who performed fantastic last season for us

I struggle to see how we don’t improve, outside perception is we won’t but I can’t see how we aren’t better than we were last season, we are much healthier and we’ve only added strengths to the holes we had last year.

I’ll also add, us being better doesn’t necessarily mean finishing higher than 6th, we could finish 6-8 and still have improved in my eyes.
Tim Tim Tim .... c'mon mate .... even with the worst injury list last year and a bottom 4 midfield we should have never had made the 8 as easily as we did.

Added to the fact that we have no upcoming young stars and a terrible inexperienced coach it easy to see why the pundits have us well outside the 8

1. BRIS (RUNNER-UP)
2. COLL
3. CARL
4. GWS (PREMIER)
5. SYD
6. ADEL
7. PORT (COACH SACKED)
8. MELB
9. GCS
10. GEE (COACH QUITS)
11 WBL (COACH SACKED)
12. ESS
13. RICH
14. SNT
15 NTH
16. FRE (COACH SACKED)
17. WCE (COACH QUITS)
18. HAW

Coleman: Toby Greene
Brownlow: Nick Daicos
Rising Star: Harley Reid
Coaches MVP: Toby Greene
Player's MVP: Nick Daicos
Norm Smith: Tom Green

1. BRIS (RUNNER-UP)
2. COLL
3. CARL
4. GWS (PREMIER)
5. SYD
6. ADEL
7. PORT (COACH SACKED)
8. MELB
9. GCS
10. GEE (COACH QUITS)
11 WBL (COACH SACKED)
12. ESS
13. RICH
14. SNT
15 NTH
16. FRE (COACH SACKED)
17. WCE (COACH QUITS)
18. HAW

Coleman: Toby Greene
Brownlow: Nick Daicos
Rising Star: Harley Reid
Coaches MVP: Toby Greene
Player's MVP: Nick Daicos
Norm Smith: Tom Green
Can’t dislike much

have you missed all their injury news?

they were no chance to make the 8 prior to those, now even a chance for the spoon
Is it really that bad? Apart from Blanck who was on the fringes of the best 22 and DGB who wasn't best 22 all the others should be back by about round 5

My attempt

I did a version of a ladder predictor.

1-4 no one was miles ahead of the pack.

5-13 I had 5-13 very close to each other at the end of the season. Final position not necessarily indicative of competitiveness.

14-16 in their own tier
17-18 clearly at bottom

1. Brisbane
2. Collingwood
3. Adelaide
4. Melbourne
5. St. Kilda
6. Carlton
7. Geelong
8. Sydney
9. GWS
10. Port
11. Bulldogs
12. Gold Coast
13. Essendon
14. Fremantle
15. Richmond
16. Hawthorn
17. North
18. Eagles

My attempt

I did a version of a ladder predictor.

1-4 no one was miles ahead of the pack.

5-13 I had 5-13 very close to each other at the end of the season. Final position not necessarily indicative of competitiveness.

14-16 in their own tier
17-18 clearly at bottom

1. Brisbane
2. Collingwood
3. Adelaide
4. Melbourne
5. St. Kilda
6. Carlton
7. Geelong
8. Sydney
9. GWS
10. Port
11. Bulldogs
12. Gold Coast
13. Essendon
14. Fremantle
15. Richmond
16. Hawthorn
17. North
18. Eagles
Not too dissimilar to mine - you're in good company!

2024 Ladder Predictions