Autopsy 2024 Rd 9 Blues hold on in 1 point thriller

Who played well for the Blues in Round 9 vs the Demons?

Alright, that's enough.

The next poster who thinks they should have a crack at an individual or a collective reaction to this game is going to find themselves threadbanned. Terms like 'bleaters' or 'shit posters' will see things escalated further.

Let's discuss our views on the match without getting the knives out, please.

Where was Clarry all night and Viney was very quiet too, aside a few moments late in the game....?

Dees a re a good side, we're better.
Oliver was the leading possession getter for Melb and Viney had 12 Tackles. Odd 2 to single out as not being seen.

Having said that, I've never rated Oliver's kicking and true to form most of them were hack kicks up the chimney inside 50 giving his forwards no chance, I almost am relieved when he gets the ball and is the kicker as there's a great chance it'll be a useless disposal.

I know people love him but McGovern leaked goals last night. He is our weakest link. I lost count of the amount of times his direct opponent was used.
He was brilliant in the first quarter before Melbourne sent Petracca to him creating the mismatch. For his first game after a long lay off he was very good and made the back line look so much better.

The reaction from some to last night's win takes me back to last year's defeat of Sydney in the first final.

Went to the game with a mate, went out for a few beers after and he ran into a Carlton-supporting mate of his at the pub.

All this bloke could talk about was how shit we had played to let Sydney get close to us at the end. Every time I would try and steer it back to something positive "feels good to win a final after so many years", "how clutch was Jack Martin" etc, he would roll his eyes and complain about some other aspect of our performance that wasn't up to scratch. I soon read the play and stopped entertaining his pathetic bleating.

When the siren went against Melbourne the following week, I was at the game with my same mate. Just an incredible feeling. As we headed for the pub to celebrate I thought about that same flog from the week before, and what he thought of what was truly a magic moment in the history of the Carlton Football Club. Did he even enjoy Acres' goal? Or was he still upset about the Sydney game? Or upset that Melbourne should have won because they missed easy goals? Or was he suddenly a believer, screaming his head off with the rest of the Carlton supporters?

Sure, it wasn't pretty at the end there last night. But for people to be so 'angry' about a result like that to me either shows a pathetic sense of 'entitlement', or a real lack of understanding of what the highs and lows of a footy season on a finals trajectory actually look like.

Oliver was the leading possession getter for Melb and Viney had 12 Tackles. Odd 2 to single out as not being seen.

Having said that, I've never rated Oliver's kicking and true to form most of them were hack kicks up the chimney inside 50 giving his forwards no chance, I almost am relieved when he gets the ball and is the kicker as there's a great chance it'll be a useless disposal.
i just rewatched 85% of the match.

My comments stand.

Neither was influential (other than Viney in the dying minutes).

Woke up - yep, still 4 points in the bank and a bunch of salty opposition fans!

Life is good.

There is a certain Dee's fan on the main board who is having all sorts of issues. When we beat them during the H&A game last year he/she actually stated that he/she was treating it as a win, beyond delusional.....though just could be a troll.

Better team lost?? Give me a spell, you conceded 6 goals without scoring.

You are correct.

But when you’re telling other supporters that they shouldn’t be OK with a win, then you’re the one crossing the line.

I don't mind a bit of venting.
I'm not in that space right now.
I'm Loving Carlton instead.😉

Not relating to Ollie angst after that game.
Thought he was bloody awesome!
1o games in.
A champion in the making.

Thought Durds and Owies a lot better til Dees pressure ramped up.
Great back up players, and happy we have them atm with our high injury turnover.
Martin and Guv, welcome back!
Huge difference.
Cerra was superb.
Rotten luck or whatever it is.
Seems we need one more Cerra type.

Anyone brewing?

This caption Leaders.. ❤️ better than negative vibes

d56bd5fa-3ca6-4822-aa6b-37aa1b778a69-jpeg.1984561

I thought the backline were magnificent for most of the game.

Mostly No panic under pressure and McGovern particularly cool . Just knocking the ball in the right direction here and there, blocking for each other when the ball was contested.

A few dump kicks later in the game but not too bad. Cowan probably the most susceptible to pressure but at least he tries to kick the cover off the ball when he dump kicks. Fortunately they tended to go to our advantage.

I felt more relaxed than I have in ages . Will only improve when Saad returns.

“We won’t win this by much”

What a clever belief to instil in a team before a game. Brilliant stuff vossy.

I'd rather that than "we're gonna walk this one in by 10 goals, lads" only for the players to come out half-cocked.

I can see why a coach would want his players treating every opportunity to kick a goal or deny a goal like it could be the difference in the result. In the end....it was.

Close game aside, surely the key takeaway from the game is that when we were in beast mode, they had no answers (at all - not Gawn, Oliver, Petracca in the middle nor Viney) and couldn't get anywhere near us....

Petracca getting lucky with a couple of cheap goals in Q2 the only blemish on our early team effort.

Had Pie fan at work saying I should be ashamed to wear a Carlton beanie today coz we are “cheating scum bags”. I smiled and laughed for 30 secs straight and he kept repeating it. Just walked off laughing without responding. The melts were enough it didn’t need a response. I love my club.
What a crap colleague he is !

Autopsy 2024 Rd 9 Blues hold on in 1 point thriller