Training 2024 Training - reports, pics etc

Tom Williamson had a similar fan base , and was mentioned many times. Doesnt always work out. But IMO Boyd is a great example of a 'role player' that premiership teams always have. Limited ability, but what he does well, he does well

limited ability?!

Relative to whom?
Haha

Tread carefully therubbernub there is an element on here who believes that our 25yo former “park” footballer is the second coming.

(Patience all, let’s see how the coming season plays out before elevating the late bloomer)

I like Boyd, but the hype is next level at the moment.

Haha

Tread carefully therubbernub there is an element on here who believes that our 25yo former “park” footballer is the second coming.

(Patience all, let’s see how the coming season plays out before elevating the late bloomer)

Hopefully he surpasses Brad and reaches the heights of Matty Boyd.

Happy new year all

I can’t wait for the season to start.
There’s so much to look forward to.

I’ll be keen to hear the training reports, especially about our training intensity & adding layers to our game plan

C’mon , it’s 2024 - bounce ball already!

Haha

Hardly hype....

Big month ahead. First time in decades I believe we can win it all.

So far players have been focused and look fit. We have options. We need a fit squad

Next 4 weeks could shape our season. Game plan, connection and trust is what we need to improve. There is so much improvement individually let alone as a group

I hope we adjust our game plan slightly and have a plan B & C

Bloody looking forward to this season

Go Blues

Haha

I think it’s more around filling a role. No one has said he is elite or the next Dustin Martin but it’s a role that needs filling and if he can he makes us much better. The role is there for who ever grabs it

If he can step up a a running defence of Williams Saad Boyd is something to be excited about. Not only defensively but all three can set up attacking options and make us very dangerous from any part of the ground.

All pieces in the Flag puzzle

Haha

We always have a fringe 22 player that we hype up to the max (though you'd probably find the same for most clubs). I still remember Stocker being in heaps of 2023 best 22s (often ahead of Newman) about 2 days before he got delisted. I think Boyd has a great chance of making it but right now he is definitely that player.

Stoker did one memorable positive football act in his career at Carlton - and quite a few memorable negatives- was given every opportunity and then some same for all the let go players - Boyd hasn't one failed to play his team role and not once has he shown any fluster under pressure - he has a lot going for him for a small running defender.

so much hype....

I'm onboard with the Boyd hype, really rate him. The thing I like about him the most is that there is no real weakness in his game, there's no aspect of his game I dislike or find lets the team down, reckon he is a well rounded footballer.

Think his ability to defend and spoil one on one is elite and that has come back in vogue. His skills and his kicking is top shelf. He's got leg speed and he uses it. He's an elite competitor and plays with a lot of aggression. Doesn't get beaten. Elite tackler. Can find the ball and this is an area of his game which is growing. He can lock down and he can get up the ground and find the footy on the rebound.

We will need three players who can play the half back line and run both ways at a really high level. I think he is one of them. I think he Williams and Saad make a really good group of two way running defenders. Add Marchbank into that group who is a tall who also does this and we look good. Docherty at times and Newman our defence has what it takes and should be a real threat offensively.

Think there will be a lot of competition from Cowan and Cincotta as well. If they are playing VFL they are 25-30 possens per week half backs at that level.

that doesn't mean he has "limited ability"

unproven? yeah, maybe....

Boyd's only played 16 senior games so far....

I'm quite ambivalent frankly, but to say he has limited ability.... bonkers.

that doesn't mean he has "limited ability"

unproven? yeah, maybe....

Boyd's only played 16 senior games so far....

I'm quite ambivalent frankly, but to say he has limited ability.... bonkers.

I don't recall saying he has limited ability, in fact I said he has a great chance of making it.

My comments around hype arent saying he's no good. I just think quite a few fans rate him higher relative to what he has shown (ie comments about him being a lock in the team).

Haha

While being replaced by the second coming of a VFL quality player or a younger developing player?

Many posters had Doc in as a backman while trying to squeeze someone like Dow in the team

None of us are experts, and we all see things differently, which is a great thing for this board

I think he is lock, while most others still see him as a starting 22, even yourself

While being replaced by the second coming of a VFL quality player or a younger developing player?

Many posters had Doc in as a backman while trying to squeeze someone like Dow in the team

None of us are experts, and we all see things differently, which is a great thing for this board

I think he is lock, while most others still see him as a starting 22, even yourself
Actually, I don’t have him in my 22. Love his disposal, but think Cincotta is a better pure defender and his disposal is not too shabby either. Think Cinc is a little more conservative, which is nit a bad thing for the role they are vying for.

Always one to look at future proofing the side, I would be fast tracking Cowan when he shows as ready, and/or playing Kemp as the 7th defender behind Weiters, Marchy and Gov. Saad, Williams and Newman pick themselves for the next couple of years, but could exit the side within a narrow window. I am hoping we reward all of our excellent defenders with games, but realistically that will be difficult. I want Kemp, Cowan, Boyd and Cincotta around when Newman, McGovern, Saad and Williams drop off. Kemp needs more rounded development, not locked in to a 2nd, undersized key defender battle with Marchbank. A fit Marchbank is a far superior option as a key defender, surely Kemp succeeds the looser McGovern role. I would love to see Kemp play the McGovern role sooner, than later, but McGovern did find a new level of reliability late in the season which leaves him ahead at this stage.

I reiterate, I like Boyd, but he is not ahead of others in my preemptive best 22/23. Consistently showing his prelim form may change that, but I don’t see the consistency you apparently do.

Actually, I don’t have him in my 22.
Apologies, thought you had him in the 22. Most do, but that’s not really an indication he will be there throughout the year

Love his disposal, but think Cincotta is a better pure defender and his disposal is not too shabby either. Think Cinc is a little more conservative, which is nit a bad thing for the role they are vying for.
Cincotta is certainly a great option, personally I don't care who cements themselves in the team, if the mix works well

Always one to look at future proofing the side, I would be fast tracking Cowan when he shows as ready, and/or playing Kemp as the 7th defender behind Weiters, Marchy and Gov. Saad, Williams and Newman pick themselves for the next couple of years, but could exit the side within a narrow window. I am hoping we reward all of our excellent defenders with games, but realistically that will be difficult. I want Kemp, Cowan, Boyd and Cincotta around when Newman, McGovern, Saad and Williams drop off. Kemp needs more rounded development, not locked in to a 2nd, undersized key defender battle with Marchbank. A fit Marchbank is a far superior option as a key defender, surely Kemp succeeds the looser McGovern role. I would love to see Kemp play the McGovern role sooner, than later, but McGovern did find a new level of reliability late in the season which leaves him ahead at this stage.
Fast tracking is an interesting concept outside of rebuilding years. Right now, I want players picked on output if we are a pointy end side.

So, if Cowan is showing more leading into round 1, pick him, otherwise he can continue to develop in the VFL

I reiterate, I like Boyd, but he is not ahead of others in my preemptive best 22/23. Consistently showing his prelim form may change that, but I don’t see the consistency you apparently do.

Not basing my opinion based on his last game, more on how I see his skillet as part of the back 7

Weitering, Gov, Saad, Williams, Boyd, Newman are my locks

Williams and Saad are those defenders that add rebounding layers, Newman as the organiser, Boyd more shut-down/deeper defender

Kemp and Marchbank fighting for 1 position

Cincotta slightly behind other small defenders

Cowan can play small and 3rd tall, think he is the perfect Gov replacement at this stage

S Durdin and Young in the mix based on form and whether we want to play a taller KPD

In Boyd's favour to sneak a spot is Williams coming back into the side. I think we play Williams like Saad as the second attacking distributor. If we do, this could impact Newman's role who also played a distributor role throughout last season to great affect.

For side balance I'm not sure whether the MC simply go for 3 distributors/preferencial ball users or keep it to 2 with a more defined lockdown defender each week who focuses on a target opposition player. 3 attacking smalls vs 2 and a lockdown type. This decision sees where boyd stands along with his competition vs Cinc/Kemp/Cowan who all have shouts based on their specialised traits for a defensive spot. All this is just my opinion. I don't mind others having different opinions as one thing I'm confident on is that 3 different coaches would see it different ways come round 1 selection.

In the pecking order, would Newman revert to lockdown over Boyd or do the MC consider Boyd a better prospect in that regard. I don't personally know. I've easily been in other player's corners more but the Brissy game turned my head due to the pressure valve and how well Boyd went. The other games Boyd has played haven't grabbed me much at all if i'm honest yet others have been singing his praises.

Like the Pitto/TDK thing, I'm intrigued to see who gets the nod. I can't help but feel Newman plays as respect for his 2023 season regardless. The squeeze is on for the last spot 7th defender sitting on the bench. Even a chance Doch as a utility pinch hits there if they go aggressive selection elsewhere like Pitto.