Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutineer

Apart from Sharp and Cumming it’s a pretty even group with a number of them that could bob up at the next level.

Kids like Marsh, LeRay, Barker, Kelly all very solid.

My dark horse is Balyn O’Brien - very athletic over 190 interceptor. One to watch.

Have you seen much of Kobe Gibson from the bays?

Not sure sorry - Might not be of interest now but have seen quite a bit of the bays U16 and they are getting a stable of kids as good as any I’ve seen.

Zane Rooney and Joshua Jarrad remember those names. Especially Zane. Wow.

Would it ? I wouldn’t know.

I do know the programs run side by side in a timing sense. That would leave Younie a pretty busy bloke haha
heavily involved on game day

Was he doing 16s last year ? Got a feeling he’s a good addition regardless

Not sure sorry - Might not be of interest now but have seen quite a bit of the bays U16 and they are getting a stable of kids as good as any I’ve seen.

Kobes had a shocking run with injuries last two years and missed out on the state squad because of it but is getting a run going at the moment, averaging 27 possies, 7 marks and a goal and a half a game in the 18s for the Tiges, has just started featuring in some top 30s draft kids list ( though to be fair, it may have been a list done up by one of the Glenelg under 18s dads, you never know)

He’s had a bad run with injuries over the last couple of years which derailed his state opportunities but can really play. Can play onball but very dangerous when resting forward as he hits the scoreboard regularly. For his size, he’s good in the air.
Just needs a good run at it but if he was healthy in the lead up he’d be in the state squad I reckon.
I see he’s back and performing really well for the Bays.

Pretty sure Rooney is an Adelaide NGA product, so if he keeps progressing, we'll have exclusive access to him.

heavily involved on game day

Was he doing 16s last year ? Got a feeling he’s a good addition regardless
Yes he was - agree he’s a ripper although credit to Bangers with how those 18s are travelling

Rooney and Webb are belters. And not to forget Garrett & Pilot either. SA has some top quality coming through over the next 2-3 years.

This year there's a wide range of draftable players as we probably know by now.

Top 5: Sharp, Schubert, Cumming, Barker, Marsh. BOB and Nairn in the next bracket though Nairn probably has elevated himself over the champs from probably a third rounder to a second in my eyes.

Kellaway, Cook, NRT, LeRay, Peucker, Ainsworth all draftable at various ranges

Rooney and Webb are belters. And not to forget Garrett & Pilot either. SA has some top quality coming through over the next 2-3 years.

Top 5: Sharp, Schubert, Cumming, Barker, Marsh. BOB and Nairn in the next bracket though Nairn probably has elevated himself over the champs from probably a third rounder to a second in my eyes.

What do you think of the younger Phillipou?

early draft -yes

late , not really
I’d add, if in early draft, all the players in our draft range are not the kind of player we need, consider trading the pick, either up or down or for a player or into the next year, if a good deal is available.

Pretty sure Rooney is an Adelaide NGA product, so if he keeps progressing, we'll have exclusive access to him.
I did a scratch around to see what else is out there on Zane and I saw this on the 2028 draft thread on the main board - maybe he is not eligible for us as there is no link to us on this table? or its possible that under the old rules he wasn't but will be under the new rules?

1750124331582.png

I did a scratch around to see what else is out there on Zane and I saw this on the 2028 draft thread on the main board - maybe he is not eligible for us as there is no link to us on this table? or its possible that under the old rules he wasn't but will be under the new rules?

View attachment 2344673
Perhaps! Or perhaps the poster (I think it's Haggas? He does good work too) wasn't aware Rooney is in our NGA?

There is a big difference in being in the Crows Academy and being eligible as an NGA (indigenous and multi-cultural backgrounds). i.e. Kane McAuliffe and Ashton Moir were both Crows Academy but not eligible via NGA. All those in bolded were talked about as draft chances, in the end McAuliffe, Moir, Ryan and Rawlinson were drafted

CROWS ACADEMIES - BOYS ELITE TALENT SQUAD
IzayahKeanGlenelg
JedGrabiaGlenelg
AshtonMoirGlenelg
BowenPayneGlenelg
EliRedmanGlenelg
BodieRyanGlenelg
BenjaminRidgwayGlenelg
BrockSummerhayesGlenelg
LochlanThieleGlenelg
JosephJuddGlenelg
ThomasMcKayGlenelg
JedDignanNorth Adelaide
JackDundonNorth Adelaide
LukeHarveyNorth Adelaide
KaneMcCaulifeNorth Adelaide
AngusTullyNorth Adelaide
DanteEdwardsNorth Adelaide
KhantrelleFieldingNorth Adelaide
DylanMcLachlanNorth Adelaide
MackenzieBoxallNorth Adelaide
TobyTurnerNorth Adelaide
LachlanBoscenceSturt
KobeMcEnteeSturt
LachlanMurphySturt
GeorgePopeSturt
LochRawlinsonSturt
JarrellSampsonSturt
LucaSladeSturt
Angusvan de BergCentrals
WaylonCaseyCentrals
CallumHartCentrals

Webb is a good one but pretty small. Similar to Mitch Brook at Sturt. Mitch goes from all Australian u15 to not making u16 state squad just because he’s nuggety. Still think Mitch is top 5 u16s. He’ll make his was down alternative pathway

He is a bit though definitely bats well above average for his size, will be a real weapon if he can grow a tad. Real shame about his injury this year when he was in form.

What do you think of the younger Phillipou?
He's good enough to be a late first early 2nd but his injury in his draft year will hurt his stocks. Not to the level of his brother being smaller and all but still can run very well and has a habit of performing when it counts. Perhaps a little wider standard deviation between his best and worst games though. Prob ends up somewhere in middle of the draft at this stage.

Another excellent game from Aidan Schubert who's become the early draft bolter at this year's Champs. He split the ruck duties much more evenly with Ainsworth in this game which limited his opportunities to hit the scoreboard but gave him an opportunity to show an aspect of his game that we hadn't seen as much of through the first two games. He was strong in the ruck, giving his mids first use on a number of occasions and playing a large role in SA's overall dominance through the middle, as well as finding a stack of the footy himself and using the ball constructively by hand and foot.

He is a bit though definitely bats well above average for his size, will be a real weapon if he can grow a tad. Real shame about his injury this year when he was in form.
Yep - Rooney has had his injury issues too, not as bad.

Think the Bays have a little golden period coming up like Souths a few years ago and Centrals now

Yep - Rooney has had his injury issues too, not as bad.

Think the Bays have a little golden period coming up like Souths a few years ago and Centrals now
Under 16 champs will be some of the best viewing SA has had in a while I feel.

Yea, there's some ripping talents getting around. My lad is in year 4 and there is a kid who is year 5 (was in his team last year as a 4) who absolutely dominated like I've never seen before at that level. Was like watching Kouta crossed with JHF and not because he was bigger than the rest. Just way better. Won't be putting names out as he's a very young lad but will say he has family playing AFL now.

BOB's performance on the weekend seems to be flying under the radar a little with his name missing from the lists of SA's best. He's a talented kid who's been struggling to find his best form since an injury delayed start to the season, but there were some excellent signs here. At his best he can cut through congestion with a burst of speed and break lines with his excellent disposal by foot and we started to see a lot more of that come to the fore in this game. After failing to get a touch through the first 20 mins he started to find a lot more of the footy as the game progressed, hopefully signaling that this is just the start of bigger things to come.

He's the silky one, when he gets back to his higher ballwinning numbers (provided he stays injury free), there is no reason why he can't rise up draft boards to at least an early second.