Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutineer

Recruiters absolutely think this is an issue. Adam Simpson confirmed it years ago and it's proven by the significant percentage of players taken from private schools
Private schools also cherry pick the promising early teen footballers with lucrative scholarship offers.

Recruiters absolutely think this is an issue. Adam Simpson confirmed it years ago and it's proven by the significant percentage of players taken from private schools
I'm sure it feeds into recruitment but there seems to be more and more very promising talents getting sporting scholarships to top end private schools not because of their scholistic talents or family life it's the prestige sporting success these schools seem to go all out to for strangely.

Private schools also cherry pick the promising early teen footballers with lucrative scholarship offers.
Ok thanks. One of the top talents this draft concerns me due to this. Be interesting to see if he slides or drifts out of the system

There's been lots of talk about how Dyson had a poor opening game of the season here, but I think we can dig a little deeper. He didn't find a lot of the footy, but was played as a high half forward which can become a bit of a graveyard with the ball constantly flying over your head. The touches he did have were mostly clean and constructive, and he had a hand in each of the critical final two scores that got his team up on the day.

When you're the most talented kid playing junior footy you are the game plan, but when you accept the move up to senior footy you have to fit into a structure and you're not likely to be the star. I did feel that he was deferring too much to his teammates at times, hovering outside of contests waiting to receive instead of being proactive, and I'm sure that will change as he gains confidence at the level.

Gee he has the see ball get ball game.dangerfield / jhf/Ried.

Mitch Stevens had a decent game on the weekend with 20 disposals playing mostly in defence though he did have a couple of squirts in the midfield late in the game. Played with a heavily strapped calf but he certainly showed a good turn of foot at times, still lightly built so plenty of upside to come.

A slightly quieter outing this week from Cumming but he still played a large role in helping his Roosters squad claim victory with his power around the contest combined with his ability to get forward and hit the scoreboard.

Below are the national top 10 results from this year’s pre-season testing days.

BOYS​

Vertical Jump

PlayerStateClubResult (cm)
Harley HicksVICGWV Rebels88
Lucas RustSANorth Adelaide86
Luke CandySAGlenelg82
Gabe StumpfVICNorthern Knights81
James AllisonVICNorthern Knights80
Thomas RutledgeVICBendigo Pioneers80
Coby HiltonNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy79
Koby CoulsonQLDGold Coast Suns Academy79
Jesse BorghoutsNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy79
Willis ReidyVICSandringham Dragons79
Running Vertical Jump (Left)

Sam AllenVICOakleigh Chargers101
Max KingNSW/ACTSydney Swans Academy98
Riley OnleyVICMurray Bushrangers98
Ben RongditVICGeelong Falcons97
Jack MumfordSAWoodville West Torrens97
James AllisonVICNorthern Knights96
Fergus MyallSANorwood96
Memphis WebbSANorth Adelaide95
Cooper HodgeQLDBrisbane Lions Academy95
Olu OlalekanVICCalder Cannons95
Running Vertical Jump (Right)

Jacob EddingtonWAEast Perth95
Logan McCabeSAWest Adelaide95
Max KingNSW/ACTSydney Swans Academy94
Floyd BurmeisterVICGWV Rebels93
Jack GilliganTASTasmania Devils93
Lachlan CrampQLDGold Coast Suns Academy92
Kaiden McNamaraNSW/ACTSydney Swans Academy92
Josiah LandyVICEastern Ranges92
Isaac BaldwinNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy90
Luke CandySAGlenelg89
20m Sprint

PlayerStateClubResult (sec)
Leon TitmussNSW/ACTSydney Swans Academy2.815
Max LeeVICDandenong Stingrays2.826
Jayde VarletVICDandenong Stingrays2.829
Max KingNSW/ACTSydney Swans Academy2.831
Oskar TaylorVICEastern Ranges2.832
Thomas MatthewsVICGippsland Power2.846
Bailey LloydVICEastern Ranges2.849
Harper McCullochVICOakleigh Chargers2.850
Logan McCabeSAWest Adelaide2.855
Harley BarkerSASturt2.864
Agility

PlayerStateClubResult (sec)
Jack MarksVICMurray Bushrangers7.65
Jethro GrillsQLDBrisbane Lions Academy7.70
Benjamin RussellTASTasmania Devils7.75
Koby CoulsonQLDGold Coast Suns Academy7.76
Fletcher DillonSAWest Adelaide7.78
James AllisonVICNorthern Knights7.78
Caleb WilliamsQLDGold Coast Suns Academy7.79
Lachy DovastonVICEastern Ranges7.81
Taj BowmanVICGWV Rebels7.84
Finlay YeoWAEast Fremantle7.85
Yo-Yo (IRT2)

PlayerStateClubLevel
Alexander MarshallNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy22.5
Jack DaltonVICSandringham Dragons22.4
Jeff RozenbildsSANorwood22.4
Oscar FraserSANorth Adelaide22.2
Ollie CaronesSANorwood22.2
Jesse BorghoutsNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy22.1
Isaac BaldwinNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy22.1
Gus DownsSAWest Adelaide22.1
Jake FairmanNSW/ACTGWS GIANTS Academy22.1
Lucien KravinskisSAWoodville-West Torrens22.1
Bicks
why would anyone look at drafting the Tassie lads given what is coming?

Bicks
why would anyone look at drafting the Tassie lads given what is coming?
Why not if they're super talented...I think quite a few once they settle in at mainland club won't necessarily be in a big hurry to head home especially if drafted to successful AFL clubs?

Would there be any correlation between rough childhood and not making it in the AFL system? How much would a rocky unstable home life as a child affect someone later in life within the top footballing environment?
Would apply to anywhere in life

Some people have cards stacked against them

Sharp started this game like he played last week, looking a little hesitant and only managing to find scrappy, relatively ineffective possessions. Either he or the coaching staff seemed make an adjustment in the third term as he was pushing higher up the ground almost as an extra midfielder and suddenly he was cracking into the contest and stoppage with decisive and powerful movements, extracting the footy and setting up his teammates on the outside.

It's time that we saw Sharp get some run as a primary onballer to maximise his talents.

#freedyson

Even considering the relatively weaker SANFL U18s competition, this was one of the best junior performance I've seen. Dougie slotted 6 majors of his own, set up a number of others for his teammates, took contested marks, laid tough bumps and tackles... what can't this kid do? There were several moments that I had to rewind to check that I did actually see what I thought I saw.

I'm sorry, where did I say that star juniors don't have rotations?

My point was that when you're a star at junior level you play a central role designed to maximize your talents and therefore maximize your impact in the game which in turn helps your team's chances of winning. When you move up to senior footy, like with Dyson at Central Districts, you're more likely to have to accept a more peripheral role in the team, such as playing on a forward flank instead of as a primary onballer.
Agree

Football fans in Melbourne can watch the future stars of the game this weekend when the 2025 Marsh AFL National Academy Boys squad represents the Australia U18 team.

The young stars will play for Australia for the first of two matches in this year’s program when they take on Richmond’s VFL team at RSEA Park on Sunday, April 13.

They will also play against VFL outfit Coburg at Mission Whitten Oval on Sunday April 27.

The Marsh AFL National Academy features a host of the most talented young footballers from across Australia, who are taking part in the program during their Draft year.

Continue below to view the Australia U18 squad for Sunday’s match at RSEA Park.

#NAMESTATESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
1Thomas BurtonVIC MWestern JetsPoint Cook
2Beau AddinsallQLDGC Suns AcademyBurleigh
3Lachlan CarmichaelNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyMosman
4Willem DuursmaVIC CGippsland PowerFoster
5Noah Hibbins-HargreavesVIC CDandenong StingraysMornington
6Josh LindsayVIC CGeelong FalconsNewtown & Chilwell
7Dylan PattersonQLDGC Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
8Ben RongditVIC CGeelong FalconsColac
9Zeke UwlandQLDGC Suns AcademyBurleigh
10Wesley WalleyWASubiacoWarwick Greenwood
20Daniel AnnableQLDBrisbane Lions AcademyRedland-Victoria Point
21Harley BarkerSASturtMt Barker
22Noah ChamberlainNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyEast Sydney
23Samuel CummingSANorth AdelaideWentworth District
24Louis EmmettVIC MOakleigh ChargersGlen Iris
25Koby EvansWAPerthFederals
26Oliver GreevesVIC MEastern RangesVermont
27Taj MurrayNTNT Academy
North Adelaide
Nightcliff
28Riley OnleyVIC CMurray BushrangersShepparton United
29Fred RodriguezWASouth FremantleFremantle City Dockers
30Dyson SharpSACentral DistrictBarossa District
31Cody CurtinWAClaremontWest Coast
34Cooper Duff-TytlerVIC MCalder CannonsWoodend-Hesket
35Jasper HayTASTasmania DevilsClarence
36Liam HethertonNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersNorth Albury
37Matthew LeRaySACentral DistrictGolden Grove
38Archie LudowykeVIC MSandringham DragonsEast Sandringham
39Kalani WhiteQLDGC Suns AcademyBroadbeach

Over-ager but no doubt a draft chance in 2025 or possibly the MSD 201cm KPD/Ruck. December birthday

SA-Harrison-Ramm-2.jpg

Glenelg
GlenelgKey Defender, Ruck

#26​

Harrison Ramm​

height: 201cm
weight:
D.O.B: 05-12-2006
Leagues: AFL U18 Championships
STRENGTHS:
  • Aerial ability
  • Mobility
  • Reading the play
  • Versatility
IMPROVEMENTS:
  • Speed
  • Strength

Can't wait to see Dougie at the champs. Genuine unicorn type, upside is open ended.
Your boy Dyson Sharp and Sam Cumming, Harley Barker, Matt LeRay and Taj Murray on show this arvo vs Richmond VFL at RSEA Park 1.30PM AEST

Australia U18 squad

#NAMESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
1Thomas BurtonWestern JetsPoint Cook
2Beau AddinsallGold Coast Suns AcademyBurleigh
3Lachlan CarmichaelSydney Swans AcademyMosman
4Willem DuursmaGippsland PowerFoster
5Noah Hibbins-HargreavesDandenong StingraysMornington
6Josh LindsayGeelong FalconsNewtown & Chilwell
7Dylan PattersonGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
8Ben RongditGeelong FalconsColac
9Zeke UwlandGold Coast Suns AcademyBurleigh
10Wesley WalleySubiacoWarwick Greenwood
20Daniel AnnableBrisbane Lions AcademyRedland-Victoria Point
21Harley BarkerSturtMt Barker
22Noah ChamberlainSydney Swans AcademyEast Sydney
23Samuel CummingNorth AdelaideWentworth District
24Louis EmmettOakleigh ChargersGlen Iris
25Koby EvansPerthFederals
26Oliver GreevesEastern RangesVermont
27Taj MurrayNorthern Territory Academy
North Adelaide
Nightcliff
28Riley OnleyMurray BushrangersShepparton United
29Fred RodriguezSouth FremantleFremantle City Dockers
30Dyson SharpCentral DistrictBarossa District
31Cody CurtinClaremontWest Coast
34Cooper Duff-TytlerCalder CannonsWoodend-Hesket
35Jasper HayTasmania DevilsClarence
36Liam HethertonMurray BushrangersNorth Albury
37Matthew LeRayCentral DistrictGolden Grove
38Archie LudowykeSandringham DragonsEast Sandringham
39Kalani WhiteGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach

Richmond VFL squad

#NAME
16 Josh Smillie
21 Noah Balta
37 Liam Fawcett
39 Mate Colina
47 Oliver Hayes-Brown
50 Campbell Gray
52 Mohammed Yassine
54 Tom McCarthy
56 Lachlan Wilson
61 O'Neill Moncrieff
63 Nicholas Collier
65 Max Clohesy
66 Sam Flockart
67 Liam George
68 Sam Toner
71 Kai Daniels
72 Reuben Hanson
73 Tom Ferguson
74 Harry Scott
76 Sean Lai
77 Massimo Raso
79 Joshua Pollocks
80 Jhett Haeata
81 Sam Phillips

Half time
Tigers VFL 8.2
AFL Academy 2.7

Academy lads had plenty of the ball but missed so many easy goals.

Dyson Sharp needs to get more involved because he's looking anything other than a pick 1 out there today.

Dyson Sharp done nothing of note in the 1st quarter, Oliver Greeves the easily the best mid on the ground for the Academy 5 disposals 4 clearances, Beau Addinsall Suns Academy good also, Matt LeRay the best of the Croweaters so far, Cumming and Barker looking alright. Cooper Duff Tytler impressive in the ruck and around the ground pushing his pick 1 chances no harm.

Early take the Northern Academies are chockers with top end prospects.
I think I mentioned on here last year that one of the Sturt coaches likens Harley Barker to Jordan Dawson. In terms of playing style, not necessarily ability/ceiling. I haven't seen his name on any draft lists yet.

He's highly rated or he wouldn't be in the AFL Academy, looks one of the better wingers in this draft IMO.

Dyson Sharp done nothing of note in the 1st quarter, Oliver Greeves the easily the best mid on the ground for the Academy 5 disposals 4 clearances, Beau Addinsall Suns Academy good also, Matt LeRay the best of the Croweaters so far, Cumming and Barker looking alright. Cooper Duff Tytler impressive in the ruck and around the ground pushing his pick 1 chances no harm.

Early take the Northern Academies are chockers with top end prospects.
Queensland if they had a state side in champs … I’m pretty sure they’d beat SA this year pretty comfortably

Uwland who might be their best didn’t even play today and Annable , Addinsall and Patterson all great today

Brisbane and GC academies also have v good players who don’t make Australia team

Jordan Dawson was great but didn’t even make the SA side much in his draft year

Always a slow burn but clear talent

Barker is interesting , what he can do is transition run to the max . Still has a few question marks in my mind and might be a slightly slow burn too . Not sure he has the overhead ability of Dawson