List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

Point is

Rance retired at 30

Cameron is as old as lynch and he kicked 90 goals this year

Danger was taken in the same draft as Cotchin

Pendles is 38

There are levels to these things

Our players relatively speaking hit the wall early
This 30+ finished thing has been twisted. We were discussing why you might draft Dean and I stated that we’ll have aged KPDs in 3 years time and Miller could be gone as a free agent. It was to say we will possibly need another KPD. Not that 30 year olds are finished. The problem is our window of opportunity won’t be open for long if in 3 years time our KPDs are 30+.

Against Pendles, Danger and Jezza maybe so… against Natanui, Judd and Fyfe not so much.

When our dynasty team produces 4 x 300+ gamers (and in Vlastuin a likely 5th), and there has only been 110 x 300-gamers in history… then just not sure what ‘level’ people seem to think our players hit the wall at.

Do not compare our players with players who have played a lot in Western Australia, they always have shorter careers statistically and historically

This 30+ finished thing has been twisted. We were discussing why you might draft Dean and I stated that we’ll have aged KPDs in 3 years time and Miller could be gone as a free agent. It was to say we will possibly need another KPD. Not that 30 year olds are finished. The problem is our window of opportunity won’t be open for long if in 3 years time our KPDs are 30+.
It's a great point, you'd have to think if Thredgold was available with our pick in 30s we'd take a serious look at him

I’ve noticed some posters are projecting forward 4-5 years on which players may be coming towards the end based on what we have now, of course it will look bad - there are 4-5 more national drafts, 4-5 trade periods and 4-5 free agency periods to get players and fill gaps between now and then - we’ll be fine

I've watched a few sharp games and highlights of rowell in his draft yr. What i noticed is rowell could get separation from the contest then create a bit more of a gap over 10-20m, sharp in the sanfl could get the separation over the first 5-10m however couldn't create more of the gap post 10m. If you are setting Sharp up as the inside mid to create just that bit of separation to then get it out to the first receiver he will excel.
Sounds like Hopper, Taranto, Ross and Prestia. I think we need a point of difference.

A lot of talk about Grlj being around the 8-12 mark, which is true. But he has real speed and spread, one of our most pressing needs. He can play wing until ready for the midfield. Sometimes, like trading for a player you really want, you pay more than you would like to. He looks a ready made player for needs, so happy if we take him. We don't need an inside underneath mid because we have a swag of them.

For the Grlj lovers

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/dr...n/news-story/88b62c762ef5d80f12e465a81f9ef474

Oakleigh Chargers star Sam Grlj has Blues blood running through his veins.

“Dad supported Carlton and his dad supported them, so it just got passed down,” Grlj tells foxfooty.com.au.

“I remember coming here (the MCG) and watching Sam Docherty’s kick through the middle and his kick to Blake Acres for that (final in 2023). That was pretty special.”

Carlton holds Picks 9 and 11, but those selections will change depending on when a Harry Dean father-son bid comes. Plus Grlj has lots of top-10 interest, starting at Richmond (Picks 3 and 4).

Like most footy-mad families, the parents of this year’s top draft prospects have had a significant influence on which AFL team they support.
no-shits.gif

Sounds like Hopper, Taranto, Ross and Prestia. I think we need a point of difference.

A lot of talk about Grlj being around the 8-12 mark, which is true. But he has real speed and spread, one of our most pressing needs. He can play wing until ready for the midfield. Sometimes, like trading for a player you really want, you pay more than you would like to. He looks a ready made player for needs, so happy if we take him. We don't need an inside underneath mid because we have a swag of them.
Interesting you have included prestia as a reason we shouldn't draft Sharp, he's probably got another 15 games left in his career. Even mentioning taranto and hopper who will be nearly at the end or finished by the time Sharp enters his prime. At the end of the day at pick 3-4 you draft best available talent, if our recruiters deem Sharp to be that we will draft him.

Fair enough regarding Prestia. I'm not drafting for 5 years down the track, but for next season and the season after. I don't subscribe to the idea that we are 5 years from finals. I think we will start to climb next season.

Inside mids are not that hard to find, eg Worpel going for a fresh start. Sharp is a good inside mid, but the really good inside mids also have run and spread with the exception of a few like Libba. That is why I prefer Cummings.

The more I think about it the more I think CDT at pick 3 makes too much sense. If we go CDT then one of Grjl, Sharp, Cumming we can circle back to our 3rd pick on the night and get Wright, LeRay Onley.
Can’t see any way that CDT doesn’t go pick 2 or 3.

The more I think about it the more I think CDT at pick 3 makes too much sense. If we go CDT then one of Grjl, Sharp, Cumming we can circle back to our 3rd pick on the night and get Wright, LeRay Onley.
Duursma makes more sense for mine

I won’t mind if we take Grlj with one of our 2 picks.
When you consider or compare him with other contenders I reckon he stacks up well. And needs basis.
Along with his obvious upside he ticks another box for me - he’s a real competitor. We are looking for our next generation of on field leaders.

There is no way that Richmond will be passing on Copper Duff-Tytler if he gets pass West Coasts pick, the only reason this were to happen is if a godfather offer were to come in but that is apparently highly doubtful (Eg: a top ten pick plus a very high quality future first rounder).

I can also say that Richmond have also done a mountain of work on Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves extending back three years ago to Chris Toce being a huge fan.

I won’t mind if we take Grlj with one of our 2 picks.
When you consider or compare him with other contenders I reckon he stacks up well. And needs basis.
Along with his obvious upside he ticks another box for me - he’s a real competitor. We are looking for our next generation of on field leaders.
One of the attributes that Toce looked for as a recruiter was competitiveness and I believe that our recruitment team adopted philosophy last year when Toce became our head recruiter.

So when I look at the likes of Grlj & Cumming, and what they bring to the table there is plenty to like

Speed ✅ ✅

Endurance ✅ ✅

Competitiveness ✅ ✅

Ball Use ✅ ✅

List Need ✅ ✅

I’ve noticed some posters are projecting forward 4-5 years on which players may be coming towards the end based on what we have now, of course it will look bad - there are 4-5 more national drafts, 4-5 trade periods and 4-5 free agency periods to get players and fill gaps between now and then - we’ll be fine
Sure, but it also usually takes a good 3 years for a drafted player to develop their bodies enough to become a fulltime AFL player, usually more in the case of KPP & Rucks.
Some think we should skip CDT this year if he falls to our picks as there are some more options like him next year, but that also pushes back the timeline of when that player will be AFL ready as well.

Fair enough regarding Prestia. I'm not drafting for 5 years down the track, but for next season and the season after. I don't subscribe to the idea that we are 5 years from finals. I think we will start to climb next season.

Inside mids are not that hard to find, eg Worpel going for a fresh start. Sharp is a good inside mid, but the really good inside mids also have run and spread with the exception of a few like Libba. That is why I prefer Cummings.
No need to draft for next year, even for 2027. We wont be starting to contend for probably 5 years, we draft for our next premiership not for a few extra wins in the next 2 years.

Three of the four you mention aren’t exactly young Mate. Get in an 18 year old that will play that role for many years. And take Grlj with the second pick if we deem that necessary. Will be irrelevant in all likelihood as WCE will take Sharp, in which case, I’m hoping we take CDT

Sharp looks quicker than Langford for me especially over ten metres which is what counts

Sharp looks like he can pump his shorter legs into motion quicker at the start for starters on top of his mind speed and aggression

to the eye Sharp does not look slow for mine over ten at least
His the best natural footballer in this draft and continues to improve 200 games written all over him.

Three of the four you mention aren’t exactly young Mate. Get in an 18 year old that will play that role for many years. And take Grlj with the second pick if we deem that necessary. Will be irrelevant in all likelihood as WCE will take Sharp, in which case, I’m hoping we take CDT
CDT and Cummings/Robey/Grjl probably in that order no problem. Hoper and Taranto are 27/28 not old, Ross 25. I'm not a fan but they will be around for a few more years, by then any number of our kids we already have could be playing the inside outside roll well. McAuliffe, Lalor, whoever we draft this year.

No need to draft for next year, even for 2027. We wont be starting to contend for probably 5 years, we draft for our next premiership not for a few extra wins in the next 2 years.
That’s spot on dean33.
And that is exactly how our List Manager thinks too. He won’t care about next year, he’s all about building a premiership team for the future.
And contrary to what’s been posted by others, he 100% does look at 5 years into the future and what we will be needing to replace at that stage of development from both a drafting and trading perspective.
Went through his philosophy at a number of presentations I’ve been to and he’s looking into the future and what we are needing to build a flag winning team.

CDT and Cummings/Robey/Grjl probably in that order no problem. Hoper and Taranto are 27/28 not old, Ross 25. I'm not a fan but they will be around for a few more years, by then any number of our kids we already have could be playing the inside outside roll well. McAuliffe, Lalor, whoever we draft this year.
I’m not a fan of Cummings myself but the others, yep, I’d be happy if we went down that path. But if WCE pick CDT, we must take Sharp imo

No need to draft for next year? Try telling that to the senior players who are just going to benignly bow out over the next 3 or 4 years.

As I mentioned I don't believe our reset is so far away. Lynch if he remains injury free pretty much has still plenty to offer. He is not like Jack who lost his spring, his no.1 asset to compete. Jack did not have the strength or pace to play like Cameron for example, who at 32 is still a good player. Lynch relies on his strength and marking, and he is about no.1 in the league with that combination. So he is still around for a couple of years where our young forwards will be developing.

Vlastuin is not going anywhere for 2-3 years, Broad has Trainor waiting for his place. Balta, Gibcus and Miller have loads of footy left.

So what we need is to revamped our midfield over the next two season. Lalor fit is going to be a gun. Hotton looks much the same. McAuliffe is ready. Smillie should be a bonus next year. These players are not 5 years away. With protection from our senior mids, and in combination with them, our midfield will be much better starting next season.

His the best natural footballer in this draft and continues to improve 200 games written all over him.
So do all the top draftees. Yes he may be the best natural accumulator but there are other factors that we may be looking at like hurt factor, class, kicking, pace etc. Lalor wasn't the best accumulator but he was the best natural footballer in the draft as well albeit with a different set of skills. You also draft for need and projection.

No need to draft for next year? Try telling that to the senior players who are just going to benignly bow out over the next 3 or 4 years.

As I mentioned I don't believe our reset is so far away. Lynch if he remains injury free pretty much has still plenty to offer. He is not like Jack who lost his spring, his no.1 asset to compete. Jack did not have the strength or pace to play like Cameron for example, who at 32 is still a good player. Lynch relies on his strength and marking, and he is about no.1 in the league with that combination. So he is still around for a couple of years where our young forwards will be developing.

Vlastuin is not going anywhere for 2-3 years, Broad has Trainor waiting for his place. Balta, Gibcus and Miller have loads of footy left.

So what we need is to revamped our midfield over the next two season. Lalor fit is going to be a gun. Hotton looks much the same. McAuliffe is ready. Smillie should be a bonus next year. These players are not 5 years away. With protection from our senior mids, and in combination with them, our midfield will be much better starting next season.

Drafting for next year is madness. Literally no one at the club would or should expect that a few 18 year olds are going to significantly impact the senior side next year.

Our senior guys would know what the rebuild plan is and what they’re in for, they’ve spoken about it extensively.