List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

Warner IMO is superior to the other freo mids. Mids and players in general that impact the scoreboard are so valuable. Look at Geelong. Added danger and Cameron. 2 players who got the scoreboard. Saying that, Kozzy also hits the scoreboard. But Warner’s midfield ability sets him apart. Freo would be better off with Warner this year and then hoping Kozzy stays for another year or two and have a crack at him.

How tf are Freo going to get both Koz and Warner? Good luck to them. They'll be faves for the flag if they do. Great list as it is now before adding those two.

But seriously, Koz is a premier small forward who is untapped as a mid with incredible skill and toughness. Scary how good Freo will be if he and Bolton are together with that midfield and a solid F50 and defence. Surely they win their first flag if that happens. But Koz is contracted. Warner alone will cost them 2 firsts. Where does that leave a Koz deal? We'd be hoping for a top 10 pick ourselves i would have thought? Being contracted we have the right to stand our ground. Brayshaw was definitely a name mentioned last season as to who we're chasing. Maybe a swap with some pick swaps? I like Brayshaw, but we lose a young still untapped dynamic player for a vanilla mid. Meh. Will be sad to see Koz go but it looks inevitable.

How tf are Freo going to get both Koz and Warner? Good luck to them. They'll be faves for the flag if they do. Great list as it is now before adding those two.

But seriously, Koz is a premier small forward who is untapped as a mid with incredible skill and toughness. Scary how good Freo will be if he and Bolton are together with that midfield and a solid F50 and defence. Surely they win their first flag if that happens. But Koz is contracted. Warner alone will cost them 2 firsts. Where does that leave a Koz deal? We'd be hoping for a top 10 pick ourselves i would have thought? Being contracted we have the right to stand our ground. Brayshaw was definitely a name mentioned last season as to who we're chasing. Maybe a swap with some pick swaps? I like Brayshaw, but we lose a young still untapped dynamic player for a vanilla mid. Meh. Will be sad to see Koz go but it looks inevitable.
It would be either Warner or Pickett, not both. They lack the capital to pull off both deals (unless we do something stupid like trading for Darcy)

Hypothetically - Let's say we have another poor year, miss finals, Kozzy demands a trade and Freo use the new future picks trade availability... It's not impossible they could get both deals done (pending where they're at with future trading currently). Likely still have to do a deal or two to get more picks, but it's definitely possible they could get both Warner and Kozzy IMO.

There 2027 pick will be trash with Tassie coming in. You going to take pick 30 for Kozzie after they give there 25/26 picks for Warner?

Not saying the deal would be Kozzy for Freo's 2 years in the future single pick, just saying that having 2 years worth of future trading up their sleeves gives them more options to try and find something that works.

As mentioned, you would think it would also require some player trading for them to get more currency, but IMO it's not impossible they add both players.

Not saying the deal would be Kozzy for Freo's 2 years in the future single pick, just saying that having 2 years worth of future trading up their sleeves gives them more options to try and find something that works.

As mentioned, you would think it would also require some player trading for them to get more currency, but IMO it's not impossible they add both players.
Plus who knows where both Freo and us will be at the end of the season.

Lot depends on how hard we play with Kozzy - us having a poor year probably makes it easier, but I still think Koz will have to force his way out if Freo have a good year because it'll be tough for them to have actual currency coming back to us. You are right with more future picks available and the potential they move 1-2 of their own guys they can definitely get both deals done.

Their currency is in their list. I know they won't want to give up too many quality players, however besides 4 or 5 untouchables, they have enough quality on their list to pull off some decent moves. As we have Koz contracted for another couple of years after this one, I'd be fn furious if we accepted anything less than a top 10 pick or a star player in return. Koz would have to make some serious waves for us to consider trading him.

Yeah 100%. It's a really interesting case after we've held others to contract, especially comparing to Petty and ANB. Get the feeling Kozzy's reasons sit somewhere in the middle of those two, and after Clarry and Trac and with a new CEO and quite probably footy boss by end of the season there's a lot of intrigue.

Mate I'm telling you watch this club be the perfect level of stupid to think they need to replace Gawn with Darcy

Every year?
Examples? Not talking about good players wanting to leave and clubs being forced to trade them. Can't think of many examples of teams pushing out guns just for trade currency.

Almost never, clubs dont push players to leave. You'd end up with your Treloars crying on tv about it and the players association getting involved

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!