List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

NFI. I couldn't give a s* about 2012 lol.
Perhaps look it up then given you're giving out credits and criticisms to the staff from that time.

I'll give you a hint of who was in charge of our drafting in 2012: Rhymes with Nodd Finey...

I kind of get holding onto Trac. He's our best player and an absolute pro. Kozzy i can understand for now as we have no other player like him and our forwardline is God awful already. Clarry is the one. As much as I love what he's done on field, and still want him to succeed, bizarre we didn't find a way to move him with all the issues he's caused. Petty the other one I guess. Poor list management not moving him on for the price that was offered. Could have traded him, got like a Battle from Saints and moved on.

Hawks moved on some quality and got some trade pieces and put games into young kids. Look where they are now. Is it Goodys fault? Lambs? Perts? No idea, but I know who the list manager is and I feel hes done a poor job. Todd Viney set our premiership list up that got us a flag. Lamb has done f* all.
The time to trade Oliver was 2023. We blinked when we could have gotten $1.50 value for him.

Was always sus about trading him at 0.50c value to Geelong last year. Couldn't stand the thought of making them even better for five years and eating a quarter of his contract for the pleasure.

Dees were rumoured to be into Membrey. He's a good player, but do you really think we needed another ok tall forward on our list? Especially when he's the wrong side of 30 and has had some off field issues himself.
I think we should have. but that's just me. I mean, we're playing Jefferson this week, in the wet. That makes me feel that we're short in options still.

Membrey was never the answer. JVR is good enough with Fritta as leading forwards.Need smalls or mid sized forwards.

The time to trade Oliver was 2023. We blinked when we could have gotten $1.50 value for him.

Was always sus about trading him at 0.50c value to Geelong last year. Couldn't stand the thought of making them even better for five years and eating a quarter of his contract for the pleasure.
Had we pissed that stupid contact off though we could have had enough money to look at Oscar Allen or another big name this year or kept our powder dry for a big free agent.

Plus nothing is gonna make throw up more than Oliver winning the BNF we finish 12th and it's some redemption love story the club hangs it hat on

I didn't even bring up 2012 you did.
You said Todd Viney built our premiership list.

I posted two articles - One showing you when Lamb officially had the full reigns, the over showing you it was Lamb's influence that brought in players like Lever, May, Brown & Langdon who were all significant parts of our flag.

When Viney had the full reigns, in 2012 - We brought in Toumpas, his son, Kent, Matt Jones, Terlich, Nicholson and Evans through the draft, and Byrnes, Gillies, Dawes, Pedersen and Rodan through trade and free agency. We lost Rivers and Moloney. How many of them were part of the flag list?

No one is saying Lamb is perfect, but at least be honest about the history.

Had we pissed that stupid contact off though we could have had enough money to look at Oscar Allen or another big name this year or kept our powder dry for a big free agent.

Plus nothing is gonna make throw up more than Oliver winning the BNF we finish 12th and it's some redemption love story the club hangs it hat on
Takes more than money to land a big free agent these days.

Reckon I'd feel more Ill watching him lift the cup up next to Dangerfield. While Joel Selwood tells me from the seven commentary box how great Geelong are at looking after people.

Give me an Oliver bnf and a ladder position that gets us a new coach any day.

Im not sure id go as far as to call Turner rubbish. Ive seen us trot out worse "forwards" (Grundy, Petty, TMac, Ben Brown etc etc) these past 3 years. I think he could be the Lever replacement, its just Goody doing Goody things trying to make him a forward which tilts the shit out of me.

I’m all for a redemption story.

I just wish the club might cool it for a bit until we are a bit more certain that he is redeemed, since we are going to look awfully silly if it doesn’t happen. Today will be interesting. If I was GWS I would pick Oliver for the tag for sure. He’s never responded well to it, and can’t really be moved to escape a position where he is shut down.

Other than that, I feel pretty certain he’s a lock for the Brownlow though

I’m all for a redemption story.

I just wish the club might cool it for a bit until we are a bit more certain that he is redeemed, since we are going to look awfully silly if it doesn’t happen. Today will be interesting. If I was GWS I would pick Oliver for the tag for sure. He’s never responded well to it, and can’t really be moved to escape a position where he is shut down.

Other than that, I feel pretty certain he’s a lock for the Brownlow though
Shame on you, Oliver is taking valuable minutes from Laser Laurie

How is it a misrepresentation? The club knew exactly what he was like. Yet offered him a s* load of $$ and a ridiculously long contract. If he got bullied into the contract by Oliver's manager, then Lamb shouldn't be in this position at the club. If Lamb had no idea what he was like off field, then that's a whole other concern from our list manager. It's not unlucky, it's poor management from Pert, Goody and Lamb. Are you seriously suggesting no one at the club knew wtf he was up to off field?

Oliver signed the extension in the middle of 2022, at the peak of his powers, and went on to:

1) win his second AFL Coaches Champion Player of the Year in back to back years
2) won the club BnF for the 4th time in his career (4th win in 6 years)
3) got his 3rd All Australian jacket (3 times in 5 years)
4) won medals for being voted BoG for Anzac Eve and Queen's Birthday
5) wins a couple of media awards for being league MVP in 2022

Extending his deal was not poor management. He was arguably the best player in the competition and was worthy of the contract. Oliver had rightfully earned all the leverage in his contract negotiations and could effectively name his price; if the club would not meet his demands then one of 17 other clubs would have.

Oliver signed the extension in the middle of 2022, at the peak of his powers, and went on to:

1) win his second AFL Coaches Champion Player of the Year in back to back years
2) won the club BnF for the 4th time in his career (4th win in 6 years)
3) got his 3rd All Australian jacket (3 times in 5 years)
4) won medals for being voted BoG for Anzac Eve and Queen's Birthday
5) wins a couple of media awards for being league MVP in 2022

Extending his deal was not poor management. He was arguably the best player in the competition and was worthy of the contract. Oliver had rightfully earned all the leverage in his contract negotiations and could effectively name his price; if the club would not meet his demands then one of 17 other clubs would have.
Agree to disagree then.

You said Todd Viney built our premiership list.

I posted two articles - One showing you when Lamb officially had the full reigns, the over showing you it was Lamb's influence that brought in players like Lever, May, Brown & Langdon who were all significant parts of our flag.

When Viney had the full reigns, in 2012 - We brought in Toumpas, his son, Kent, Matt Jones, Terlich, Nicholson and Evans through the draft, and Byrnes, Gillies, Dawes, Pedersen and Rodan through trade and free agency. We lost Rivers and Moloney. How many of them were part of the flag list?

No one is saying Lamb is perfect, but at least be honest about the history.
Viney built the list mate. But again, agree to disagree.

2 or 3 top liners?? Lamb can't even attract 1 to the club. What top liners do you expect us to get?
No one wanted to come last year... and if I'm correct, the players mostly wanted the draft for their futures. See Tracca and Oli.
They need us to build from below... and now add to our middle aged players. 25 to 27 Yrs for leadership and some experience and talent.
....We should go close to the finals series this season.?

Next year we will see the end of the tunnel ahead, Re near ends for many senior-citizens. And freeing up a lot of cap space.

This alone will make it much easier to attract some talented afl top-liners. Timing is everything and last year was the best to drop to the draft-board.
This year, 2025 is another we should further top from the draft, before we start to compete with Tassie for Free agents come 2026.

This is what I want anyway

We should look at Kane Farrell or Miles Bergman for our back-half/outside mix.

Kane Farrell in particular is a lovely kick. Miles Bergman is athletic and can play all over the park. Strong mark and booming kick.

Both from Victoria and with the wheels looking like they might fall off at Port, could be gettable.

Kane Farrell in particular is a lovely kick. Miles Bergman is athletic and can play all over the park. Strong mark and booming kick.

Both from Victoria and with the wheels looking like they might fall off at Port, could be gettable.

Farrell should definitely be a target as a FA.

I also like the look of Jacob Wehr at the giants, who is also a FA. Is quick and kicks it well.

I think the club thought we couldn't really win this, with the senior players available...
So decided to go full-on debutantes.
... and it payed, I think.
We found a few good-young men.

The barrel is getting fuller.

... and by the way, talk about barrels, the way the giants kicked long to space when they got a player goal-side of our defenders... Maybe we could do that as well in coming matches, with someone competent, to get onto a barrel from wing/half-forward to a player of our own with speed, out the back.?

We are looking at Farrell.

A decent ITK on Demonland said we're into Farrell.

Small forwards on the shopping list as well apparently, but that's not a complete surprise.