List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

I'd be tempted to play him ahead of Pitto. Been a while since we've had a real bruiser of a ruck instead of worrying about ours getting bruised.
Wtf is Pitto if not a bruiser? Crossley is miles off AFL fitness, same reason the Dogs passed on him as a sign on over pre season

Pitto ain't a bruiser mate, he's just a lumbering ruck who can't jump. He can match it for strength in the wrestling contests but he doesn't scare anyone.

I reckon if we were of a mind to take a mature age ruck in the MSD (ie. If we're of the belief thag TDK will go), then Crossley would be a good get. Treat the second half of the season as an extended preseason and aim to have him ready for R1 next year. Pitto still contracted is then insurance if Crossley isn't, as you suggest, up to AFL fitness by then.

Happy to entertain other options, I'm not all in on the guy. Just see him as potentially being a worthwhile prospect, and one who I like the idea of on profile.

I said a while back I believe TDK will take the money and run and firmly believe he still will.

If the Saint have a war chest like has been mentioned, expect TDK to make approx 2.5 million in his first year. Then after that it will fluctuate but probably be around the 1.1 - 1.5 million a year range which is easy for clubs these days, especially with the increases coming.

It will be a very smart offer by the Saints and who wouldn’t like approx 2.5 million in the 1st year of a new job.

Hate the Club but if we had money to spare, I’d be expecting us to play our cards the same way.

Plenty of people on only ~ $200k try to recover every single penny from work related expenses and are tight in general.

It’s easy to be generous/play down importance of money with other peoples income.

Let’s get real…

$1.1M v $1.7M is a hugely huge difference.
True Ag, but the $600k difference is gross salary. After tax, 50% gets taken away and you’re left with a paltry difference of $300k... :D

Nah, take a cheap ruck out of the MSD like Crossley, use the TDK compo and change to chase Butters.

2026:
JSOS, Weitering, Saad
Newman, Haynes, Carroll
Cerra, Cripps, Walsh
Crossley, Butters, Hewett
Hollands, Curnow, Motlop
Durdin, McKay, Williams
I/C: Cowan, Smith, Acres, Cottrell
Sub or form/injury cover from: Kemp, Lord, White, Moir, Hollands, Boyd etc.
We don’t have the draft capital it would take to trade for him with what we currently have no first rounder this year, need for Cody next year, and the overall compensation Port would demand for him…

Gun player that would make our midfield/forward lines automatically another level better, just can’t see it happening…

We don’t have the draft capital it would take to trade for him with what we currently have no first rounder this year, need for Cody next year, and the overall compensation Port would demand for him…

Gun player that would make our midfield/forward lines automatically another level better, just can’t see it happening…
A top 6 compo pick + 2027 first would be a fair offer. Dont think Butters leaves this year though

Honestly I think this is mostly all theater. I have no doubt TDKs manager is throwing out these offers to inflate his players contract and of course why wouldn't they. But why is it only supposed St Kilda that have been brought out into the spotlight? Surely every club would be looking at him. Why is it only St Kildas offer out there so early. No one except the player and manager( maybe some family and close friends also) know the true offer. The media just guesses on every players contract. It's funny it is St Kilda with the whole SOS and Carlton love hate relationship. For me TDK is not worth 1.7 or even 1.1 million. He has a few good games under his belt but its not like this is a 3 year sample size of him playing excellent footy and he has been towelled up by quite a few so called average ruckman in the past. I would want to see at least a 2 year sample size of him doing amazing things and want to be seeing him kicking far more goals and doing a lot better around the ground when he isn't rucking. Even at 1.1 million I would be saying see ya. 1.7 million is 10% of the current salary cap. I would want a Bontempelli for that price. We are hamstrung enough by high paying long term deals and as a result our bottom 12 players are average and our list has no depth. How did the Brody Grundy deal turn out for Collingwood or Freo paying massive numbers for 2 ruckmen. Ruckmen are not worth that money full stop.

I can put my hand up and say I work a lot more hours for a lot less. But at the same time, I have (hopefully) more than 12 years in my career, and whilst sometimes I like to put a bit of mayo on how dangerous my mundane job is, I'm not really at a particular high risk of a career ending injury.
Don’t sell yourself short Forty3, those paper cuts can be really really painful… :D