List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

But it'll be at the expense of roles I believe are important.

I'm a "three genuine talls" forward guy, which means a true FF (King), a true CHF (Sharman), and a forward/ruck (Marshall).

Which leaves three other spots on the field. A leading small forward (Higgins), a high-half forward (Hall), and a pressure forward. A seventh forward starts on the bench and covers all positions (Owens).

I don't see the role for Ryan unless it is at the expense of our height (which has undoubtedly been an issue for ball retention), or one of our better players having their role diminished or replaced (Higgins, Hall, Owens).
Hall to full time mid swapping out for stints with Ryan, perhaps?

Sounds like Nathan Buckley doesn’t want the Melbourne job, according to Sam Edmund.

You’d have rocks in your head to want to go that club right now. They’re headed to the bottom of the ladder
He seemed very excited about the Tassie project

Hall to full time mid swapping out for stints with Ryan, perhaps?
At the expense of which mid?

It's a little like the Hunter Clark TOG meme: it's a zero sum game.

To a certain extent, fine if it is Steele or Macrae (both contracted for two more seasons). I'm less enamoured if it is at the expense of Garcia, Pou, Wilson or Boxshall (who I love and isn't even in my best 23 right now).

I really like Freijah.
I liked him in the draft but you’d need a lot more than him for Wilkie.

He’s 4th banana is a great midfield plus a few bulldogs supporters have potted him for being a head dropper who panics under pressure. Mind you I’ve read crazy things on here as well so take it with a grain of salt.

Sounds like Nathan Buckley doesn’t want the Melbourne job, according to Sam Edmund.

You’d have rocks in your head to want to go that club right now. They’re headed to the bottom of the ladder
Not to mention having to drive to Cranbourne from Beaumaris every day.

To a certain extent, fine if it is Steele or Macrae (both contracted for two more seasons). I'm less enamoured if it is at the expense of Garcia, Pou, Wilson or Boxshall (who I love and isn't even in my best 23 right now).
Jones and a lesser extent Steel / Macrae. Jones attended a lot in our final match from memory.

How good are the Geelong rooms after the game, full of kids and families.

Maybe what they have going on down there is a bit more than cotton on.
Plenty of blokes on their list in their late 20’s & early 30’s with families?

We need to get the Viking & Box breeding ASAP!

I'm not saying all, but a huge amount of Nas' great plays/runs this year originated from a Marcus Windhager handball. Watch the clips, not for the flashy Nas, but from where it originated.
Yeah the team chemistry between them is definitely there, both very aware of each other's running patterns and habits, an intangible that cant be ignored

Ross admitted late in the year that it's difficult to play both Steele and MaCrae in the same midfield.

Steele's last two seasons have been poor and going south. I'd be surprised if he was given the captaincy again next year and after that his spot is not guaranteed.

Wilkie won't go cheap IMO but i can see a world in which the trade is done, purely because it would be weighted so heavily in our favor.

dogs have one more shot at a cup. wilkie fits that demographic. we on the other hand could probably depart wilkie and still build.

if the dogs came to us with 2 top 10 picks, i think we would have to consider it. it could explain the JSOS interest whilst still wanting Aleer.
Yuck

But it'll be at the expense of roles I believe are important.

I'm a "three genuine talls" forward guy, which means a true FF (King), a true CHF (Sharman), and a forward/ruck (Marshall).

Which leaves three other spots on the field. A leading small forward (Higgins), a high-half forward (Hall), and a pressure forward. A seventh forward starts on the bench and covers all positions (Owens).

I don't see the role for Ryan unless it is at the expense of our height (which has undoubtedly been an issue for ball retention), or one of our better players having their role diminished or replaced (Higgins, Hall, Owens).

I'm moving Marshall out of that set up. Owens and Sharman both play a roaming third tall role. Snags, Hall and an extra small, King the deep marking tall. I'm not a fan of going too tall. It limits the chances of holding the ball inside 50.

Marshall would be better as a tall mobile utility. He's never been great as a camped forward and needs to be the spare or sneak inside without an opponent to impact inside 50. I think his best chance if we keep him is as a spare across HB like Lyon used to play McEvoy.

Because someone trolled the smooth brainers on the Wilkie D&T thread and the bedwetters have collapsed into a morose sea of despair, while the happy clappers say no, no, everything is fine while sitting in a circle, holding hands and singing 'God is dwelling in my heart' like at Sunday school

Haven't seen too much bed wetting to be honest. Doubt they get a trade done and we'd be very unlikely to let him go no matter what. Probably not even true.

You keep speaking of damage. What damage has currently been done? This is only SM talk.
If we lose Windy, and Wilks, I reckon the damage will be huge. However you are posting like it has been done.
I would suggest don't jump to conclusions.
Interesting the two FA's, Ryan and Aleer have all come out and nominated St.Kilda after their season. Mo mention of Windy nominating and actually a debunk by Wilkie.
Until one or either nominate another club, no damage has been done, and even if Wilkie nominates a club, we hold him to his contract.
Talk of going to court is fantasy stuff.
Plenty of conclusion jumpers and hindsight kings on here