List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

TDK for Row (traded)
Ryan for Butler
Aleer for Caminiti
JSOS for Tauru
Cmack for Steele (traded)

Caminiti 23rd man to replace the sub and plays 2nd ruck

Idk who the sixth is, are you referring to Flanders? Doubt we get both Cmack & Flanders
Caminiti the ultimate swingman fmd

Get stuffed Barrett. If our new players wanted to go to North you’d be doing cartwheels. North will probably get Steven May to put alongside Daniel, Parker and Darling. How’s that on field leadership going?
I wonder if Purple wasn't so biased against us, I wonder whether he'd have written an article comparing us to Adelaide?

Adelaide jumped up the ladder after they;
  • Brought in Neil-Bullen (Trade)
  • Added James Peatling and Isaac Cumming (FA)
  • Thilthorpe comes on after a few years of underwhelming form
  • Natural improvement of Soligo, Worrell, Keane etc

To compare;
  • Saints trade in one (or several) of Aleer, Ryan, Flanders, CMac.
  • Gain TDK and SOS through FA.
  • Max King returns from injury and hopefully to his potential and;
  • Natural improvement of Hall, Owens, Windy, Garcia, Boxshall, Wilson, Keeler, Caminiti, Dodson, Pou etc.

We would recieve early 3rd rounder at best for Steele
I said late second early first. Can't see how we'd get much better, he's been tracking backwards at a rapid pace.

What can you expect to get for a full time midfielder that averages 20 touches a game and nearing 30?

TDK for Row (traded)
Ryan for Butler
Aleer for Caminiti
JSOS for Tauru

Idk who the sixth is, are you referring to Flanders? Doubt we get both Cmack & Flanders
Why can’t we get both?

Seems Richo’s tenure at the Saints was unforgettable for everyone.

I think Essendon come for Moose now Draper leaves.
Good, let's start a bidding war.

They should probably go harder for Marshall though (not that I think we should trade him).

TDK for Row (traded)
Ryan for Butler
Aleer for Caminiti
JSOS for Tauru

Why can’t we get both?
Roll on 2026 🏆❤️🤍🖤

ThLYbOX.jpeg

That’s a very sensible listen.

It just goes to show we don’t need to over react to everything. For those that have read a bit on the mental response to news (Heuristics etc), bad news gets something like three times the reaction than good news, remembered longer, felt deeper, however you want to term it. It’s why bad news sells and gets clicks. We should remember this when reading the media, particularly the AFL media. It’s not as bad as it’s portrayed. Enjoy the ride!
Funnily (or not) it’s ex players in the media like Dwayne, Hird, Bartel, Davis etc who are supportive of what we are doing.
( not including ex Saints here, just those who can be deemed impartial).

The media nuffies like Morris, Edmund, BARRETT, Ralph who’ve probably never kicked a footy who are laying the boots into us for clicks and likes.
I know who I’d rather listen to.

Got the whole league rattled
Ain’t it great? 🤣
And what’s more, when last did we have players warranting being chased by multiple clubs?

This may sound like the ramblings of a total crack head (could well be)

But is there any chance we have our monster FB (when needed) in Rowan Marshall?

9/10 the mobile and tall enough backline we appear to have put together actually looks pretty good, we just need a beast to play on the teams that have the big boys.

His footy brain and marking abilities are right up there.

We know that Steele & Macrae dont work as dual mids.
But that doesnt mean we couldn't utilise Steele in particular, as a forward
Reckon, he has been under utilised there.
Wouldn't say he's a good mark in the air but he gets in front & uses his body well to take a mark on his chest
Is a good set shot at goal
And with his tackling & pressure could help keep the ball in the forward line
Is abit on the slow side & undersized maybe, depending on the match up.

I’m not 100% sold on Flanders being more useful than Roma would be to us in the next two seasons; but if someone wants to make the argument I’m all ears
We’re looking at being more successful than for just two seasons.
If a younger player we need is available now, you get him.
We have cover for Roma.

I live statistical analysis, I try to apply it everywhere i can. Studied it at uni between science degrees and an MBA.

But one thing I am confident I'm in saying, that unless they have a team.of world class data scientists, any formula they can come up with is going to be incredibly limited.

Baseball is a sport that you can rely on stats because it's far simpler. How many times did the guy make it to base, how many home runs, how many strike outs. All pretty straight forward.

Footy stats are far more complex, variable and harder to quantify.

The formulas don't need to be black and white, but they should be directional.

It's the old business sales vs finance conundrum, the answer always lies somewhere in the 'middle'.

Use them as guardrails rather than rules.

I was often down at Seaford with my bub (at the time) during that period. You couldn't have said it better. Sad that his development stunted, he was on track to be a star, he'd run rings around our guys then execute a perfect kick.

Wouldn't meet a nicer, more unassuming and humble kid either.

Played the 5th most games out of the top 10 in his draft year and before injury he played some absolutely elite games. It was super sad when he left but even sadder that he went to that rabble of a dumpster fire club.

Doubtful that he will get another chance at 30, although, maybe Bombers or West Coast would be keen. Based on Lyon's thoughts on him - I doubt he'd be back to captain our VFL side but he'dbe a good choice. Shame really... hope he's welcomed back to our club with open arms one day.
Watch the Cats pick him up and make him Jack Martin 2.0

I don't recall saying that - I was a believer in getting both cos I think they play different roles

They will come for a combined cost of around a third round pick

Cmack + Flanders on the other hand costs 2 firsts at minimum, whether its with our existing hand or via Marshall/Steele so its a bit of a different scenario I think
I don’t recall saying you did.

We know that Steele & Macrae dont work as dual mids.
But that doesnt mean we couldn't utilise Steele in particular, as a forward
Reckon, he has been under utilised there.
Wouldn't say he's a good mark in the air but he gets in front & uses his body well to take a mark on his chest
Is a good set shot at goal
And with his tackling & pressure could help keep the ball in the forward line
Is abit on the slow side & undersized maybe, depending on the match up.
I Can't see how he could be in our best forward line, especially with Ryan still to come in.