List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Just had a dogs mate msg me.

Said he read from some dogs insiders that saints are looking at JUH

He seemed serious.

Surely not.
Would it really be that bad of a move his a bit of a nut job but there’s no denying his a talent , you imagine he wouldn’t cost much at the moment worst case scenario you just sack his arse it’s almost worth the risk

Was dead against it, until I saw Brad Hill was spending time with him. If he thinks it’s worth a try, I’d back him.

I don't really care to be honest. If they have a go at him it's because they think they can help a lost kid find his path again. Probably a 10% chance that he hasn't played his last game but if you could help him out there is an elite talent there and just purely as a community service I don't hate it. Perhaps give him a year in our VFL side and tell him he has zero chances. Gets through 12 months and there is an AFL contract there.
I would agree, but I don't think we're stable or successful enough yet to take such a risk. We look okay on paper, but we have no proof...if we had a close knit team that was playing regular finals, then you would trust the group to hold him to account. We may be on our way to that with the kids coming through, but we don't even know what our leadership will look like next year. We're just not strong enough (yet) to be a charity.
Let Geelong, Gold Coast, GWS, or Sydney take him on. They can hide him better than us for when he inevitably f*cks everything up.

Slightly OT, but I think we wont be on any race for a Merrett or a Petracca this recruiting cycle.
For a start the kitty is maxed out, we are bringing in TDK. JSOS, Ryan and Aleer all in money while not the high end reported is still a hefty sum considering another will be front loaded.
Secondly, this plan has been in the making for four years, hit the draft, try to attract a top talent, then if that fails hit FA and other recruits. This has occurred in that order, but I don't think the plan ends there. In line with convincing NAZ to stay, we need attract current players with results. So 26 and 27 will be consolidation years hopefully pushing into finals. I don't see us pushing all out for a flag until 27 or 28. So next year we will look at another marquee player and hopefully the kids have developed like NAZ did this year.
Also we are looking to build depth in the mids this year in Flanders or CMAC.
The other shoe to drop is the 27 SC increase and the players OOC at end of 27.
So all that in mind no Petracca or Merrett will not be on our bingo card.

Stengle is a great comparison. I wouldn't be against it but with strict behavioural conditions in his contract.
Not sure Stengle ever got near the level of Wanna Be Gangster knob jockey that JUH is .
You know the old saying , if it walks like a Duck and quacks like a Duck is usually a duck, the poor DC seems to always to be at the wrong place at the wrong time :think:

Was dead against it, until I saw Brad Hill was spending time with him. If he thinks it’s worth a try, I’d back him.
Brad is good; Brad is highly respected.

However what does Nas think about it?

Unless the $2 million man wants him it’s a no from me.

Slightly OT, but I think we wont be on any race for a Merrett or a Petracca this recruiting cycle.
For a start the kitty is maxed out, we are bringing in TDK. JSOS, Ryan and Aleer all in money while not the high end reported is still a hefty sum considering another will be front loaded.
Secondly, this plan has been in the making for four years, hit the draft, try to attract a top talent, then if that fails hit FA and other recruits. This has occurred in that order, but I don't think the plan ends there. In line with convincing NAZ to stay, we need attract current players with results. So 26 and 27 will be consolidation years hopefully pushing into finals. I don't see us pushing all out for a flag until 27 or 28. So next year we will look at another marquee player and hopefully the kids have developed like NAZ did this year.
Also we are looking to build depth in the mids this year in Flanders or CMAC.
The other shoe to drop is the 27 SC increase and the players OOC at end of 27.
So all that in mind no Petracca or Merrett will not be on our bingo card.

i agree on Petracca and Merrett but i dont think its a case of SC... i think its more they're the wrong demographic

i think we can still afford players, we'd just need to back end the deal. the problem is probably in the next 2 years we have a bit of a squeeze

Hasn't seemed to have shown much humility or drive to play. I understand we're betting too much on King's recovery and it'd be good to find a potential fill-in but l just can't want him at our club.

His value is seriously lessened if he is not playing as the first ruck. Obviously all hypothetical but Petracca could give us two A grade years in the midfield and then play as a forward in the twilight of his career. Would be stupid not to pull the trigger if all we had to give up was a forward who provides a good contest but has never kicked more than 15 goals in a season. Thats what Marshall is if he plays as a forward.
Marshall has never kicked more than 15 goals in a season playing as a forward because he has not played as a forward for a season.

Anyway, I reckon if he did play predominately as a forward next year, he would kick more than 15 goals. Probably only 16 but that’s because Ming has kicked 50, Snags 40 and Ryan 30. In a twist of fate, in this bizarro world JSOS also ends up playing forward from round 9 and kicks 87 to win the Coleman.

It's funny I remember the crazy celebrating when we fleeced Geelong and Gold Coast for good picks for Stanley and Ben Long.

We ended up getting a combined 1 game I believe from the two players we took with those picks.
Where are Hugh Goddard and Olli Hotton now?

Both drafted because of their surname

Listening to Jamarra on a recent podcast and he speaks pretty candidly. To be honest he doesn’t sound at all how he’s been portrayed in the media.

With his talent and how self aware he sounds I would be absolutely shocked if he never plays a game again. He will be back, which club he’s at is the only question IMO

It would only really make sense if we moved one of Steele or Macrae on otherwise it's just stunting our development.

If we could be ~90% certain Trac is the last piece and difference between a serious flag tilt (or not) in the next three years (see Zerrett to Hawks, that would be their thinking) then you go ahead but otherwise it doesn't really make sense.
Not sure why we’re spending one minute discussing Petracca.
Or Merrett.
Neither of them want to come to St Kilda.

Petracca wants to grow his “brand”.
Merrett wants a flag and Hawks are closer.

Tbh I don’t want either of them.
( don’t @ me). I want a lot of midfield time and natural growth for our younger players. I want a sustained period of success - which is what the club said it wanted too.

Not to toss all our chips in for an attempt in two years only to fall short and have old players taking up our cap. Besides which, neither will come cheaply trade- wise.

I like who we’ve brought in so far, and the demographic of the two we are in the frame for getting.

We should be making finals next year with a bit of injury luck. Stay the course.

Marshall has never kicked more than 15 goals in a season playing as a forward because he has not played as a forward for a season.

Anyway, I reckon if he did play predominately as a forward next year, he would kick more than 15 goals. Probably only 16 but that’s because Ming has kicked 50, Snags 40 and Ryan 30. In a twist of fate, in this bizarro world JSOS also ends up playing forward from round 9 and kicks 87 to win the Coleman.
Doesn't leave much room for the goal a game from Nas, Pou, Owens, Hall and Wood?

Not to mention Sharman's 50 goals