List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

I reckon Annabel is the last true free hit we will get - and justifiably so. 6 finals series in a row, 2 grannies and a flag. The time for a free ride is over.
FREE RIDE ?? Spent millions on academy and thousands of hours just so we could compete with the aussie rules football states...and now you think it's right to change the rules...Give it a spell

I reckon Annabel is the last true free hit we will get - and justifiably so. 6 finals series in a row, 2 grannies and a flag. The time for a free ride is over.

We didn't event the rules, we just abide by them.

Who was the first ever father son selection? Bet you it was a Victorian team.

If it wasn't for the Ashcroft brothers none of this would be getting traction.

Not our fault that no one wants to have children with former St Kilda players.

The same problem that Essendon Uncles have, it's why both cohorts are bitter and twisted individuals.

We need to start pushing x Saints players down the stairs at Gate 2 as well.

The responses are predictable. The fact is we are a powerhouse club, and the rest of the competition will not give us any more free hits. Bookmark it.

I think Draper would be a good FA pick-up. No star but won’t get outmarked, could be a good number ruckman. FA is just such a weapon for list management

Joey ain’t coming back! Apart from anything else he is 32yo in March and will have trained off

Btw fairly sure i saw him in the youi ad with the ppl in cars watching footy? He didn’t even have a speaking role haha

That may not be an issue.

The stadium is very much in doubt of being built.
That was an AFL condition along with having a roof.
A no confidence vote is underway In Tas parlement now. Likely to get up and another election to follow.

Then this article
This is a storm in a teacup. Even if the no confidence vote passes, Labor have backed the stadium multiple times. I don't see any realistic scenario in which the stadium doesn't go ahead.

I think Draper would be a good FA pick-up. No star but won’t get outmarked, could be a good number ruckman. FA is just such a weapon for list management

Joey ain’t coming back! Apart from anything else he is 32yo in March and will have trained off

Btw fairly sure i saw him in the youi ad with the ppl in cars watching footy? He didn’t even have a speaking role haha

Problem is (1) he's coming off a torn achilles, and (2) by all reports he wants to be PAID like a star.

I’m a bit disturbed by some of the responses about our academy in this thread. Some people have gone soft. It is our god given right as a northern club to rort the draft through our academy. Don’t let St Kilda and old Fred Bassett dampen your gusto for our academy.

We deserve our academy. We shouldn’t have to give up anything to get the players on our list.

This is a storm in a teacup. Even if the no confidence vote passes, Labor have backed the stadium multiple times. I don't see any realistic scenario in which the stadium doesn't go ahead.
The issue is the cost - the real total cost. Looking at the redevelopment of the Gabba, the new Olympic stadium now to be built and/or the new stadium in Perth, you don't get any change from about $1.2 billion at best even for a boutique stadium with a roof. The original price in Tassie was $775 million with the Fed's, State and AFL putting $ in. It's now $945 million and Tasmania has to front up with the difference, and it will get higher yet and again and the State having to front up with the difference as the Feds are committed to the Brisbane Olympic venues and over spent in the election on infrastructure projects and have committed $600 million to the NRL for a new team in Papua. Somewhere, someone has to come up with around half a Billion $$. Alternatively, the AFL could simply say they can have a team and a stadium doesn't matter and they share games Hobart and Launceston as is.

I'm a Queenslander, it's kinda interesting to watch but don't really care, no team in Tassie might give some relief on the war against the Northern academies.

Anyone remember COLA? Win a 3-peat, kiss it goodbye.
Academies are under threat the same way.
Brisbane never had a Cost of Living Adjustment, and neither Sydney nor GWS won a threepeat.

Cost-of-living allowance / player-retention allowance, call it what you will - they were rolled into the same discussion of allowances for Northern clubs. Brisbane received it, and then it was withdrawn when we won premierships.

I could be getting this totally wrong, but I think on the Roar Deal they had a great interview with Lachie and Linc's manager and he said he also managed Rosas. So that could either make it more likely, or just create the reason for a made up rumour! I like him though for what it's worth, could be a good versatile player

We didn't event the rules, we just abide by them.

Who was the first ever father son selection? Bet you it was a Victorian team.

If it wasn't for the Ashcroft brothers none of this would be getting traction.

I think they did have a bunch of kids from their golden generation but they all had girls. So question should be why their AFLW team has been so average

Alice Burke just isn't as talented as her old man. Bloodlines only go so far.

Cost-of-living allowance / player-retention allowance, call it what you will - they were rolled into the same discussion of allowances for Northern clubs. Brisbane received it, and then it was withdrawn when we won premierships.

The latest median house value in Brisbane is $917,992 and Melbourne $791,303 (only higher than Hobart and Darwin). Look like all clubs outside of Victoria need a boost! ;) Data here.
(I know that these football players are unlikely to want to live in the $791K houses...)