List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

Derogatory insults to your own players is something that rubs me the wrong way. McStay for example was referred to as McSpray quite often by a few "supporters".

Well, he did earn that nickname.

Derogatory insults to your own players is something that rubs me the wrong way. McStay for example was referred to as McSpray quite often by a few "supporters".
I don't actually mind that - it's a play on his name, for someone that had a tendency to miss some very gettable set shots. It's no different to suggesting Daniher was a 50/50 chance from anywhere on the field (which was a running thing on The Roar Deal podcast).

I hate when a player is called a spud, list clogger, or similar. it's a such a basic offensive attitude directly to a player who is perhaps not gifted with the talent a 1st round draft pick, but no doubt making the most of the ability and drive they do possess.

I don't actually mind that - it's a play on his name, for someone that had a tendency to miss some very gettable set shots. It's no different to suggesting Daniher was a 50/50 chance from anywhere on the field (which was a running thing on The Roar Deal podcast).

I hate when a player is called a spud, list clogger, or similar. it's a such a basic offensive attitude directly to a player who is perhaps not gifted with the talent a 1st round draft pick, but no doubt making the most of the ability and drive they do possess.

Those are worse I agree- a kid who had dreams of making it big reading about himself referred to as a list clogger or a dud by his own fans would be crushing.

I wonder if the way Adelaide FC have conducted themselves in the past handful of days has any impact for Cal and any potential to move.

That club as recent history of being run by amateurs (camp debacle) and this last week has been embarrassing for them.

No way Brisbane conducts themselves in that manner under the current regime.

I wonder if the way Adelaide FC have conducted themselves in the past handful of days has any impact for Cal and any potential to move.

That club as recent history of being run by amateurs (camp debacle) and this last week has been embarrassing for them.

No way Brisbane conducts themselves in that manner under the current regime.

Zero. As embarrassing as Adelaide have been, its more embarrassing for the AFL that they caved.

Just things you say hey Mini?

Let's be honest. Andrew and the WC board are already thinking about who to draft with the pick 2 compo. Hell, if i were in a WC supporter, i would be cheering for him to leave too, because while Allen coming to us (assuming he stays on the park) would help us, this whole trade showcases just how much of a rort free agency is. There is no way he is worth pick 2. He isn't even worth a pick in the first around at all. This trade essentially benefits both clubs, while the rest suffers as a result of it, lol.

The narrative is actually about Brisbane getting good players on the cheap while being good, but gets framed about being about the academies because they can take that away without affecting themselves.
I know what it is actually about. But most of the discussion is about academies simply because that doesn't impact any of the big Vic clubs.

If the competition is to be truly even then something needs to be done about how free agency works and compensation around that. We have been both disadvantaged and advantaged by it. I would say that the (if it happens) Oscar Allen and Sam Draper are bigger improvements to our team in the immediate future than Levi Ashcroft, Dan Annabelle or Sam Marshall.

So are you sayiong it's their fault for reading social media?
What makes them different to any other person other than their work choice?
Some players (believe it or not) go to social media and read. As I say in my post, its not just social media...its other forms of media as well.
You go to a website that talks about footy, read posts made by what could be some bogan in his mums basement and get upset because they think you are no good. ? Really?

I know what it is actually about. But most of the discussion is about academies simply because that doesn't impact any of the big Vic clubs.

If the competition is to be truly even then something needs to be done about how free agency works and compensation around that. We have been both disadvantaged and advantaged by it. I would say that the (if it happens) Oscar Allen and Sam Draper are bigger improvements to our team in the immediate future than Levi Ashcroft, Dan Annabelle or Sam Marshall.
IF the AFL want to make recruit acquisition "fair" the only real way to do it is for the AFL run and fund all Northern Academies, NGAs and there is no priority access at all... clubs would not want anything to do with them if they didn't get a benefit out of them... also get rid of Father/Sons and no compensation whatsoever for free agents leaving.

One player (still currently playing for another club) in particular was one who did read footy social media and was negatively affected & probably still is at the club he's at now. (Big Footy was a culprit...especially game day posts) Its ironic how many of us preach mental health but think it's OK to talk badly about their own players on social media. I dont care if we are any better or worse than other clubs, its not a consolation to the behaviour. Commentators such as Kornes, Lyon, Dunstall to name a few doing the same on radio & TV. These young men and their families all have a life to lead outside of footy and should be free to live with relatively the same freedom & respect most have.
Not saying they should be immuned to critisism but insults and personal attacks should not be tolerated. If read by players/coach's/admin, there's no doubt it will have a negative effect as it would if it was directed at any of us.
I think you make a good point, SL.
It’s too easy to forget that we are talking about real human beings with hearts and feelings.
On the flip side, sometimes we forget that the people who post on this site are also real human beings with feelings.
I think most of the people who post on this board are respectful and fair.
But sometimes it’s easy to get carried away and say something rude.
When a post is made that is unfair, or disrespectful
I prefer to ignore it
But if we feel the need to respond,
I think our response needs to be respectful and gentle.
Everybody deserves respect
Even those who make mistakes or play badly or post something we don’t agree with.

That was actually a trigger for harder enforcement of no personal attacks and the like on players, holding posters to the same standards as if they were talking to each other.

We definitely saw improvement in the attitude towards players when they couldn't use childish nicknames to denigrate them.

Now that Dan is at the Pies he's back to being fair game though.

Yer and he'll play well over 200 games of AFL footy at the highest level and kick maybe 300 goals as well.

What is your biggest achievement in sport, sport?

FMD you are aggressive in your replies to people. he may have achieved a lot, but when he got that nickname at the Lions he would regularly miss set shots from within 30 meters. Name earn't.

Played footy from the age of 7 to 34, tried Superleague but 1 knee was shot. Not to mention years on committees and volunteering at country footy clubs, sport.

How rich is it Alistair Clarkson coming out and saying clubs like North are suffering and can’t get into the AFL draft early enough because of Academies and Father / Sons. How absurd given all their high end talent and like St Kilda taking wrong players at the high end (selecting Will Phillips) and then only taking mids.
I feel its pretty clear now there is an opening to force change, any and every party that can benefit from it will now be making as much noise as possible to get that change underway.

How rich is it Alistair Clarkson coming out and saying clubs like North are suffering and can’t get into the AFL draft early enough because of Academies and Father / Sons. How absurd given all their high end talent and like St Kilda taking wrong players at the high end (selecting Will Phillips) and then only taking mids.
I cannot imagine he complained about father sons, unless you can show me where he said this?

North Melbourne have more father sons on their list currently than we do.

They can never raise the real reason which is they’re irrelevant in a saturated market and the other vic clubs rort and keep the door locked.

1755766512688.jpeg

They can never raise the real reason which is they’re irrelevant in a saturated market and the other vic clubs rort and keep the door locked.

View attachment 2402357

I often wonder, did Brayshaw and co do them a favour keeping them in Melbourne? When you look at what South Melbourne and Fitzroy have grown in to, would they have been better off biting the bullet and taken the Gold Coast option - or Tasmania - instead of being on perpetual welfare where they are?

That's the first time I've wondered that... showing how irrelevant they have become.

FMD you are aggressive in your replies to people. he may have achieved a lot, but when he got that nickname at the Lions he would regularly miss set shots from within 30 meters. Name earn't.

Played footy from the age of 7 to 34, tried Superleague but 1 knee was shot. Not to mention years on committees and volunteering at country footy clubs, sport.
Pffffttt…..good supporters dont eat their own regardless of their shortcomings in my opinion. FMDT. “He may not have achieved a lot”….mate….he will play 200 games!!!! AS you have noted, you have never played a game of afl at the highest level EVER…Dan will trump you by a long way and I wont degrade you for that because you had a crack. Less than 4 % of all afl registered players achieve 200 games and he should be respected for that…not called a derogotrey name as McSpray…thats bulls**t.
In this forum I am entitled to give my opinion just as much as you are Champ. Keyboard warriors piss me off when young men like Dan play at the elite level that many never will yet those have the audacity to pay out on their shortcomings rather than be positive about their bloody awesome achievements. (Happy clap there)

Pffffttt…..good supporters dont eat their own regardless of their shortcomings in my opinion. FMDT. “He may not have achieved a lot”….mate….he will play 200 games!!!! AS you have noted, you have never played a game of afl at the highest level EVER…Dan will trump you by a long way and I wont degrade you for that because you had a crack. Less than 4 % of all afl registered players achieve 200 games and he should be respected for that…not called a derogotrey name as McSpray…thats bulls**t.
In this forum I am entitled to give my opinion just as much as you are Champ. Keyboard warriors piss me off when young men like Dan play at the elite level that many never will yet those have the audacity to pay out on their shortcomings rather than be positive about their bloody awesome achievements. (Happy clap there)

Played footy from the age of 7 to 34, tried Superleague but 1 knee was shot. Not to mention years on committees and volunteering at country footy clubs, sport
Reposted my original post so you can read the bolded bit. As to the nickname, it was born far more of exasperation and never of malice. Get off your high horse Champ.

All good Legend. My bad on the post. Thank you for the bolded. My horse is a Shetland so I can slide off easier than most. ;)

I just would love supporters of clubs to be kinder to the players who contribute to giving us the enjoyment of watching our team play. Dan is a good footballer in anyones world. He should be respected for that the same as anyone who works in a different industry who reaches the highest level.