List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

I think the only way he is at Essendon next year is if Hawthorn try to ‘win the trade’ and just refuse to pay the appropriate price and then it all falls over.

Hawthorn fans in the D&T board seem to think they have no obligation and Essendon just needs to roll over lol. Should be a good trade period. Glad we aren’t involved.

You right now in the D&T board:

1757941594613.png

In my defence I’ve been bed ridden for 2 weeks and am so bored that I’ve decided to larp on the D&T board and derail all reasonable conversation.

Attachments

• ruin.gif
    ruin.gif
    1.4 MB · Views: 2

Pretty much vomit material to see AFL luminaries falling out of trees to get stuck into Merrett.

He's given his heart and soul for that club when most of the others weren't doing a lot for years and at 30 years of age in this era he's perfectly entitled to explore options for some team success in his final years.

He's got no hope of getting that where he is.
Nah, no sympathy from me. That interview at the start of the year about list sizes and pay that he did I think was a fairly eye opening look into what he’s actually like; ie probably not great.

The more I read about him too it seems he hung around Stringer/Hind et al; and him throwing a tantrum in the past week seems to be in response to Essendon delisting his last dodgy mate in Laverde.

I almost began to have a smidgen of pity for them - then I remembered the arrogant flogs in 2001 and their dankest hour and thought Yeah Nah.
Love the double entendre there!

Of course one can simultaneously have pity on their individual situations whilst also enjoying their organisational suffering ...

All fair re Zach Merrett IMO.

Clubs will try and move contracted players on if they think they are of no use any longer... so I don't see it being a problem the other way round, if Merrett at 30 years of age thinks that the Bombers are going nowhere or backwards after years of the club promising to turn it around then go for it, he only has a few years left.

If a deal can be facilitated within the existing rules then all good.

Love the double entendre there!

Of course one can simultaneously have pity on their individual situations whilst also enjoying their organisational suffering ...
/me bows - one tries ... even if it is not groan inducing like some (sideways glance at Zoblitz in the Gameday threads....)
;):)

All fair re Zach Merrett IMO.

Clubs will try and move contracted players on if they think they are of no use any longer... so I don't see it being a problem the other way round, if Merrett at 30 years of age thinks that the Bombers are going nowhere or backwards after years of the club promising to turn it around then go for it, he only has a few years left.

If a deal can be facilitated within the existing rules then all good.
There really isn't much loyalty from clubs to players. Coaches may have loyalty to their players, at least to their best 22 guys but when players are no longer good enough they are shown the door. There is no reason why players shouldn't have the same attitude, especially if in this case part of him signing a long term deal was that Essendon were going to go somewhere.

It's all part of the AFL's Shakespearian sludge that whorls around the media universe; with constant outrage, conspiracy and revenge. The deconstruction of the 'OLD WORLD' values into the 'NEW' is just grist for the mill of clickdom.

Summer Reaction GIF

1- Oscar Allen :heavycheck:
2- Sam Draper:heavycheck:
3- Jordan Ridley

Looks like it's your year to be hippocritical about a player on our list

Blueiris and Tom becoming friends before my very eyes

Parks And Recreation Wow GIF

Looks like it's your year to be hippocritical about a player on our list

Goddam the spelling mistake makes this post so good.

Was it meant to be hypocritical or hyper-critical?